• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Midget size Singapore joining Pacific Submarine Arms Race

I do not understand the huge amounts we spend on the military. We are listed as number 22, ahead of Iran, Iraq, Pakistan

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_countries_by_military_expenditures

Just need for our neighbors to rattle their sables and all out rich will dump their Marina Bay Condo and leave (who knows local banks might be left holding the bag).

Perhaps this is all new US world order. To join the US club, 1) must buy US weapons (good for business) 2) must pay for training and train with US 3) will be given a role on the US military posture.

US can no longer afford to fight wars overseas. So they can move in 2 carrier groups and Austrialia, Singapore, Phillipines kick in the rest of the pieces as well as the logistic costs.

It costs a lot to win a war. Some say you need a 3 or 4 to 1 advantage ratio. But then you see Iraq and Afghanistan where US likley spend $50 for every $1 spent by enemy. China can throw in $300B which means US needs 1 T just to mantain that advantage

I do not know the reason either, other than to say that traditionally, the weapons business is the most corrupt in the world. full of kickbacks and bribes. I have not met one SAF high rank that can explain what our military defence strategy is such that we have to buy all these weapons. And one of my relative is an ex-CIO. All u hear is bullshit out of his mouth, he was getting good pay and benefits, so he is not interested in questioning what is the real reason for all these weapons. quite scary when u think of it.

So what should we do? Since we r small, we should only buy pleasurecraft n let the malaysians and Indons drive a submarine up the singapore river?

Well, lets examine your statement. Every military action has a military objective. So, your military action of driving a sub up the singapore river is to achieve what objective? tar pow food from the restaurants along the river? Sightseeing with out a passport? U have to navigate a sub through all those hundreds of ships anchored offshore, not to mention underwater obtstacles like the marina barrage, than sail it up the river and hope u don't beach it during low tide, and than what? Fire torpedos at the quay? Unload 30 commandoes in plain sight so they can take a taxi to the istana to shoot gay Loong? Risk a multimillion dollar submarine and its crew to do all this? Now, do u know how stupid u are when u make such statements?

Well, lets examine your statement. Every military action has a military objective. So, your military action of driving a sub up the singapore river is to achieve what action? tar pow food from the restaurants along the river? Sightseeing with out a passport? U have to navigate a sub through all those hundreds of ships anchored offshore, not to mention underwater obtstacles like the marina barrage, than sail it up the river and hope u don't beach it during low tide, and than what? Fire torpedos at the quay? Unload 30 commandoes in plain sight so they can take a taxi to the istana to shoot gay Loong? Risk a multimillion dollar submarine and its crew to do all this? Now, do u know how stupid u are when u make such statements?

LOL.. Excuse his stupidity.. He thinks navigating a submarine through the S'pore River is easy as rowing a kayak..

Must be. I guess NS training still could not instil any military sense in him. truly an asshole. PAP must be scrapping the barrel to hire turds like him for their IB

AhNeh

Eh PApsmear, you buay song i come find you now. Tell me where . I come.

GoldenPeriod

I do not understand the huge amounts we spend on the military. We are listed as number 22, ahead of Iran, Iraq, Pakistan

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_countries_by_military_expenditures

Just need for our neighbors to rattle their sables and all out rich will dump their Marina Bay Condo and leave (who knows local banks might be left holding the bag).

Perhaps this is all new US world order. To join the US club, 1) must buy US weapons (good for business) 2) must pay for training and train with US 3) will be given a role on the US military posture.

US can no longer afford to fight wars overseas. So they can move in 2 carrier groups and Austrialia, Singapore, Phillipines kick in the rest of the pieces as well as the logistic costs.

It costs a lot to win a war. Some say you need a 3 or 4 to 1 advantage ratio. But then you see Iraq and Afghanistan where US likley spend $50 for every $1 spent by enemy. China can throw in $300B which means US needs 1 T just to mantain that advantage

Wah liew. Singapore's military expenditure is almost same as taiwan, which faces a serious threat to it's survival and higher than Pakistan who is fighting a real war, not to mention various conflicts with India.

yellowarse

Wah liew. Singapore's military expenditure is almost same as taiwan, which faces a serious threat to it's survival and higher than Pakistan who is fighting a real war, not to mention various conflicts with India.

Not quite right. For meaningful comparisons, you have to look at military expenditure as a % of GDP.

Singapore's military expenditure as % of GDP is the second highest in the developed world, after Israel.

http://www.indexmundi.com/g/r.aspx?v=132
RankCountryMilitary expenditures - percent of GDP
1Oman11.4
g.gif
2Qatar10
g.gif
3Saudi Arabia10
g.gif
4Iraq8.6
g.gif
5Jordan8.6
g.gif
6Israel7.3
g.gif
7Yemen6.6
g.gif
8Eritrea6.3
g.gif
9Macedonia6
g.gif
10Syria5.9
g.gif
11Burundi5.9
g.gif
12Maldives5.5
g.gif
13Mauritania5.5
g.gif
14Kuwait5.3
g.gif
15Turkey5.3
g.gif
16Morocco5
g.gif
17Singapore4.9
g.gif
18Swaziland4.7
g.gif
19Brunei4.5
g.gif
20Bahrain4.5
g.gif
21China4.3
g.gif
22Greece4.3
g.gif
23United States4.06
g.gif
24Russia3.9
g.gif
25Libya3.9
g.gif
26Cuba3.8
g.gif
27Djibouti3.8
g.gif
28Zimbabwe3.8
g.gif
29Namibia3.7
g.gif
30Angola3.6
g.gif
31Uzbekistan3.5
g.gif
32Turkmenistan3.4
g.gif
33Egypt3.4
g.gif
34Colombia3.4
g.gif
35Algeria3.3
g.gif
36Botswana3.3
g.gif
37Lebanon3.1
g.gif
38United Arab Emirates3.1
g.gif
39Guinea-Bissau3.1
g.gif
40Pakistan3
g.gif
41Sudan3
g.gif
42Indonesia3
g.gif
43Australia3
g.gif
44Cambodia3
g.gif
45Solomon Islands3
g.gif
46Rwanda2.9
g.gif
47Kenya2.8
g.gif
48Armenia2.8
g.gif
49Comoros2.8
g.gif
50Taiwan

<tbody>
</tbody>

So what should we do? Since we r small, we should only buy pleasurecraft n let the malaysians and Indons drive a submarine up the singapore river?

ha our government very smart, dammed up Singapore River liao...no way foreign subs can enter ...LOL

kukubird58

Well, lets examine your statement. Every military action has a military objective. So, your military action of driving a sub up the singapore river is to achieve what objective? tar pow food from the restaurants along the river? Sightseeing with out a passport? U have to navigate a sub through all those hundreds of ships anchored offshore, not to mention underwater obtstacles like the marina barrage, than sail it up the river and hope u don't beach it during low tide, and than what? Fire torpedos at the quay? Unload 30 commandoes in plain sight so they can take a taxi to the istana to shoot gay Loong? Risk a multimillion dollar submarine and its crew to do all this? Now, do u know how stupid u are when u make such statements?
hahaha....u are a real empty vessel....
u don't know how to look at things in perspective and only good at papsmearing...
when someone says driving a sub up the singapore river, u really think he means that???
truely a retard....

Semaj2357

u don't know how to look at things in perspective and only good at papsmearing...
when someone says driving a sub up the singapore river, u really think he means that???
truely a retard....

owwwwwch...but can also be that he said that in jest :confused:

truely a retard....

This is how you spell "truly". Who's the retard?

coldwater

Don't be silly.

Some say Sinkies shud just bendover and take it if FTs, china, m'sia, indon send warships up the Singapore River cos we shud only have pleasurecraft.

The Singapore River is a metaphor for your colon in case u don't get it.

You must be the Jolovan Wham of the SAF.