• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

MDA made fools of by SINGTEL over EPL - LPPL

Soccer fans are up in arms again over their access to football matches on Singapore's pay television channels.

As SingTel has once again clinched a three-year deal with the Football Association Premier League (FAPL), SingTel mio subscribers are rejoicing, while StarHub consumers are left wondering once again if they should switch or suffer an additional TV subscription to watch the matches.

In the meantime, many football fans are asking - didn't the Media Development Authority's (MDA) August 2011 cross-carriage rules dictate that content should be available across all pay TV providers?

Not quite. In a nifty manoeuvre, SingTel managed to clinch a non-exclusive deal with the FAPL - meaning that the content falls outside of the cross-carriage rules. Only exclusive content is subject to the MDA cross-carriage guidelines, part of the Media Market Conduct Code.

SingTel has effectively sidestepped the cross-carriage issue with a non-exclusive deal, and what consumers are waiting for is to see if StarHub signs a deal with the FAPL, and how much it will cost compared to SingTel mio TV.

This one-upmanship is not healthy for the industry, and the resultant offering war will mean duplicate content being offered by both providers, and ultimately costs being passed on to consumers.

WHAT DOES CROSS-CARRIAGE DO?

- http://www.todayonline.com/Commenta...-0000013/Back-to-square-one-on-cross-carriage

The problem now is, many cable channels are exclusive to cable operators. I just don't understand why this has to be so.
I bet you subscriptions will fall by half if such restrictions don't exist.

The problem now is, many cable channels are exclusive to cable operators. I just don't understand why this has to be so.

Who does ST,SH belong to ???, left/right pocket all back to same pocket.

Another fucking retard talking without using his head. Starhub shareholders includes Qtel and NTT Communications Corp. U mean to tell me Singapore government controls the Japanese and Qatari networks as well?

Again SingTel is doing things in very bad faith. When will such nonsense end ?? They just keep pushing their luck. There is limit to our tolerance in accepting such costs.

TS why singtel subscribers will rejoice? I still have to paying $$$ for my soccer fix...

Again SingTel is doing things in very bad faith. When will such nonsense end ?? They just keep pushing their luck. There is limit to our tolerance in accepting such costs.
Sinkies got balls to protest? Sinkies dun even got the balls to boycott.......
But i suspect this is just a small minority who feels the pinch and kpkb......the majority machiam the 60.1% still find it 'affordable'....so will continue to be chop carrot.......

WHY IS THERE A NEED FOR 2 PROVIDERS?
We have 1 PAP, 2 MRT, 2 Bus Operators, 2 cable tv..

It should be 2 party system in parliament and the rest can be 1!

how else can the PAP make money from its own citizens?

Save your money and watch football matches online.

Can't believe people still give money to Sinktel.