• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Mobile broadband here 'too slow'

MarrickG

13952.jpg;jsessionid=4E2316A13A1BFAC15DECF004EF98E4E0

SINGAPOREANS have long complained about not getting advertised fixed-line broadband speeds.

And most of them also have issues with surfing the Internet when on the go too, a survey revealed yesterday.

About eight in 10 Singaporeans polled said that they face issues with the quality of their mobile-broadband experience on cellphones and notebooks.

Slow speeds were the main gripe, with nearly seven in 10 saying so. It was also the top reason for six in 10 to cancel their contracts or switch carriers.

Acision, a British mobile data-solutions provider, commissioned French research firm Toluna to do the survey. It polled 1,000 Singaporeans last month.

While Singapore's mobile broadband results were quite similar to those for Britain and the United States, Mr Arie Baak, director for product marketing at Acision, said the findings are surprising.

He said the mobile-broadband experience here is expected to be better than that in Britain or the US, because of factors such as the country's high investments in network infrastructure and the widespread availability of free Wi-Fi.

Mr Baak said Singapore's results could be due in part to the telcos drumming up hype on mobile broadband, leading to elevated expectations on the part of consumers.

But as more people subscribe to mobile broadband, network congestion rises, which leads to a complaints surge and, ultimately, customer dissatisfaction.

Singaporeans surveyed complained about video-streaming speeds while on their mobile devices, saying that videos tended to pause frequently. They also faced issues with having a stable Internet connection while accessing online content or services.

Mr Baak said telcos could be more upfront about mobilebroadband speeds, and be transparent about how they control speeds of bandwidth-hogging activities.

Nearly a third of consumers polled here would even pay for some kind of notification system, he said.

For example, consumers would welcome a notification system that would let them know if they were logging on to networks during a time when the network was slow.

An M1 spokesman said that "mobile-broadband speeds can be affected by a combination of factors, including device or equipment used, environmental and atmospheric conditions, and types of applications being run".

He added that the firm is "constantly looking at enhancing our network to ensure a good experience for our mobilebroadband customers".

A SingTel spokesman said the telco is "continually enhancing its mobile coverage, quality and broadband speeds, to meet the growing needs of our customers".

A StarHub spokesman said that with growing demand for mobile broadband, "it is important to ensure that the quality of experience is improved".

"That was one of the main reasons for our adoption of the world's first smartphone-signalling solution over our latest high-speed packet-access network.

This can improve mobile-broadband connectivity."

Announced in July, the new solution is being progressively rolled out on StarHub's network, and is expected to be fully implemented by the end of the month.

For more my paper stories click here.

Let me tell you, Bangkok's mobile EDGE is much faster than the little H connection in sinkieland. So disappointing...

I can do the same connection and function with Bangkok's EDGE and is faster and connection is quicker than sinkieland's H...

Windsor

Why must Singaporeans always be screwed by their own local enterprises? These companies in turn get screwed when they tried the same tactics in overseas ventures.

Whilst SIA had to pay US$48 million in fines for being part of a Price-Fixing Cartel, our local Telcos get away with murder. We pay the highest rate and get the worst internet connections. Every year we hear they earn profits in millions and last I heard SingTel's profits hit 1 billion. We are helpless as we have no other choice, but I feel cheated and downright pissed with the situation.

cooleo

Let me tell you, Bangkok's mobile EDGE is much faster than the little H connection in sinkieland. So disappointing...

I can do the same connection and function with Bangkok's EDGE and is faster and connection is quicker than sinkieland's H...

Why u need so fast? Surf porn showing ladyboys while pimping out ladies in the afternoon?

Char_Azn

I seriously don't understand why these jokers get mobile broadband when there are free Wifi spots at just about every freaking major shopping mall in SG

U freaking moronic idiot. U should Use your brains before commenting. Thailand's network isn't even up to 3G yet. EDGE in layman's term is a 2.5G technology. SG is now on 3.5G network, we migrated to 3G network about 10 yrs ago

And unlike Thailand, SG have FREE Wifi roaming hotspot at just about every major Shopping Mall U can think of

I seriously don't understand why these jokers get mobile broadband when there are free Wifi spots at just about every freaking major shopping mall in SG

U freaking moronic idiot. U should Use your brains before commenting. Thailand's network isn't even up to 3G yet. EDGE in layman's term is a 2.5G technology. SG is now on 3.5G network, we migrated to 3G network about 10 yrs ago

And unlike Thailand, SG have FREE Wifi roaming hotspot at just about every major Shopping Mall U can think of

Exactly.. You boast about your PAP 3.5G. and how come my experience tells me that Bangkok's EDGE is faster Than your pathetic SLOW 3.5G? WHy?????

kiss

tonychat,

Fuck back to thailand. Telco here dare not earn your $$$ :oIo::oIo:

Best in kpkb...!!! :p

Tonychat actually meant "faster" voice call to call his Ah Gua teeraks.

B

Benkei

Why did take it seriously from an asshole pimp loser who has never been in thailand at all? :biggrin:

tonychat_1.jpg

Loser here cannot argue back and now using smear tactics, lousy sinkie losers. Take your phone and compare lah. I am telling the truth. 3.5 G is just words, but performance speaks louder.

If Bangkok EDGE is faster than you so called 3.5G, there must be something wrong in the way you work. Or actually it is just 1.5G.. wahhahahah!!!

Loser here cannot argue back and now using smear tactics, lousy sinkie losers. Take your phone and compare lah. I am telling the truth. 3.5 G is just words, but performance speaks louder.

If Bangkok EDGE is faster than you so called 3.5G, there must be something wrong in the way you work. Or actually it is just 1.5G.. wahhahahah!!!

prove that edge is faster than hspa+. if you cunt provide the evidence, shut the fuck up or your claims are just bogus words.

Of course, when undesirable things reaches a sinkie's ear, they will try their best to deny it. Go and test it yourself.

I do alot of mobile internet surfing in bkk and sg. I can tell the difference.

I was travelling to pattaya by a fast moving van last week, i can still log on to check for hotel. in sinkieland, when mrt moves, u have slow connection and sometimes get cut off.

Of course, when undesirable things reaches a sinkie's ear, they will try their best to deny it. Go and test it yourself.

I do alot of mobile internet surfing in bkk and sg. I can tell the difference.

I was travelling to pattaya by a fast moving van last week, i can still log on to check for hotel. in sinkieland, when mrt moves, u have slow connection and sometimes get cut off.

do you want to be like another bitching tracy tan? keeps sidetracking when challenged to produce evidence and facts.

I am sharing what i experience as a user which is called user experience. You can check the dictionary for its definition if you do not know what it means.

Like i said try it yourself, if your sinkie ego do not believe what i say.

I am sharing what i experience as a user which is called user experience. You can check the dictionary for its definition if you do not know what it means.

Like i said try it yourself, if your sinkie ego do not believe what i say.

you need to measure speeds with tools, and produce charts for comparison. most laptops or netbooks or pads or even smartphones can be easily loaded with the software for free. produce charts between the two, and i will believe you. "user experience" is subjective and cannot be trusted.

WAhhahaha!!! When you cannot resist the ego trashing, you just bring up all your tools for show.

Mine is the user experience and that is what i experience and my impression of the sinkie connections. I do not need you to believe me and i didn't state that you need to believe me.

If you want prove, go and get prove yourself. I have travel in SG and bangkok frequent enough to do comparison. If you want answers and real stat comparison, i suggest you do it yourself and stop asking others to spoonfeed you.