Minister late for press conference!

976700_531532166902796_884605416_o.png

LAW Minister K. Shanmugam was heading back to his office in a car after a morning meeting, when he came across an accident at Robinson Road near the AIA Tower. A woman, who was crossing the four-lane road, had been hit by a motorcycle and was lying on the ground. "I didn't see (the woman) being hit but there was someone gesticulating. The accident had happened a few seconds earlier," Mr Shanmugam said.

After his car was parked to prevent traffic from running over the victim, Mr Shanmugam, who is also Foreign Affairs Minister, and his security officer got out with a first-aid kit to help the woman. By then, at least five other people were also trying to help and had called emergency services.

Mr Shanmugam said the woman was.writhing in pain and they found it difficult to bandage her head, which was bleeding profusely. After making sure she did not have a neck injury, they moved the woman, believed to be in her 20s, onto a wheelchair, which someone provided. The New Paper understands that she did not have any identification on her. She was taken to AIA Towers, where several people waited with her till the ambulance arrived. Eyewitnesses said Mr Shanmugam was among those who carried the woman from the road.

A woman who works in a nearby building said the minister's light-coloured shirt was stained with blood. "I did not see the accident but we all heard it. There was a bit of a commotion," said the woman, who can't be named because she is not authorised to speak to the media. When asked about the shirt, Mr Shanmugam laughed and said: "I've changed it." He declined TNP's request to take a picture of the bloodied shirt and stressed that he wasn't the only per-son helping the woman. TNP understands that CCTV footage from a nearby building shows the woman crossing the road from the side of ASO building, where there is a bus stop. The cars were bumper to bumper and when she reached the fourth lane, which was clear of traffic, she suddenly made a dash for the kerb. That was when a passing motorcyclist brushed past her, causing her to fall and hurt her head.

When TNP arrived at the scene, a pool of blood was visible on the road and the area was cordoned off by traffic cones. The motorcyclist, Mr Nasir Matunus, 58, who works for a transport company, was waiting for the police to arrive. He was visibly shaken and his hands were trembling as he told TNP he was travelling at normal speed when the accident happened. He said: "I've been riding a bike for more than 40 years, this is the first time I've got into an accident like that," he said.

A police spokesman said they received a call at around 10.10am about an accident involving a motorcycle and a female pedestrian on Robinson Road towards Collyer Quay. He said the woman was taken conscious to hospital and they are investigating the matter.

REPORT: ELIZABETH LAW [email protected]
THE NEW PAPER • Thursday. July 25 2013 3

The traffic crossing is just slightly more than 50m away a the junction, from where this woman crossed. I work around there for years & have seen a number of YOUNG WOMAN, getting knock down there. so far, no one has died. Though at times the road is clear, there are cars turning out from Telegraph street & motor cyclist you have to keep an eye for. The traffic build up is rather fast too. I would always use the traffic light crossing, if I am going to AIA Building ( now known as tower), from the opposite side. There used to be, traffic police enforcement over the years, writing summons for jay walking...this does not help. The law minister should charge her for jay walking & wasting his time, this one, definitely self inflicted!!

Datok, lu ada kasi CPR ?:confused:

Is a kind gesture from the Minister... Be it the fault of the victim or the motorist it got nothing to do with him... All this will leave it to the traffic and the court to decide...

Shanmmugam: Inevitably, people will succumb to temptation (to jaywalk), can happen anywhere....

See. His one motherhood statement used for the CPIB case and be use for so many situations.

There are many other thread that you can Fuk on this CPIB case... This tread is about the accident above... If not we are going to make every thread here a fuking thread!!!:D

i like to applaud the minister for quick thinking and action. it's a good sign that ministers are in the trenches lending a hand. they would need to be at the forefront of the action more often now that they can't fully rely on the spf to show up in time. :D :rolleyes:

But at the rate that we paying him, he should not this during office hour.

He is not a doctor and nursing is a low skill worker job. Unless he is so elquent with his years of being a lawyer that he can talk a dying person until the person can start running (I think only Kong Hee can do this), he has no purpose there for this case.

only ministers got first-aid kit in car

After his car was parked to prevent traffic from running over the victim, Mr Shanmugam, who is also Foreign Affairs Minister, and his security officer got out with a first-aid kit to help the woman. By then, at least five other people were also trying to help and had called emergency services.

His other 80 white scum pappy colleagues curse shamu for his dog shit luck for such a photo op.
Dumbfuck 60.1% sinkies would be conned by such wayang as usual.

... he has no purpose there for this case.

He has! His purpose in being there is to boost his standing in the Court of Public Opinion!

Reminds me of Chen Shui Bian and that orchestrated assassination attempt.

Opportunistic or orchestrated or a bit of both, let the People judge!

LKY is the best. I remember reading that he was overseas when LHL was found to have cancer. When told of the news, he did not come back immediately. His reason is because he is no doctor and there is nothing he can do.

He is money well spent.

He has! His purpose in being there is to boost his standing in the Court of Public Opinion!

Reminds me of Chen Shui Bian and that orchestrated assassination attempt.

Opportunistic or orchestrated or a bit of both, let the People judge!

LKY is the best. I remember reading that he was overseas when LHL was found to have cancer. When told of the news, he did not come back immediately. His reason is because he is no doctor and there is nothing he can do.

He is money well spent.

Never heard of that, but I heard of a bigger story of a JUMBO AEROPLANE that was summoned to bring a very important woman from London back to Sinkieland where the preferred doctors are. :rolleyes:

Minister late for press conference

That's not a kind comment. Recognize that the minister did a good deed by helping out the unfortunate! Rather that he is late than to ignore the victim..

He is not a doctor and nursing is a low skill worker job. Unless he is so elquent with his years of being a lawyer that he can talk a dying person until the person can start running (I think only Kong Hee can do this), he has no purpose there for this case.

He was probably cruising the roads waiting for something like this to happen. That do-gooder!!!

Well, as long as it is not paid by taxpayers. I have no issue.

Never heard of that, but I heard of a bigger story of a JUMBO AEROPLANE that was summoned to bring a very important woman from London back to Sinkieland where the preferred doctors are. :rolleyes:

But I do believe if he is spotted not helping in this accident when he is at the scene... I believe you will not said he is making a right decision for what he is paid...

We should help people who injured be it you are rich or poor, big shot or normal Singaporean...

Then dun pay him that much lah, you got a say on that?

tell me frankly, do you have a say on that???

Well, as long as it is not paid by taxpayers. I have no issue.

It’s not just about the money you TWIT
Abuse of power is an even bigger issue
Besides, if the public did not make noise
Would he have donated the cost to “charity”

This SIA, it is a publicly listed company
Right thing to do is to pay the cost to SIA
Not just outlays but opportunity cost as well
Profits lost from not having the plane
At it’s disposal for profit making flights
Adds up to far more than $ to buy jet fuel

Besides, did anybody do an audit of the figures?