More Cash Strapped SG families having reunion dinner at hawker centre

if the womenfolk cannot cook or grandma is too old to cook a feast for two dozen spoilt brats, best is to "ta pau" food from hawker centers home. 2 orders of each: satay, popiah, char kway teow, mee goreng, mee rebus, mee siam mai hum, fried hokkien mee, mee pok ta, and of course, must have curry chicken and laksa. very affordable. sg is extremely convenient and cheap for family reunions. no fancy restaurants required. and yes, thanks to old fart for making that a reality. :p

They'll just ta pau your standard styrofoam box of mixed veg rice and settle the reunion dinner with that.

I think hawker center can be good alternative. The top Chinese restaurants are just trying to squeeze in more people and food quality, service is horrid. Then they want you to order their fixed menu which has a bunch of dishes that I do not like (dried oysters is one). It is too crowded and noisy to talk (they want you out after 1.5 hours max). Furthermore with the influx of rich folks that has also driven up the prices of food.

Spend half the amount at hawker center and you can eat like a king. Gov should allow hawker centers to set up temporary tents and tables to cater to this market. In return ministry checks to make sure no price gouging.

In the end it is about food and company.

Unless they have do reunion dinner with Malay or Indian food, LOL.

bro,

it's just that my family likes eating at home, the steamboat goes very well with traditional home cooked pigs trotters 横财就手, Ngoh Hiong 五福临门, steamed promfret 年年有余, butter prawns 嘻嘻哈哈, etc... :):):)

pretty easy to cook and the recipe for these dishes were passed down from my grandma's time... :):):)

The town councils could have let esidents organize mass reunion dinners at the void decks. They could do it for ghost month, so why not for CNY reunion dinners?

This will be a viable alternative as with economies of scale will ensure that the cost is affordable to all and the caterer can even import its own produce to reduce costs further.

If they were cashed strapped, they'd be having it at home. That's where my family had their reunion dinner before LKY transformed Singapore from swampland to first world nation in less than a generation.

What, Iranians celebrate Chinese New Year too? Or do you mean the Iranian New Year?

In return ministry checks to make sure no price gouging.

It is like asking the foxes to look after the chickens.

THE BIGGEST AND THE WORSE PRICE GOUGERS IN STINKAPORE AND ABOUT THE WHOLE FUCKING WORLD ARE THE PAP MAGGOTS AND COCKROACHES

WHO ELSE IN THE ENTIRE FUCKING WORLD GET THE KIND OF SALARY THEY PAY THEMSELVES?

THE ENTIRE G8 COUNTRIES BUDGETS TO PAY THEIR PRESIDENTS MINISTERS WILL NOT BE ENOUGH TO PAY THOSE PAP WALKING BAGS OF EXCREMENT.

THEY GOT THEIR MONEY BY GOUGING SINKIES INTO POVERTY AND TO DIE OF POVERTY
AND THEN GET EVEN MORE MONEY BY HARVESTING THEIR ORGANS AND SELLING IT TO ALL THAT CAN PAY AND PAY

thank u for posting pics of the less fortunates. i doubt their garberment gets the same salary as pappies.

Their government are billionaires (all the banana republics), laundering money in tier one cities like London, Paris and even SINKAPORE!

Impossible. Hawker stalls are closed for reunion dinner. Unless it is Muslim or Indian food.

If there is demand, some hawker centers will open lah, especially if they are allowed to add larger tables and tents.

What, Iranians celebrate Chinese New Year too? Or do you mean the Iranian New Year?

The Chinese members of my family do and there is no reason why I cannot join in.

During the golden years when there's not much FT and the locals are still holding on to their well paid job, many of us will go to restaurants to dine at special occasions even when the charges are high. Times have changed as we locals no longer can afford the luxury to dine in restaurants due to pay cuts and stagnant in our salary. Hawker centre is the best alternatives beside cooking at home.

Those golden years will all return when the fuckturds PAP maggots cockroaches all become corpses starting with smear of shit on sole of shoe LKY

Before their bodies ever start to stink, those golden years will return

All this talk getting me hungry. Will order large plate of teochew style steam promfret with tomato and tofu this CNY. Anyone know which Cher Char place is good at this other than Beng Hiang.

We should be thankful, if not for the PAP, we would not even think of reunion dinner. sic!

Can do wat others do...go away for CNY n have reunion dinner early...hawker still open.

Unless of course, the hawkers themselves are having their own reunion dinners and you are content to have halal food for your reunion dinner. ;)

Why is halal food brought into reunion dinners? are we MUSLIMS?? or Chinese MUSLIMS?? I am dreaming of roast pork...pig...chicken..whatever!

Hahaha .... there are some idiots still eating grass during this festive occasion !:D