• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

MOE doing more to track foreign students who took grants & defaulted on bonds

blindswordsman

SINGAPORE: The Education Ministry has been stepping up efforts to better track foreign students who took tuition grants for their studies in Singapore but have not served their bonds.

It takes action against those who default on service obligations by pursuing liquidated damages against them, Education Minister Heng Swee Keat said in Parliament on Friday

Stupidity of the Govt is beyond comprehension. Why do we have to give tuition grants to foreign students? Are they locals born in this country? It is indeed a joke to pursue liquidated damages. These foreign students would probably be laughing at MOE now. When the bird is out of the cage, it would never return. It is just a waste of time and effort to chase after such defaulting students. Stop the tuition grant and save your efforts, MOE and let us stop being the fools.

TracyTan866

SINGAPORE: The Education Ministry has been stepping up efforts to better track foreign students who took tuition grants for their studies in Singapore but have not served their bonds.

It takes action against those who default on service obligations by pursuing liquidated damages against them, Education Minister Heng Swee Keat said in Parliament on Friday

Stupidity of the Govt is beyond comprehension. Why do we have to give tuition grants to foreign students? Are they locals born in this country? It is indeed a joke to pursue liquidated damages. These foreign students would probably be laughing at MOE now. When the bird is out of the cage, it would never return. It is just a waste of time and effort to chase after such defaulting students. Stop the tuition grant and save your efforts, MOE and let us stop being the fools.

dont believe what the pap says. look at what it does

There nothing MOE can do!
The only thing they can do is prevent them from working in SG.
Even those default come as tourist what MOE can do??? Jail them?????
Ha ha ha...........................

Can consider deporting them to India, Phillipines or China. :wink:

There nothing MOE can do!
The only thing they can do is prevent them from working in SG.
Even those default come as tourist what MOE can do??? Jail them?????
Ha ha ha...........................

congo9

My question is , what can you do to a foreigner if he has absconded and never set foot back to Singapore ?

For local , you can shame them even if they have paid up the bond. But what can you do to all these 3rd World free loaders where pride and honour are not in their blood ?

Can consider deporting them to India, Phillipines or China. :wink:

U are funny! How???
They can go back to their country anytime and come back anytime.
The only MOE can do it ask MOM not to grant them work pass.
MOE cannot sue them in their country eg. China/India their court will throw out the case.
Just like LKY sue Devan Nair in Candian court.

Look at this kind of nonsensical answers by an incredibly stupid and gullible Minister Heng Chee Bye. This is what $3 million a year buys you in Singapore.

MOE improving its tracking of international grant recipients

By
NG JING YNG
Published: 22 February, 4:03 AM

SINGAPORE — Between 2010 and last year, about 80 per cent of international students who received tuition grants during their polytechnic and university education started working upon graduation or were granted deferment to pursue further studies, said Education Minister Heng Swee Keat in Parliament yesterday.

He was responding to questions filed by Hougang Member of Parliament (MP) Png Eng Huat, who asked for the total amount of tuition grants given to international students in polytechnics and universities who defaulted on their bonds, and what actions were being taken to recover these grants.

Mr Heng said the Ministry of Education has been enhancing efforts to better track tuition grant recipients who have not started work after graduating or have not sought approval for deferment. “As work is in progress, the final figures are not currently available,” he said.

As for the remaining 20 per cent of international students, Mr Heng said they might not be in default. They could be seeking employment or could have gone overseas to further their studies, without seeking deferment approval or are in the midst of applying for deferment.

International students who benefited from tuition grants are required to work in a Singapore-based company for three years upon graduation. Those who do not fulfil their service obligations will have to pay liquidated damages. “Where liquidated damages cannot be recovered, their status as bond defaulters will be taken into consideration should they subsequently apply to work or reside in Singapore,” Mr Heng said.

Asked by Non-Constituency MP Yee Jenn Jong whether those who go overseas to further their studies are required to return to Singapore to complete their bond requirements, Mr Heng said they would have to do so. The length of deferment allowed would depend on the nature of the course.

Annunaki

Lanjiao lah...ask any ntu or nus student and they will tell you tons of foreign students sponsored by pap in their school.... For fuck sponsor so many then talk about tracking.

Now where's that loudmouth crusader against bond breakers? I remember he had spoken some nasty stuff against Sinkie bond breakers. :wink:

I0000VJbZCYpTCok.jpg

lee-hsien-loong-2010-7-9-15-34-52.jpg

Until now, you still donch know why I wanna give free scholarships + living allowance to my foreign pets and make sure you Stinkees be in debt for the rest of you life? No wonder Daddy call you Stinkees DAFT!

A Fooking disgusting govt doing fooking disgusting things.

MOE should send ah long runners overseas to spray O$P$, splash paint, smear faeces at the homes of these foreign defaulters!

da dick

unless they bann all china and taiwan and communist students from returning home while they're on bond, they will go back home n no one will catch them because we don't have extradition laws with commies and rougue states!

why the fuck r we even giving out money to people from rogue states, where our laws or interpol aren't respected? damn stupid.

chilakak

This is a moronic scheme in the first place. Those foreign students are sponsored by public funds but the "bond" simply requires them to work for any company in Singapore for 3 years after graduation. In what way does this benefit the Singapore public who funded their studies? Is this not a use of public funds to train these foreign students as cheaper labor for the private companies who do not want to pay a fair wage to Singaporean workers?

Poomer

Whichever minister who authorised this ought to be sacked. They literally gave free $$$ to foreigners without necessary safeguards, only realise people are skipping town after a couple years. Meanwhile, they are raising taxes.

The stupidity of a million dollar minister is unbelievable. I demand the entire cabinet step down, pending a COI.