• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

More than half of stallholders at Toa Payoh kopitiam pull out after rent doubles

winners

Wat is the justification for a doubling in rent?
I do agree that this is overkill and the landlords are being too greedy. Unfortunately, the landlords could have done their research and took the gamble that there will still be the demand despite the exorbitant increase. Like you see at the recent Hari Raya Bazaar, even at S$50k for a 2-week bazaar, there will still be takers.

Hypocrite-The

I do agree that this is overkill and the landlords are being too greedy. Unfortunately, the landlords could have done their research and took the gamble that there will still be the demand despite the exorbitant increase. Like you see at the recent Hari Raya Bazaar, even at S$50k for a 2-week bazaar, there will still be takers.
The best is to vote with ones wallet. No hawker rent the stalls n no customer go there and eat

Faced with a doubling of their rental fees under a new management, more than half the stalls at a coffeeshop in Toa Payoh decided not to renew their contracts.

According to Shin Min Daily News on Saturday (May 14), six out of 10 stall holders at a coffeeshop located in Blk 233, Toa Payoh Lorong 8, will not be returning once their lease expires on May 31.

Some of the stallholders have been operating in the coffeeshop for more than a decade.

Out of the nine hawkers at the stall, three had already decided to wind up their businesses at the beginning of the year for various reasons, reported Shin Min Daily News. The last, a drinks stall, is owned by the owner of the coffeeshop.

After a recent change in management, the remaining hawkers were informed that their rent would be increased after a month-long renovation period beginning June 1.

One 60-year-old hawker, surnamed Yu, told Shin Min Daily News that he had received information two weeks ago that his rent would be doubled, from $3,000 a month to $6,000 a month.

Yu has been running an economic bee hoon stall at the coffeeshop for 30 years.

More at https://shrtcô.de/6Vaef

The rise in rental is in line with the low rental for the past 2 years because of the covid pandemic. The lowlife hawkers decline to mention this fact.

The best is to vote with ones wallet. No hawker rent the stalls n no customer go there and eat

There will be new stalls and their business will be much better than the previous tenants after the renovation. It's a proven formula.

Pinkieslut

Most of these stallholders voted for PAP. They shouldn't complain.

Many of these stallholders drive Mercs, Benz, fucked Tiananmen Chiobus, big spenders at hang flowers joints and weekend horse racing.

All pretend to be frugal, poor, earn no money blah blah bullshit.

Many of these stallholders drive Mercs, Benz, fucked Tiananmen Chiobus, big spenders at hang flowers joints and weekend horse racing.

All pretend to be frugal, poor, earn no money blah blah bullshit.
You mean day time they sell fishball and night time they eat abalone?

tobelightlight

Clearly you don’t understand how things work. HDB under govt control so what? It’s the private operators who overpay to bid for coffee shops and they control the rental cost!

https://www.businesstimes.com.sg/co...portfolio-of-food-outlet-properties-for-s558m
CATALIST-LISTED coffeeshop consolidator Kimly has agreed to acquire a S$55.8 million portfolio of food outlet properties, comprising four coffeeshops, three industrial canteen units and a restaurant unit.
May I ask how private is private?

KNN my uncle say lansai lah KNN rent increase double just increase food price double simple maths KNN you think tam chia ter nao sinkies can don't jiak ? KNN

batman1

Actually,not only Toa Payoh hawker centre, almost all the hawker centres and foodcourts in Singapore have already increased their prices. Thanks to the 61% !