• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

MOH said Mers coming to Singapore soon

Leepotism

A matter of time before Mers hits Singapore

MOH points out risks associated with being an air travel hub, but says hospitals are vigilant and prepared

The Middle East respiratory syndrome (MERS) coronavirus is seen in an undated transmission electron micrograph from the National Institute for Allergy and Infectious Diseases (NIAID).

It could simply be a matter of time before Singapore gets its first case of Mers.

"Being an air travel hub, there is always the risk that eventually we will also report a case," said Dr Jeffery Cutter, director of the Health Ministry's communicable diseases division.

Already 18 countries have registered at least one patient with the Middle East respiratory syndrome (Mers), although the Middle East remains the worst affected.

From today, air travellers arriving from hot spots Saudi Arabia and the United Arab Emirates, as well as other Mers-affected countries from the Gulf region will have their temperature screened

I love Sarsi. The streets were empty and I could paktor with my wifey.

With such a overcrowded city, the deadly spread of Mers cannot be taken lightly. Don't pray pray.

A new nickname for SG: Mers-Lion City. :D

image.img.png

Keep out all camel shaggers and Singapore should be safe.

lianbeng believes many have already passed thru the Arrival Hall undetected liao lah! :D

Everyday,,,MERs is coming closer...

[video=youtube;kLBWkM0jzK0]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kLBWkM0jzK0[/video]

attn all foreign trash... pls find your way out at changi airport now. 不送了。

transport no more congestion
COE drop
rental drop
hawker center no need to return tray

attn all foreign trash... pls find your way out at changi airport now. 不送了。

transport no more congestion
COE drop
rental drop
hawker center no need to return tray

Yes, Foreign trash, please go home.
Malaysian man died of MERS on 16 April 2014.

MALAYSIA: Malaysia has reported its first death from the Middle East Respiratory Syndrome (MERS).

The victim is a Malaysian man who had returned from a pilgrimage to Saudi Arabia. This is the first death from the virus in Asia, outside of the Middle East.
According to the World Health Organisation, the MERS virus has claimed 92 lives since 2012.

The 54-year-old Malaysian man died on April 13th in the southern state of Johor after being admitted for breathing difficulties, a cold, and a fever. He is thought to have contracted the virus while on pilgrimage in Saudi Arabia.

The man's diabetes may have exacerbated his condition, but the Malaysian government is warning Malaysians to be vigilant.

Dr S Subramaniam, the Malaysian health minister, said: "We have to take this condition very seriously because of the high incidence of death and it's a viral infection. We don't have a specific treatment for it.

"A lot of treatment is supportive and (requires) early diagnosis, so I would advise Malaysians to take this very seriously and protect themselves as much as possible."

Malaysia's Health Ministry is now contacting passengers onboard the Turkish Airlines flight the victim took on March 29 for health screenings. They are also warning Malaysians to be careful when travelling to the Middle East.

lianbeng replies: today a group of Muslims went to Saudi Arabia for a mini pilgrimage liao! :D better dun let them come back lah!

Ahbeng ah, this Mers is too dangerous. Ask them to never come back. America also kena liao.

<header class="article-header" style="box-sizing: border-box; -webkit-font-smoothing: antialiased; -webkit-tap-highlight-color: transparent; max-width: 1012px; padding-left: 80.546875px; padding-right: 80.546875px; width: auto; margin-bottom: 2.5em; color: rgb(0, 0, 0); font-family: franklin-gothic-urw, sans-serif; font-size: 16px; line-height: 22.399999618530273px;">Deadly Middle East Virus Hits 3rd U.S. Patient

<time class="publish-date" itemprop="datePublished" datetime="2014-05-17 16:35:47" pubdate="" style="box-sizing: border-box; -webkit-font-smoothing: antialiased; -webkit-tap-highlight-color: transparent; display: inline-block; font-size: 1rem; margin: 0px 20.5625px 0px 0px; vertical-align: top; zoom: 1;">May 17, 2014</time>

</header><section class="article-body" itemprop="articleBody" style="box-sizing: border-box; -webkit-font-smoothing: antialiased; -webkit-tap-highlight-color: transparent; max-width: 1012px; padding: 0px 80.546875px; width: 937px; position: relative; font-size: 1.2em; font-family: Georgia; color: rgb(40, 40, 40);"><figure class="primary-video-wrapper video-" itemprop="video" style="box-sizing: border-box; -webkit-font-smoothing: antialiased; -webkit-tap-highlight-color: transparent; margin: 0px;">
</figure>An Illinois business associate of the first laboratory-confirmed MERS patient in the United States has tested positive for the virus

An Illinois man has become the third person in the United States to test positive for the deadly Middle East Respiratory Syndrome, but he hasn’t showed signs of illness, federal health officials said Saturday.

The man met with the health care worker who was hospitalized in Indiana after traveling from Saudi Arabia and was diagnosed May 2 with the MERS virus, the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention said. The Illinois man had not traveled outside of the U.S. and had met twice with the health care worker who brought the first case stateside, before that case was diagnosed.

He continues to feel healthy despite testing positive for the disease on Friday. He’s the first person to contract the infection in the U.S., as opposed to getting it overseas and bringing it back, NPR reports.

“This latest development does not change CDC’s current recommendations to prevent the spread of MERS,” said Dr. David Swerdlow, who is leading the CDC’s response to MERS. “It’s possible that as the investigation continues others may also test positive for MERS-CoV infection but not get sick. Along with state and local health experts, CDC will investigate those initial cases and if new information is learned that requires us to change our prevention recommendations, we can do so.”

There have been 572 laboratory-confirmed cases of MERS in 15 countries, according to the CDC, and 173 people have died.

</section>