MOM ignore my Complaint ? ####

<TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%"><TBODY><TR class=msghead><TD><TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0><TBODY><TR class=msghead vAlign=top><TD class=msgF width="1%" noWrap align=right>From: </TD><TD class=msgFname width="68%" noWrap>ThePLEN <NOBR></NOBR></TD><TD class=msgDate width="30%" noWrap align=right>2:51 am </TD></TR><TR class=msghead><TD class=msgT height=20 width="1%" noWrap align=right>To: </TD><TD class=msgTname width="68%" noWrap>ALL <NOBR></NOBR></TD><TD class=msgNum noWrap align=right></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR><TR><TD class=msgleft rowSpan=4 width="1%"></TD><TD class=wintiny noWrap align=right>51204.1 </TD></TR><TR><TD height=8></TD></TR><TR><TD id=msgtxt_1 class=msgtxt>

I lodged a complaint to MOM regarding the case of Jurong Town Council.

RE:
Sacked due to incompetence or opposition involvement?
By Cheow Xin Yi, TODAY | Posted: 11 May 2011 0627 hrs
<TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width=260 align=right><TBODY><TR><TD width=20 align=right></TD><TD width=240 align=right>
phpB9Y5H4.jpg
</TD></TR><TR><TD height=60 vAlign=top></TD><TD class=update height=80 vAlign=top><TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%"><TBODY><TR><TD bgColor=#f6f6f6 width=138>Photos </TD><TD bgColor=#f6f6f6 width=47>1 of 1</TD><TD bgColor=#f6f6f6 width=18></TD><TD bgColor=#f6f6f6 width=19></TD><TD bgColor=#f6f6f6 width=18></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>
dotline_240.gif

Singapore office workers</TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD class=update></TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD>http://www.channelnewsasia.com/stories/singaporelocalnews/view/1128074/1/.html</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE><!-- for Facebook Like function --><TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width=510><TBODY><TR><TD colSpan=4><HR align=left color=#dddddd SIZE=1 width=510></TD></TR><TR><TD height=30 vAlign=middle width=510 colSpan=4></TD></TR><TR><TD colSpan=4><HR align=left color=#dddddd SIZE=1 width=510></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>

SINGAPORE: Was she sacked by the Jurong Town Council because of incompetence, or was it because of her involvement with an opposition party?

A flurry of postings over the Internet on Monday suggested the latter reason.

In an emailed reply to Channel NewsAsia on Tuesday, town council general manager Ho Thian Poh said 25-year-old former customer service officer Geraldine Soh was terminated by the town council's managing agent, EMASCO Township Management, "for reasons of under-performance over a period of several months".

The underperformance included weaknesses in attending to and following up on calls from residents, even as counselling by her supervisors "did not lead to improvement", Mr Ho said.

"We would like to clarify that this was purely a human resource management issue between ESMACO and the employee... Council members of Jurong Town Council are not involved in ESMACO's human resource decisions," he added.

Questions regarding Ms Soh's dismissal started surfacing on Tuesday after her boyfriend, Joel Kong, alerted netizens and online social political websites about the incident.

Ms Soh, who was given her last pay cheque on Tuesday, told reporters she had been suspended from work last Tuesday.

The weekend before, she had been helping to distribute National Solidarity Party (NSP) pamphlets and sell party merchandise.

Ms Soh, who is now unemployed, said she had been working at the town council for the past three years.

She was inspired to go down and help out at NSP candidate Steve Chia's rally at Jurong West stadium after reading his book.

It was her first time helping at an opposition party's event.

She continued to attend NSP events even after she was suspended.

Her boyfriend, a 26-year-old legal executive, had accompanied her at the NSP events, where they apparently met two town council colleagues separately at the rallies, including a term contractor.

This, she felt, led to speculation that her dismissal could have been due to her participation at the rallies.

Ms Soh denied that she had attended counselling sessions because of her work.

She had been called into the office "about four to five times over the last three years" following complaints from residents.

But this was a "common occurrence" among colleagues, she said.

She did not receive any feedback about having to improve her services.

Mr Kong also claimed that Ms Soh received a high "C" grading for her performance rating sometime between February and March.

Jurong Town Council's general manager did not reply to queries regarding the timing of Ms Soh's dismissal, or the short notice period that she received.

In response to MediaCorp's queries, a Ministry of Manpower (MOM) spokesperson also said it has not received any complaints officially lodged by Ms Soh.

- TODAY/wk

I received the reply below.

"MOM LRD" <[email protected]>
Add sender to Contacts

To: [email protected]

Dear Sir / Mdm

We refer to your email dated 12 May 11.

2 The Ministry of Manpower (MOM) takes a serious view of employers who compromise their workers' employment rights. The Ministry follows up with all employment complaints seriously and thoroughly.

3 On the matter that you have raised, we would like to explain that the Employment Act provides that either party to a contract of service may terminate the contract by giving notice or paying salary in lieu of notice to the other party. However, if an employee feels that his/her service was terminated unfairly or without just cause, the employee may appeal in writing to the Minister for Manpower to be reinstated to his/her former employment. The Minister may, before making a decision, direct that an inquiry into the dismissal be made.

4 Employees who encounter employment-related issues may approach MOM for advice and assistance through the following avenues:

a. Making an e-appointment to meet one of our officers through the MOM website: [URL="http://www.mom.gov.sg/"]www.mom.gov.sg[/URL]
b. Emailing us at [email protected]
c. Contacting us at our call centre: 6438 5122

More information on the Employment Act can also be found here:
[URL]http://www.mom.gov.sg/employment-practices/employment-rights-conditions/employment-act/Pages/default.aspx[/URL]

5 In our response to Mediacorp's query on the Jurong Town Council dismissal case, a portion of our reply was not published. That portion (in bold, below), for your information, is:

"The Ministry of Manpower (MOM) has not received any cases officially lodged by Ms Geraldine Soh. We advise Ms Soh to contact us directly at 6438 5122 or email us at [email protected] to lodge her case with us."

6 We would like to assure you that due process will be given to Ms Geraldine Soh when she approaches the Ministry for assistance.

7 We thank you for your feedback.

Yours sincerely,

Flora Koh (Ms)
for COMMISSIONER FOR LABOUR

Does this mean MOM is not interested unless Ms Soh writes in herself? What logic is this?

Perhaps Kojak can help circulate in TR.... thanks a million.

<HR SIZE=1>Edited 5/18/2011 7:00 am ET by ThePLEN</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>

lianbeng says, "now ultharman boss liao lor - complain to that shiny botak head lah." :D

That is what happen when you are balless to take yourself to the streets and protest.

Write letter what is the use. Letter is just like hiding behind a pc, no effect.

You want real effect to make your wrong to be right, then go to the street in masses throw those motherfuckers out.

That is what happen when you are balless to take yourself to the streets and protest.

Write letter what is the use. Letter is just like hiding behind a pc, no effect.

You want real effect to make your wrong to be right, then go to the street in masses throw those motherfuckers out.

lianbeng says, "but by doing that kana thrown behind iron bars then how? must think for our loved ones mah." :D

Like what i say in my other posts, if you scare this and scare that, then just swallow all the shit PAP force it in your throat lah. That is how sinkie behaves mah. That infamous sinkie behavior.

maybe you can do better, after they force the shit into your throat, you can smile at them and ask them are you doing it right?

Then you look at the sign board and it says that is the correct way to do it. and you sigh a relief and glad that you follow the law.

i am happy to say that i am still right to stay away from useless and coward sinkies and away from their low life sinkie behavior.