Maxwell Hawker Centre

Its been ages since I visited Maxwell Hawker Centre, so i went there yesterday morning. Having worked for 5 years at Chinatown, I'm quite familiar with the stalls at the hawker centre, some still there, while others gone, it has not change much, but the food quality seems to be falling and the prices are going up, damn sad about it.

I just took some pictures of the stalls that I always visited and share with you guys, if you happens to be there, try some of them :). Sorry ahh some stalls still close cox I went too early, hahaha...

You can share your experiences here too.....

IMG_2500.jpg

This is probably the no.1 stall in Maxwell that you have to eat, traditional Hainanese curry rice, its even better than the scissors curry rice at kitchener. Fried pork cutlet, lor bak, fried fish, prawn fritters, varieties of veges, topped with curry gravy, yum yum
Rating: 5/5

IMG_2508.jpg

Owner is a Teochew who cooked chr char kind of food, got the wok smell in every of their dishes, order a fried beehoon dried 1, you will have octopus tentacles, pork lean meat, prawn, pork liver, lala mixed in it. Their canned pork leg fried beehoon also very nice. Only open in the evening.

IMG_2496.jpg

Zhen Zhen porridge is one of the famous stall in Maxwell, you cant miss it, there will always be a queue, longer than Tian Tian. They serves the best raw fish in Maxwell and their porridge is quite nice

IMG_2504.jpg

Famous for their ondeh ondeh, this stalls only open at most for 3-4 hours, I bought their tapioca cakes, forgot to take the signage.....

IMG_2502.jpg

The famous Hum jim Peng stall, you have to fried it yourself, the last time I went it sells for 15 cents, now not sure...

IMG_2497.jpg

One of the famous stall, its sell sweet potato ball with fillings like peanut, coconut flakes, tou sar. Need to queue
Rating: 4/5

IMG_2494.jpg

The famous Tian Tian Chicken rice, I ate it yesterday, not as nice as before.... reason? the chilli is too hot, overpowers the whole taste of the dish.

IMG_2507.jpg

Fruit stall serves many varieties of juices, this is the 1st stall i will visit if I go to maxwell, their papaya milkshake, though nothing special, but it suits my taste. Can try apple juice with suan mei also

IMG_2499.jpg

This stall sells traditional Teochew porridge, i always order the fishcakes, preserved chai sim, and lor bak

IMG_2501.jpg

This stalls sells Teochew Porridge, not the condensed milk kind, a bit too bland for me, but dunno why so many people buying it. The lady boss is a milf, should be pretty in her younger days, now a bit old...
Rating: 3.5/5

IMG_2505.jpg

This stalls sells Fish Beehoon soup, the condensed milk kind, always have queue, I dun find it any special
Rating: 3.5/5

IMG_2498.jpg

This peanut soup stalls serves red bean soup also, not to sweet, just nice
Rating: 3/5

IMG_2513.jpg

Famous ngo hiong stall serves with fried beehoon, you can have a set or you choose yourself, there are two stalls there, not sure which 1 is better. But its too porky for me...
Rating: 3/5

IMG_2493.jpg

Is this the stall from ex Tian Tian's chef?
Rating: Unknown

Boss, you really good life leh. Wed go foot massage, thurs go Batam. Friday spend halfway to shoot photo and try food. Me everyday 7am wake up, 7pm reach home, 9-6 have to worry company got sales or not....

Alamaking.....you go around take photo the stalls....the suspect u as plain clothes NEA bo?
Is the claypot rice still there? Or the dimsum stall.

Alamaking.....you go around take photo the stalls....the suspect u as plain clothes NEA bo?
Is the claypot rice still there? Or the dimsum stall.
Dun remember got claypot stall there leh, dim sum He bao Ji still there. The famous HK wantan mee stall gone, miss their chicken feet mee and beef brisket mee.... wah lau eh....

Ho Kee Pao lah, not He Bao Ji :D

Boss, you really good life leh. Wed go foot massage, thurs go Batam. Friday spend halfway to shoot photo and try food. Me everyday 7am wake up, 7pm reach home, 9-6 have to worry company got sales or not....
ermm, i have a morning meeting there, after meeting go there eat lunch lor....

So there are Heng Heng and Tian Tian Hainanese chicken rice in Maxwell Hawker Centre?

Ya they got another branch in geylang lor 27.

The coffee shop beside this lorong 27 Ho Kee pao has a stall that sells western food and jap food. The food is not bad, the price is reasonable and I think it is a very good business model. Nice, clean, variety and affordability.

Auntie don't like you take photo leh!!

Or your presence gives her the creeps?? :)

IMG_2504.jpg

Why no the beef hor fun stall :confused:

always not enough parking lots there during lunchtime. must be like you, go there very early, sure have lots!

Nowadays damn fucking expensive... blame the money-sucking government for high land and rental costs that is passed on to consumers

This is probably the no.1 stall in Maxwell that you have to eat, traditional Hainanese curry rice, its even better than the scissors curry rice at kitchener. Fried pork cutlet, lor bak, fried fish, prawn fritters, varieties of veges, topped with curry gravy, yum yum

Their fried fish in assam sauce is very good.

IMG_2508.jpg

Owner is a Teochew who cooked chr char kind of food, got the wok smell in every of their dishes, order a fried beehoon dried 1, you will have octopus tentacles, pork lean meat, prawn, pork liver, lala mixed in it. Their canned pork leg fried beehoon also very nice. Only open in the evening.

The signboard says "Hokkien" leh?

The famous Tian Tian Chicken rice, I ate it yesterday, not as nice as before.... reason? the chilli is too hot, overpowers the whole taste of the dish.

Over hype. Katong Shopping Centre one is much better.

This stall sells traditional Teochew porridge, i always order the fishcakes, preserved chai sim, and lor bak

Try their tofu cooked with salted fish. Very nice.

Yes, this is my favorite stall for many years, the Hainanese curry rice. For those who lazy to go maxwell road market, they have a branch in Redhill Market.

BTW, Swee Ting is Hokkien Tze Char and not Teochew. The old boss like to cook and have his carslberg at the same time even when the queue is very long. He really bo chap, cook halfway, stop, come out have his beer and then go back to cook again.

The Ngo Heong stall also has been around for a long time. NW also pointed out the Claypot rice but I prefer the one at Chinatown complex, (LIAN HE BEN JI). There is a Loh Mee (Hock Chiew style) opposite the Hainanese Rice worth trying.