• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

margaret drive hawker centre suddenly comes ALIVE!

a pleasant surprise awaits the hungry if they visit margaret hc. this sleepy food centre used to have more vacant or unoperatng food stalls. however, recently it seems to be more alive.

but wait! that charkuayteow with the usual long queue is now missing in action. any idea?

at the centre row next to the famous fishball noodle stall is another charkuayteow stall which is run by 2 elderly men. the aroma of the wok hei or essence of wok fills the atmosphere and tempted me to try it out.

yes!! i found a jewel in margaret. superb charkuayteow many times better than the long queue one which is MIA. for $2.50 a plate, u get your regular hums in generous amount and cai xin. yummy!! shall be patronising there again and soon with my makan kakis.:)

I was there last Fri nite,ate the famous chicken wing and beehoon,not bad but not that fantastic...

a pleasant surprise awaits the hungry if they visit margaret hc. this sleepy food centre used to have more vacant or unoperatng food stalls. however, recently it seems to be more alive.

but wait! that charkuayteow with the usual long queue is now missing in action. any idea?

at the centre row next to the famous fishball noodle stall is another charkuayteow stall which is run by 2 elderly men. the aroma of the wok hei or essence of wok fills the atmosphere and tempted me to try it out.

yes!! i found a jewel in margaret. superb charkuayteow many times better than the long queue one which is MIA. for $2.50 a plate, u get your regular hums in generous amount and cai xin. yummy!! shall be patronising there again and soon with my makan kakis.:)

next on my makan list would be:

1. bak chor mee which was once located a alexandra village hc now undergoing upgrading. better to try it now cos when they shift back, prices shall definitely increase. $2.50 per bowl, soup or dry. lots of condiments. superb soup base and heavenly delightful mushroom soy sauce gravy compliment the dry meepok. YUMMY!! satifying! value for money!!

2. TIAN YI kopi. very shiok powderful roasted kopi. the trouble is this stall seem to be more closed than open:mad:

3. next to the TIAN YI is the dimsum which is also from alexandra village hc.

4. next to 3, is the nasi padang stall. quite good but a bit expensive.

5. somewhere along the same row,the aromatic fragrant of hainanese chicken rice.

6. same row again, there is the famous $1.20 poh piah, the tangkwee infused soup lor ark or soy sauce duck noodle/rice and at the far end corner the $2.20 fishball noodle stall.

some suggestions for u guys to check it out while there.;)

there are a few surprising discoveries along margaret drive.

the polyclinic there is now converted into a FT's hostel. queenstown remand prison is now in the process of demolition. poor chee and his circus of clowns would have to check into changi holiday resort the next time he itchy for some retreat.

SIN LOY KEE CHICKEN RICE takes over the original old market place. but it's quite dead and deserted with more desolated shops flanking it. bo sen li! damn jialat. sad picture there.

that place was once buzzing with foodies. i remember at one corner was a very shiok bak kut teh stall. somewhere at the centre location was an elderly couple selling their homemade super shiok yamcakes. at another corner was a die die must try duck noodle.

but they are now all gone:(

pls eat more charkuayteow and up the lorry faster to spare ur parents from misery..:rolleyes::oIo:

I happened to find out the depot Rd Claypot Laksa is now at Alexandra Village in coffeeshop beside the FC under reno.

next on my makan list would be:

1. bak chor mee which was once located a alexandra village hc now undergoing upgrading. better to try it now cos when they shift back, prices shall definitely increase. $2.50 per bowl, soup or dry. lots of condiments. superb soup base and heavenly delightful mushroom soy sauce gravy compliment the dry meepok. YUMMY!! satifying! value for money!!

2. TIAN YI kopi. very shiok powderful roasted kopi. the trouble is this stall seem to be more closed than open:mad:

3. next to the TIAN YI is the dimsum which is also from alexandra village hc.

4. next to 3, is the nasi padang stall. quite good but a bit expensive.

5. somewhere along the same row,the aromatic fragrant of hainanese chicken rice.

6. same row again, there is the famous $1.20 poh piah, the tangkwee infused soup lor ark or soy sauce duck noodle/rice and at the far end corner the $2.20 fishball noodle stall.

some suggestions for u guys to check it out while there.;)

I happened to find out the depot Rd Claypot Laksa is now at Alexandra Village in coffeeshop beside the FC under reno.

i heard that claypot laksa got 2 version one..one is the brother and the other authentic one....which one is which?

The coffeeshop is the one with the cheap and good zi cha?

wahlaneh...
is this a food thread?
lets talk only about food glorious food here.

It's probably because it has a 2nd storey and people are worried about flooding.

&%^@(*!^*@)

fat_old_faggot_bob_sim.jpg

Uncle Lee, is Mei Ling Street Market and HC back on its feet? I have eat that chicken feet hor fun for along while. Where they move to huh??

mei ling after the upgrading is as dead as before :(

the chicken hor fun is still there but prices have increased. be careful when the pui soh (fat lkb) tells u that they run out of mushrooms and asks whether can replace with extra shredded chicken. if u say ok, she tells u it would be an extra 50c after she passes u the hor fun.

a couple of the trademark stalls in mei ling are now missing eternally. the prawn noodle uncle who sold his honest to goodness hay mee for $2 with 2 small whole prawns, fishcake slices, pork, liver, kangkong and towgay and his very solid soup stock is no more. heard he had passed away.

another charkuayteow stall which used to sell for only $2 before upgrading had also given up biz. the owner had lost a leg. there are a couple of new stalls though. one of which is the famous margaret dr hcfishball noodle which is manned by the son.

another stall at the far end sells the famous margaret dr chicken rice. again, this is run by the son. i would advise to give this stall a pass. quality is very mundane. and they do not serve u chicken soup with your rice.

however there is another oldtimer stall selling roasted pork or charsiew rice. bless the stall uncle who still selling his charsiew rice at only $2. value for money food. his roast chicken is very good. i usually add a pair of roast chicken wings which is only $1 ea. free flow of chicken soup which is added with shredded cabbage.

there are other extras side dishes u can order to go along with your charsiew/chicken rice. the chilli sauce (free flow help yourself) is quite solid too.

mei ling after the upgrading is as dead as before :(

the chicken hor fun is still there but prices have increased. be careful when the pui soh (fat lkb) tells u that they run out of mushrooms and asks whether can replace with extra shredded chicken. if u say ok, she tells u it would be an extra 50c after she passes u the hor fun.

a couple of the trademark stalls in mei ling are now missing eternally. the prawn noodle uncle who sold his honest to goodness hay mee for $2 with 2 small whole prawns, fishcake slices, pork, liver, kangkong and towgay and his very solid soup stock is no more. heard he had passed away.

another charkuayteow stall which used to sell for only $2 before upgrading had also given up biz. the owner had lost a leg. there are a couple of new stalls though. one of which is the famous margaret dr hcfishball noodle which is manned by the son.

another stall at the far end sells the famous margaret dr chicken rice. again, this is run by the son. i would advise to give this stall a pass. quality is very mundane. and they do not serve u chicken soup with your rice.

however there is another oldtimer stall selling roasted pork or charsiew rice. bless the stall uncle who still selling his charsiew rice at only $2. value for money food. his roast chicken is very good. i usually add a pair of roast chicken wings which is only $1 ea. free flow of chicken soup which is added with shredded cabbage.

there are other extras side dishes u can order to go along with your charsiew/chicken rice. the chilli sauce (free flow help yourself) is quite solid too.
Uncle Lee, is the chicken feet still cook by the old man?
This is important as he has all the recipe in his head..
His daughter is just a business woman... no money no talk kind..