• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

More professionals switching to teaching

MOE must be blind. At age 45 switch to teaching. Its all for the Money and security. Where got passion for teaching.

MOE should take in fresh young graduates instead.

Nobody young or old has the passion for teaching for altruistic purposes. It's all about the money, just like most other jobs.

Most school teachers are fucked up teachers. If they were any good, the bulk of their students wouldn't need to seek help for tuition. The number of students needing tuition is staggering. It can't be half the sinkie students are retards, despite their low quality genes.

whoami

dun be so mean lah, if that is the case, let them be. teaching and social work is noble profession.:o

For every job given to this so called mid career switch "professionals", a fresh graduate is being deprived of her job. This Colin earning at least close to 10K. Why decided to switch job and earn half of his last drawn salary? U think hes noble, have passion for teaching at age 45? Hahaha....

Not mid career switch lah. It is unofficial retirement from the uniformed services. Excellent i say. That is how you buy supporters my friend.

he might have realised his call for teaching at this age, not all are born equally intellect. some reach puberty at later age mah...:o:biggrin:

No.

He realised that if he didn't switch to teaching soon enough, he would end up driving taxis and doing security guard jobs for 1/3 the pay of a school teacher.

A number of my university sinkie friends did the same before their foreign bosses could axe them for being sinkies. They shared similar stories during our university or hall reunion dinners.

knowwhatyouwantinlife

Nobody young or old has the passion for teaching for altruistic purposes. It's all about the money, just like most other jobs.

Most school teachers are fucked up teachers. If they were any good, the bulk of their students wouldn't need to seek help for tuition. The number of students needing tuition is staggering. It can't be half the sinkie students are retards, despite their low quality genes.

Real reason:
Colonel Lau Kee Siong, Assistant Chief of General Staff - Managing Director of Embrace (Singapore Technologies unit)

Colonel Michael Low, Assistant Chief of General Staff - Chief Operating Officer of DataOne Asia and Managing Director of DataOne Singapore (Keppel unit)

Colonel Lee Wai Mun, Assistant Chief of General Staff - President of ST Synthesis

Colonel Tham Kui Seng, Assistant Chief of General Staff - Chief Executive of CapitaLand Residential, Chairman of Australand Holdings, and Director of Raffles Holdings

Colonel Ng Eng Ho, Chief Signal Officer - Chief Executive Keppel T&T, Director of Keppel Communications, Keppel Telecoms, and MobileOne (Keppel and SPH unit

Colonel Foo Jong Ai, Chief Signal Officer - Director of InfoComm Development Authority Chief Executive of Netrust (Keppel unit) and Chairman of 1-Net (MediaCorp unit)

Colonel Quek Poh Huat, Senior Officer in the Armed Forces - Chairman of SISIR President of Temasek Holdings, Executive Director of Singapore Power, and Director of Singapore Telecoms

Colonel Kee Teck Koon, Director of SISIR and National Science and Technology Board Chief Executive and Director of The Ascott Group (CapitaLand unit)

Colonel Tay Kok Khiang, Head of Air Logistics in the Air Force - Deputy President and Chief Operating Officer of ST Aerospace, Chairman of STA Engines, STA Systems, Aerospace Engineering Services, Singapore Precision Repair and Overhaul, STA International Structures, and Deputy Chairman of Singapore Technologies Training and Simulation

Colonel Tan Nga Kok, Division Commander - Vice President and Executive Director of ST Engineering

Colonel Poon Choon Liang, Chief Supply and Transport Officer - General Manager of Singapore Food Industries...

Colonel Quek Koh Eng Senior Officer in the Army - Executive Director of Chartered Ammunition Industries (Singapore Technologies unit)

Colonel Goh Chee Kong Commander of Officer Cadet School - Executive Director of SMRT Corporation

Colonel Tan Hong Huat Senior Officer in the Armed Forces - Senior Vice President of SembCorp Industries and Director of Sembawang Kimtrans

Colonel Chua Tiong Guan Senior Officer in the Armed Forces - Managing Director of ECO Industrial Environmental Engineering (JTC and Singapore Power unit)

Lieutenant-Colonel Ed Ng Brigade Commander - Executive Vice President of CapitaLand and Director of Raffles Holdings

Lieutenant-Colonel Tay Siew Choon Commanding Officer - Managing Director and Chief Operating Officer of Singapore Technologies, Chairman of Singapore Computer Systems, Green Dot Internet Services, NexGen Financial Holdings, Asia Business Venture Holdings, SNP Corporation, KRDL Holdings, Vertex Management and Vertex Ventures, Deputy Chairman and Chief Executive of Green Dot Capital, Deputy Chairman of Vertex Venture Holdings, Director of Singapore Technologies Telemedia, SembCorp Industries, PSA Corporation, Chartered Semiconductor, ST Telemedia

Lieutenant-Colonel Teo Kian Bin Deputy Head of Joint Plans - Chief Executive of Netrust (Keppel unit)

Lieutenant-Colonel Fong Choon Khin Senior Officer in the Armed Forces - Vice President and Chief Information Officer of MediaCorp Singapore

Lieutenant-Colonel Chang Cheow Teck Senior Officer in the Air Force - President of VT Systems and ST Engineering

Lieutenant-Colonel Yoon Kam Choon Senior Officer in the Navy - Administrative Officer Chief Executive of TradeOne (Keppel unit)

Lieutenant-Colonel Chong San Chew Senior Officer in the Armed Forces - Group Corporate Planning and Business Development Manager of Comfort Group, Director of Comfort Courier Services, ComTrucks, Barcelona Motors, Comfort Myanmar

Lieutenant-Colonel Tang Kok Fai Senior Officer in the Armed Forces - Executive Director of SembCorp Industries

Lieutenant-Colonel Chua Hwee Song Senior Officer in the Armed Forces - Deputy Director of National Science and Technology Board Deputy Director of TIF Ventures (EDB unit);

Huge numbers ? Why are there so many army personnel holding high positions in the government linked companies?

Will the oppositions ever take over Singapore? the answer is NO!

Like in Burma , North Korea and formerly Indonesia, where those in the armed forces are rewarded in high places, we seem to be following the same foot-steps, even though they have no relevant experiences in the field.

Burma and Indonesia have given up on this military Junta which was found to be full of complacency and corruption but the PAP are still full swing into it. What is going on?

First they were in the Government offices, then they came to GLCs, are they building up something?

Every election, there is a drop in support for the PAP, for them I believe, it is a ticking time bomb, it is only a matter of time before opposition will take over Singapore, no matter how many foreign mercenaries they brought in, their supports keep dwindling.

Is it possible that when it happens, they want to have the military on their side so that they could hold a coup?

Under the military governments in Burma and Indonesia, the people suffered heavily. There was widespread corruption, poverty, huge income gaps, nepotism and cronyism.

Look carefully, we are following the same footsteps with so many military men in top positions.

Even our PM, himself is a general and we have so many ministers who are army personnel and we have huge numbers in government link companies.

They are there to do the battle. And who are the enemies? The citizens.

History tell us, countries with a high concentration of military men in key positions lead to inefficiency and corruption which will lead to the downfall of a country. But why is our government failing to see it?

Aziz Kassim

whoami

Not mid career switch lah. It is unofficial retirement from the uniformed services. Excellent i say. That is how you buy supporters my friend.

Yes. After 45 yrs of age u r useless in outside market. Why not go into teaching. Pay also not bad. But i say this is not right. Alot of graduates/dip holders are jobless. Most of them doing sales base on commission and very low basic pay. Instead of "rehiring" this so called mid career "professionals", why not take in those fresh college/Uni graduates? If other countries, those jobless would take it to the streets...

whoami

U really buy this Colin story? U really think he has passion for teaching? Plse lah. At age 45, consider old leow. If he can start his 2nd career with diff ministry, why not. Pay also not bad. But i strongly feel that MOE is not doing the right thing. How can u just simply take in uncle from Shipyard, Police force etc etc and offer them teaching post? Maybe by doing so, MOE hope with abundance experience in Police force and shipyard, these two uncles can share their vast experience with those primary school pupils.:rolleyes:

whoami

No.

He realised that if he didn't switch to teaching soon enough, he would end up driving taxis and doing security guard jobs for 1/3 the pay of a school teacher.

A number of my university sinkie friends did the same before their foreign bosses could axe them for being sinkies. They shared similar stories during our university or hall reunion dinners.

100% agree with ur post!

blessed

Yes. After 45 yrs of age u r useless in outside market. Why not go into teaching. Pay also not bad. But i say this is not right. Alot of graduates/dip holders are jobless. Most of them doing sales base on commission and very low basic pay. Instead of "rehiring" this so called mid career "professionals", why not take in those fresh college/Uni graduates? If other countries, those jobless would take it to the streets...

Wait till you hear that they are even offering these mid career switch to SPR and not just Singaporeans. I know becos one of my friend's Msian SPR relative has done that few years ago. PAP do take good care of foreigners to feed them until they retire.

blessed

One thing mentioned in the article is that Colin will be teaching a class of 39 primary three students. 39 students in one class! Where is the improvement in education? This kind of teacher student ratio sounds the same as decades ago.

whoami

Wait till you hear that they are even offering these mid career switch to SPR and not just Singaporeans. I know becos one of my friend's Msian SPR relative has done that few years ago. PAP do take good care of foreigners to feed them until they retire.

Not surprising though. Most of the ministry have staffs with EP Pass. What more SPRs. That goes with MOE too. If Ministry started taking FTs, what more can u expect from the Pte sectors? Wonder who took the cue from who 1st.:rolleyes:

whoami

One thing mentioned in the article is that Colin will be teaching a class of 39 primary three students. 39 students in one class! Where is the improvement in education? This kind of teacher student ratio sounds the same as decades ago.

If this Colin feel insecure in the Police force, MOE can consider him for the post of OM lah. Relevant to his past experience. Post of Education Officer is just not suitable for a 45 yr old uncle....