• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

MM Lee was describing "worst-case scenario": Dr Yaacob

Thick Face Black Heart

WORST CASE SCENARIO!?!?!?

Of all the wishy washy excuses for LKY's outburst, this must be very worst. Worst case scenario indeed!

It ranks at the very bottom of intellectual dishonesty.

TFBH

MM Lee was describing "worst-case scenario": Dr Yaacob

http://www.channelnewsasia.com/stories/singaporelocalnews/view/1107702/1/.html

SINGAPORE: The Minister-in-Charge of Muslim Affairs said Minister Mentor Lee Kuan Yew was describing a "worst-case scenario" when he recently spoke about the Malay Muslim community.

Dr Yaacob Ibrahim, who was at a cheque presentation ceremony at Yayasan Mendaki, was responding to media queries regarding Mr Lee's comments in his latest book, titled "Hard Truths To Keep Singapore Going".

Mr Lee had said that multi-racialism in Singapore was "progressing very nicely until the surge of Islam came".

Dr Yaacob said the rise in religiosity in almost all faith communities has been described as a reaction to modernisation and noted that Mr Lee believed these reactions can be divisive and saw it as his responsibility to warn Singaporeans about the possible risks in society.

Dr Yaacob added that Singapore is a secular country that respects and protects the rights of Muslims to practise their own religion, and this is fundamental to Singapore's identity.

"Many Muslims and non-Muslims in Singapore have commented on MM's remarks about Muslims...They have told me, and told us, that the scenario painted by MM is not the reality that they face in the day-to-day lives that they experience here in Singapore.

"To me, that is a very good sign. I would be personally very worried if Singaporeans agree with the scenario that MM has painted, because it means that for us to be a committed Muslim or of any other faith, is incompatible with being a loyal citizen."

Dr Yaacob urged Muslims to take Mr Lee's comments in perspective.

"Let's look at this rationally, read the book and understand where he's coming from. And don't just read one book, see MM in his whole lifespan and the struggles he has gone through.

"At the end of the day, he has a certain perspective. That perspective may not be accurate now, maybe 40 years ago. So that's where I disagree with him, as I mentioned, in the book. That the reality on the ground is people are working together side by side."

Dr Yaacob declined to speculate on the impact the issue might have during the general election, but said: "At the end of the day, as far as the government policy is concerned, we want to integrate everybody, irrespective of your race and religion...so let's put this in perspective."

-CNA/ac

Yaacob is a disgrace. Look at his "end of the day" contributions. He thinks that 40 years ago we were less integrated. This guy is smoking his socks.

1) "At the end of the day, he has a certain perspective. That perspective may not be accurate now, maybe 40 years ago. So that's where I disagree with him, as I mentioned, in the book. That the reality on the ground is people are working together side by side."

2) "At the end of the day, as far as the government policy is concerned, we want to integrate everybody, irrespective of your race and religion...so let's put this in perspective."

ah yaacob shud b rite! ...

iz a 1 in 50 yrs scenario ... :o

... Dr Yaacob urged Muslims to take Mr Lee's comments in perspective.

"Let's look at this rationally, read the book and understand where he's coming from. And don't just read one book, see MM in his whole lifespan and the struggles he has gone through ...
walan eh! ...

read 1 book ... but muz noe his whole lifespan b4hand! ... tok wat cok? ... :rolleyes:

u muz noe a person's whole lifespan 1st b4 u can understand his book? ... who noes ze burger's whole lifespan? ... y ze burger din put his whole lifespan in his book? ... :oIo:

read 1 book ... but muz noe his whole lifespan b4hand! ... tok wat cok? ... :rolleyes:

u muz noe a person's whole lifespan 1st b4 u can understand his book? ... who noes ze burger's whole lifespan? ... y ze burger din put his whole lifespan in his book? ... :oIo:

Yacoob is being a real goon.

When the headman has said something very disturbing, the best thing one can do is NOT to compound the original error.

Yacoob is adding salt to the wound and fuel to the fire.

Its rather amusing to see Ah Beng make a big deal out of LKY's comments directed as Malay/Muslim. AMP set the record straight and decided to let the matter rest. Yaba decided to play the matter down. Was he supposed to direct the MUFTI to issue a fatwa instead?

Ironically, some of the comments posted online have been far worse and downright degrading and insulting to the malay/muslim compared to LKY's. Such is the hipocracy displayed by Ah Beng.

-

The Minister-in-Charge of Muslim Affairs, Dr Yaacob Ibrahim, is a real fucker,he has no soul and yet he proclaimed GOD is great everyday.

He deserves what he deserves.

Yaacob is a disgrace. Look at his "end of the day" contributions. He thinks that 40 years ago we were less integrated. This guy is smoking his socks.

1) "At the end of the day, he has a certain perspective. That perspective may not be accurate now, maybe 40 years ago. So that's where I disagree with him, as I mentioned, in the book. That the reality on the ground is people are working together side by side."

2) "At the end of the day, as far as the government policy is concerned, we want to integrate everybody, irrespective of your race and religion...so let's put this in perspective."

After Shan's disgrace in explaining the failure to detect MSK at Tampines and the reason given for not revealing whether surveillance was conducted, now it is Yaacob's turn to explain MM's comments.

One Indian minister, one Malay minister. If another crisis involving the Chinese community, wonder who will step forward to be 'spokesperson'.

there's really no need to add anything more....let it go and the whole saga will just burn out...and we are back to stark realities of carving a living in a volatile and vulnerable niche...count your blessings..

tunisia and egypt are burning....yemen soon...jordan....the middle east...soon europe...and then the world....the whole world is burning......

go and queue for your famous lcg bakkwa and live the life you want to live!!!! why bother about all these remarks....and created such a big mountain out of nothing...and bury all the bread and butter issues.....kanna red herring liao lah!!!!

MM Lee just speak the truth and confronts it head on. No need to pretend such does not exist.
Politicians and leaders must not stick their heads in the sand and pretend this issue will go away and exist at all.
There can be no close interaction among races/groups, if a certain group choose to be distinct and special in the name of certain practice.
Practice that exist seveal hundreds years ago should adjusted and some be discarded.....

I hate it when people ask you to look at things in perspective. It is some kind of escape clause, some hackneyed way of exculpating oneself from a mess. It really means that if you don't agree/accept the pov, then it is a question of differing perspective. It is rather condescending. It is also meaningless if you dissect Yaacob's "let's look at it in perspective" argument. What perspective? What he really wants to say is, we actually have these problems, but the Old fucker just shot his mouth off again, we are pissed, but he is abang and we are upset but abang means abang lah, until he kicks lah; meanwhile, we have to clean up his shit (again), but because he is still a powerful bully, we have to accept it lah. Also we dare not tell him he was the culprit who has caused this rift in the first place lah.

The father threw a banana skin for the son to step and fall ..now they tried and get the once in 50 years minister to explain off...it should be interesting to see the development on this issue considering this will be election year and how the muslim community will react to this..

Worst case senario now is LKY dies .

And the new generation too stupid not to see many things .

FTs come in to bring down the economy and rape our arse .