• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

MOM give EP passes to Chao Ah Nehs like giving tissue papers !

KNNBCCB

I have been working in the IT industry for over 20 years and was retrenched in 2002. Without wasting any time, I started sending out job applications to all advertised jobs. For almost 1.5 years, I heard nothing from any of the job applications I sent out. Around that time, a lot of companies were busy outsourcing entire departments and projects to other countries and also our Government was increasingly getting more “foreign talents” into Singapore.

Three years after retrenchment and 3 small contracts later, I gained a better understanding of what was happening out there. The rules of the employment game had changed and Singaporeans might not be aware of it –experience and qualification do not count any more. Nationality plays the biggest part.

Here is my story of the 2nd contract position I took with an Indian IT body shop. In fact, I wrote to the Prime Minister’s Office about it in late 2005 and MOM subsequently replied me in early 2006, stating that they would look into it. I have not heard from them since.

In 2004, I received an urgent call for an IT consultant position for a project in KL. I took up the position and found out later that the consultant I replaced had been sacked for incompetence. He was engaged from India and the project was just starting.

This was a multi-million dollar project involving a Malaysian client, a top-notch consulting firm and a small staff of external consultants. There were about 40 people in the project team. Part of the project was outsourced to this Indian IT body shop, which brought in 3 “consultants” directly from India plus myself from Singapore. I was supposedly hired for a “6-month” period.

The Indian IT body shop could not get Malaysia work passes for the 3 Indian consultants to work in Malaysia. So, their Singapore counterpart applied Employment Passes for them in Singapore instead. On the day they failed to get Malaysia work passes, the 3 Indian consultants took a night train from KL to Singapore on a Friday night, arriving at 8.30am on Saturday morning. They then headed straight to MOM and got their Employment Passes by Monday morning. Right after that, they went back to work in this project in KL.

Throughout the project, before their maximum 30-day “social visit” in Malaysia was up, all 3 would hop onto a night train and arrive in Singapore early next morning. After some rest and window shopping (these guys never spent a cent) in Singapore, they would return back to KL the following day. They were abusing both the Singapore Employment Pass issued to them and the Malaysia “social visiting” rights accorded to them.

The Indian IT body shop was paid a considerable amount per consultant. Only a fraction of this was paid to the consultants. Before the end of the project, I was told by my Indian employer to “hurry up and finish your work because you are expensive”. Yes, I was paid more than the other 3 Indian consultants but then I did come with more than 20 years of IT experience and I knew for a fact that my team mates were nowhere nearly as experienced. On one occasion, out of utter frustration due to liquidated damages incurred, the client lined my team mates up and had a good yelling session at them, basically, for incompetence. The client paid through its nose for sub-standard quality work.

The Indian IT body shop was the one laughing its way to the bank. I had to leave within a week, after barely 5 months on the project. I was in fact, offered to stay on by the client and was also offered to work on a new project in JB by the project consulting group. I had to turn both down because I needed to come home due to family obligations. I came back to Singapore to face unemployment once again. What frustrates me is that there are plenty of such IT contract positions in Singapore but inevitably, they all seem to go straight to foreigners. I have to look outside Singapore for similar jobs but that means I will have to be away from my family. On another occasion, I even had an Indian manager telling me “only Indians can do technical jobs” (i.e., only people from India can do technical jobs). He wouldn’t even look at my resume.

During the project (forgive me but I have to share this one), I had the woeful experience of working with this Indian “talent”. He was a “technical consultant” whom I sat next to. He came with a very “impressive” resume which obviously must have impressed the client a lot. He spent a record-breaking 9 days on the project before being dismissed by the client. Just to relate how bad he was, he approached me for assistance when his laptop stopped functioning. I explained to him that his laptop battery had gone flat. Seeing a puzzled look on his face, I proceeded to take out the power cord from his laptop bag and plugged it in for him before the laptop came back up again! This may seem like an April fool’s day joke, but sadly, it isn’t. Whilst there are exceptionally good talents from India, here is a classic example of the absolute opposite.

Singaporean IT consultants are a dying breed. If the Government doesn’t do anything to stop the abuses by these foreign IT workers, there will not be any

Singaporean IT people left by the next generation. .

Yours truly, An Indian Singaporean IT Consultant who is scared to be retrenched again!

http://www.temasekreview.net/2011/05/19/the-woes-of-a-singaporean-it-consultant/

in macau, it's very strict. if you are caught without proper papers and working, you will be deported immediately.

KNNBCCB maybe u should set up a camp with machine gun with few million round of bullet in front of MOM.

>>Just to relate how bad he was, he approached me for assistance when his laptop stopped functioning. I explained to him that his laptop battery had gone flat. Seeing a puzzled look on his face, I proceeded to take out the power cord from his laptop bag and plugged it in for him before the laptop came back up again! This may seem like an April fool’s day joke, but sadly, it isn’t. <<

Ass Loong say he importing quality foreign 'talents', how come this one slip thru the checks? Cheebye....i bet he dun even know what is the difference between RAM and HDD!

Sorry to say this but this Indian IT Consultant was jobless and desperate. He was offered work in JB. JB leh but he chose not to take it up due to "family commitments". Den family dun eat loh. I have to travel a lot for my work but I lan lan even though I have two young daughters. Family commitments but still have to eat, right?

KNNBCCB maybe u should set up a camp with machine gun with few million round of bullet in front of MOM.

I should set up my camp at the airport.
Any Ah Neh airlines touch the ground...
Wa...aa...lah.... :eek:

ah neh sabo-ed by ah neh ... :eek:

Local Indian is called keling.
Keling kena saboed by ah nehs.
Anyways all shit scums cannot be trusted...

My answer for my siggi is always C. :eek:

Never fails to surprise me on the pearls of wisdom dispensed in this forum :rolleyes:

This is a failure of LKY products over the past 50 years. Singaporeans were never nurtured as entreprenures but labourers for Foreign companies. Good angmoh foregin companies don't want to go Singapore becos of the fear politic environment created by no other LKY. So what is now left for Singapore is to attract Ah Nehs and the Ah Tiongs.

At the rate Singapore is going, I suggest you leave Singapore for good and leave PAP to stuggle with the Ah Nehs and Tiongs.

I have been working in the IT industry for over 20 years and was retrenched in 2002. Without wasting any time, I started sending out job applications to all advertised jobs. For almost 1.5 years, I heard nothing from any of the job applications I sent out. Around that time, a lot of companies were busy outsourcing entire departments and projects to other countries and also our Government was increasingly getting more “foreign talents” into Singapore.

Three years after retrenchment and 3 small contracts later, I gained a better understanding of what was happening out there. The rules of the employment game had changed and Singaporeans might not be aware of it –experience and qualification do not count any more. Nationality plays the biggest part.

Here is my story of the 2nd contract position I took with an Indian IT body shop. In fact, I wrote to the Prime Minister’s Office about it in late 2005 and MOM subsequently replied me in early 2006, stating that they would look into it. I have not heard from them since.

In 2004, I received an urgent call for an IT consultant position for a project in KL. I took up the position and found out later that the consultant I replaced had been sacked for incompetence. He was engaged from India and the project was just starting.

This was a multi-million dollar project involving a Malaysian client, a top-notch consulting firm and a small staff of external consultants. There were about 40 people in the project team. Part of the project was outsourced to this Indian IT body shop, which brought in 3 “consultants” directly from India plus myself from Singapore. I was supposedly hired for a “6-month” period.

The Indian IT body shop could not get Malaysia work passes for the 3 Indian consultants to work in Malaysia. So, their Singapore counterpart applied Employment Passes for them in Singapore instead. On the day they failed to get Malaysia work passes, the 3 Indian consultants took a night train from KL to Singapore on a Friday night, arriving at 8.30am on Saturday morning. They then headed straight to MOM and got their Employment Passes by Monday morning. Right after that, they went back to work in this project in KL.

Throughout the project, before their maximum 30-day “social visit” in Malaysia was up, all 3 would hop onto a night train and arrive in Singapore early next morning. After some rest and window shopping (these guys never spent a cent) in Singapore, they would return back to KL the following day. They were abusing both the Singapore Employment Pass issued to them and the Malaysia “social visiting” rights accorded to them.

The Indian IT body shop was paid a considerable amount per consultant. Only a fraction of this was paid to the consultants. Before the end of the project, I was told by my Indian employer to “hurry up and finish your work because you are expensive”. Yes, I was paid more than the other 3 Indian consultants but then I did come with more than 20 years of IT experience and I knew for a fact that my team mates were nowhere nearly as experienced. On one occasion, out of utter frustration due to liquidated damages incurred, the client lined my team mates up and had a good yelling session at them, basically, for incompetence. The client paid through its nose for sub-standard quality work.

The Indian IT body shop was the one laughing its way to the bank. I had to leave within a week, after barely 5 months on the project. I was in fact, offered to stay on by the client and was also offered to work on a new project in JB by the project consulting group. I had to turn both down because I needed to come home due to family obligations. I came back to Singapore to face unemployment once again. What frustrates me is that there are plenty of such IT contract positions in Singapore but inevitably, they all seem to go straight to foreigners. I have to look outside Singapore for similar jobs but that means I will have to be away from my family. On another occasion, I even had an Indian manager telling me “only Indians can do technical jobs” (i.e., only people from India can do technical jobs). He wouldn’t even look at my resume.

During the project (forgive me but I have to share this one), I had the woeful experience of working with this Indian “talent”. He was a “technical consultant” whom I sat next to. He came with a very “impressive” resume which obviously must have impressed the client a lot. He spent a record-breaking 9 days on the project before being dismissed by the client. Just to relate how bad he was, he approached me for assistance when his laptop stopped functioning. I explained to him that his laptop battery had gone flat. Seeing a puzzled look on his face, I proceeded to take out the power cord from his laptop bag and plugged it in for him before the laptop came back up again! This may seem like an April fool’s day joke, but sadly, it isn’t. Whilst there are exceptionally good talents from India, here is a classic example of the absolute opposite.

Singaporean IT consultants are a dying breed. If the Government doesn’t do anything to stop the abuses by these foreign IT workers, there will not be any

Singaporean IT people left by the next generation. .

Yours truly, An Indian Singaporean IT Consultant who is scared to be retrenched again!

http://www.temasekreview.net/2011/05/19/the-woes-of-a-singaporean-it-consultant/

Sorry to say this but this Indian IT Consultant was jobless and desperate. He was offered work in JB. JB leh but he chose not to take it up due to "family commitments". Den family dun eat loh. I have to travel a lot for my work but I lan lan even though I have two young daughters. Family commitments but still have to eat, right?

This fella wants his cake & eat it too. Which bro here does not have family commitment? I have a wife & two daughters & I LPPL have to earn an income way outside of Singapore. Its a commitment to the family to earn an income so wife got money for the household, children got money for education, recreation & a little entertainment. My desperation means I only get to see my family for a few months a year.

You think a letter to PMO will change the situation?

The cure for an empty stomach is hard work but there is no cure for being naive, except being shafted repeatedly until you see the light.

I should set up my camp at the airport.
Any Ah Neh airlines touch the ground...
Wa...aa...lah.... :eek:
are you looking for LOCAL TALENTS to help you shoot those fucking nehs?? :D:D

Replaced by FT policy.

Pathetic Sinkies don't understand the importance of protecting your own kind until it becomes too late as there will be too few of you left to put up a good fight.

1) We got rid of local construction workers by not paying them a proper wage.
2) we got rid of local garbage collectors by not paying them a proper wage.
3) We got rid of local cleaners by not paying them a proper wage.
4) We got rid of local tradesmen by not paying them a proper wage.
5) We got rid of local mechanics by not paying them a proper wage.
6) We got rid of local IT professionals by not paying them a proper wage.
7) We got rid of local engineers by not paying them a proper wage.

The list will keep getting longer and longer as long as Sinkies don't understand that if you want to pay third world prices, then you will need to import third world labour to do the job. Don't complain if what you get is not up to your expectations or even worse, cause you injury or death.

We held on to local MPs and Ministers by paying them out of this world wages. So conclusion is that the only viable career path is to become an MP at least. If you can't reach this target, you die your business ok?

In my time they were called, kek leng kwei, from India yan do kwei...