• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

MM: No one in Temasek equal to Ho Ching's job

borom

The ST today (pg B17) reported about the 50 safest bank worldwide according to Global Finance magazine.

One would have thought it would be of public interest to make a comparison of Temasek's performance had it invested in these 50 banks (including Rabobank, BNP Paribas, Banco Santander, RBC ) instead of in Citi, Merrill, UBS ect2).

Instead the writer chose to pour scorn over some of the banks in the list.
Had Temasek invested mostly in these banks (on the list ) I bet it will be a front page news and a big pay rise for all in the _ _ _ family.

As in nobody is capable in losing $60B like throwing away 6 soiled tampons in a space of 8 months?

Frankiestine

As in nobody is capable in losing $60B like throwing away 6 soiled tampons in a space of 8 months?

6 soilded tampons?....with $60 bil worth of soiled tampons...it must be hell lot more of tampons she threw away and to put it bluntly, she probably bled non stop....:mad::mad::mad::mad:

Kuailan

No One in Tomasick equal to Ho Ching's job,
sure agreed, why? she can lose 50 billion or more no one can match,
why? if others lose just mere million you'll be sack!

That's why NO ONE can equal her, AGREED!! Sir!

Let's see if Mr. Goodyear can break the 60 billion record!

The_Latest_H

The ST today (pg B17) reported about the 50 safest bank worldwide according to Global Finance magazine.

One would have thought it would be of public interest to make a comparison of Temasek's performance had it invested in these 50 banks (including Rabobank, BNP Paribas, Banco Santander, RBC ) instead of in Citi, Merrill, UBS ect2).

Instead the writer chose to pour scorn over some of the banks in the list.
Had Temasek invested mostly in these banks (on the list ) I bet it will be a front page news and a big pay rise for all in the _ _ _ family.

As I said, they invested for political gain. If not why run after the biggest banks in the world, and not those whom are smaller, more stable and yet more profitable?

And when you "invest" because of politics, chances of one being blinded to all else is pretty high. But if one is trained to be an accountant or as an economist, looking from the dollar point of view or from the percentages point of view, if an asset is losing money in the short and long run, its simply not a good one in the first place. By then you have to cut short your losses and run.

It also has to be noted that when an asset is bought because of politics and not because of business reasons, accountants AND economists who are neutral, will understand that it may not be a wise decision. After all business reasons should be the primary concern, not politics.

Still having said all of this, I don't blame the ST reporter for writing the reasons to defend this government. That was what he was hired for anyway- to do the dirty talking on behalf of a dishonest government. I don't blame him- I blame the system for encouraging such misleading articles in the first place. When one covers up the truth, and insist that the people they employ to do the same, then its the system they foster, and they themselves is to be blamed.

Big Brother

March 5, 2009
Why Ho Ching quit

'It's got nothing to do with bad investments because when you go in aggressively into the market you must take the knocks when the knocks come.'

I am a novice investor. The very first beginner investment book (titled "Investment for Idiots") that I read says that every investor must have a target point to take profit and also an exit strategy (for cutting losses). All the investment seminars that I attended says the same thing.

Wonder whether the GIC and Temasek have such strategies. Or is it just buy and keep for the longer term, regardless of market conditions???

Leegimeremover

LKY is just a boring liar with no ability given a golden goose and protection from his masters who are now bankrupt. No surveillance nor pressure tactics will change reality.

snrcitizen

March 5, 2009
Why Ho Ching quit

'She thinks it was time,' he said.

'It's got nothing to do with bad investments because when you go in aggressively into the market you must take the knocks when the knocks come.'

Give me $200 billion free, I oso can pray pray and take all the knocks. If lose money it's not mine anyway why should I care? There is no accountability anyway. If I win then I become national hero.

The old fart is doing a cover-his-ass with senile statements. First, he says the investments are long term, 10, 20 to 30 years. Sure rise one. Then he says maybe Temasek and GIC bought too early. Now he says taking knocks is nothing.

Read between the lines and you know he has just woken up from his "golden period" dream and realised what every ah kow and ah ter knew for some time about the impending financial meltdown. He and his A-team did not even have an inkling so they are the real dumb people to begin with.

darememore

March 5, 2009
Why Ho Ching quit

SINGAPORE'S Cabinet gave in-principle approval for Temasek Holdings chief executive officer Ho Ching to step down last month, Minister Mentor Lee Kuan Yew said on Wednesday.

This followed a Cabinet paper tabled by the Ministry of Finance, Temasek's parent. The paper laid out Ms Ho's reasons for retiring, MM Lee said at the Thomson Reuters Newsmaker Event.

'It's got nothing to do with bad investments because when you go in aggressively into the market you must take the knocks when the knocks c

Temasek said in a surprise announcement last month that Ms Ho, who joined Temasek's board in 2002 and became chief executive in 2004, would step down on Oct 1.

As to why the reins were handed over to an expatriate - American Charles Goodyear, former chief executive of BHP Billiton - MM Lee said 'there was nobody inside Temasek equal to the job'.

Mr Goodyear has 'a proven record, and we feel he was a better man than what we had within the system', he said.

He was also 'somebody exposed to world markets', and Temasek's investments 'covered the world', noted Mr Lee.

Whether the new appointment marks a change in Temasek's strategy will depend on how the financial sector evolves, something no one can predict, he added.

In response to a question on whether the timing of Ms Ho's retirement was wise given the uncertain economic conditions, MM Lee said that was for Temasek's board to decide.

'Temasek goes in for higher rewards and higher risks,' he said. 'They lead a very dynamic team to keep nimble and move with the market, move faster than the market.'

What was Ho Ching working as before entering Temasick?

kingrant

March 5, 2009
Why Ho Ching quit

SINGAPORE'S Cabinet gave in-principle approval for Temasek Holdings chief executive officer Ho Ching to step down last month, Minister Mentor Lee Kuan Yew said on Wednesday.

This followed a Cabinet paper tabled by the Ministry of Finance, Temasek's parent. The paper laid out Ms Ho's reasons for retiring, MM Lee said at the Thomson Reuters Newsmaker Event.

Temasek said in a surprise announcement last month that Ms Ho, who joined Temasek's board in 2002 and became chief executive in 2004, would step down on Oct 1.

As to why the reins were handed over to an expatriate - American Charles Goodyear, former chief executive of BHP Billiton - MM Lee said 'there was nobody inside Temasek equal to the job'.

Mr Goodyear has 'a proven record, and we feel he was a better man than what we had within the system', he said.

He was also 'somebody exposed to world markets', and Temasek's investments 'covered the world', noted Mr Lee.

Whether the new appointment marks a change in Temasek's strategy will depend on how the financial sector evolves, something no one can predict, he added.

In response to a question on whether the timing of Ms Ho's retirement was wise given the uncertain economic conditions, MM Lee said that was for Temasek's board to decide.

'Temasek goes in for higher rewards and higher risks,' he said. 'They lead a very dynamic team to keep nimble and move with the market, move faster than the market.'

Exactly as the old fart fessed: even HC did not equal the job, that's why she was sacked!

Read between lines lor!

myo539

LKY proved his wisdom when he insisted that Singapore creates a huge reserve for the future. People keep on KPKB why need to save so much - why can't spend on this and on that?

He is finally proven right. Without our huge reserves, the Singapore dollars would have plunged - may be become on par with Malaysian ringgit or like the Indon rupiah.

Do you think so many people could still throng the NATAs fair if not for the wisdom of LKY for making the Singdollar strong? And being able to plow billions of dollars into the Singapore economy to help Sporeans?

We need more leaders like LKY - luckily we have in his sons, daughter-in-law - and may be in the future grand children to take over.

The_Latest_H

LKY proved his wisdom when he insisted that Singapore creates a huge reserve for the future. People keep on KPKB why need to save so much - why can't spend on this and on that?

He is finally proven right. Without our huge reserves, the Singapore dollars would have plunged - may be become on par with Malaysian ringgit or like the Indon rupiah.

Do you think so many people could still throng the NATAs fair if not for the wisdom of LKY for making the Singdollar strong? And being able to plow billions of dollars into the Singapore economy to help Sporeans?

We need more leaders like LKY - luckily we have in his sons, daughter-in-law - and may be in the future grand children to take over.

You can't claim Singapore to be strong in their economical fundamentals, and immune to the trends in the West because of India and China, only to see Singapore be the first Asian country to fall into recession straight away, and worse still at levels of -12% in the 4Q, following the 3Q negative growth. When it did, it did show our economy to be very weak and be exposed to the export bubble coming from bubble demand in consumer goods and services in the US.

All this were done by Lee Kuan Yew, and the bubble crash cannot be blamed as much on anyone else, beyond his and this government's policies.

just like when they roped in his daughter-in-law, no other talent in singapore and proven track records.

The only talent and proven track record of Hole Jinx is your pinkie son has done her in and gave you 2 grandsons thats all..... remember that Old Fart

Come on lah, gay Loong is a bapok, and Hole Jinx looks like a horses arse. It was artificial insemination all the way. Gay Loong watch gay porno and ta fay kay into a plastic cup, and one of the nurses used a horse needle, sucked up the sperm and injected her hairy cheebye.

Gay Loong watch gay porno and ta fay kay into a plastic cup, and one of the nurses used a horse needle, sucked up the sperm and injected her hairy cheebye.

Don't know lah. Maybe LKY wanted to make sure it was done right & so he got personally involved :p

eQuipment

nobody inside term-ah-sick, equal to jinx? of cos!!! nobody in the history of term-ah-sick has lost more $ than jinx