• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Man orders 20 cups of teh o to teach her a lesson

kingrant

ASIAONE / NEWS / THE NEW PAPER / STORY <!-- start story details --><TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width=560><TBODY><TR><TD height=7 colSpan=3>
blank.gif
</TD></TR><STYLE type=text/css> <!-- .bodytext_10pt { font-family: Verdana, Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif; font-size: 10pt; font-weight: normal; color: #000000; } --> </STYLE><!--tr> <td colspan="3"> </td> </tr--><!-- Story With Image Start --><TR><TD vAlign=top width=350>
20110128.175353_tea_cups.jpg
</TD><TD width=5>
blank.gif
</TD><TD vAlign=top width=200 align=left><TABLE><TBODY><TR><TD height=81>
blank.gif
</TD></TR><TR><TD class=content_subtitle align=left>Fri, Jan 28, 2011
The New Paper </TD></TR><TR><TD height=15>
blank.gif
</TD></TR><TR><TD align=left><TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0><TBODY><TR><TD vAlign=top align=left> </TD><TD height=15>
blank.gif
</TD><TD vAlign=top align=right><FORM method=post name=emailToFriendForm action=emailToFriend.jsp><INPUT value=/vgn-ext-templating/asiaone/emailToFriend.jsp?vgnextoid=831f557cbebcd210VgnVCM100000430a0a0aRCRD&vgnextchannel=f6dbadbd2b722110VgnVCM100000bd0a0a0aRCRD type=hidden name=emailToFriendPageURL> <INPUT value=http://www.asiaone.com/News/The%2BNew%2BPaper/Story/A1Story20110128-260953.html type=hidden name=emailToFriendStoryLink> </FORM><SCRIPT> function openEmailA1AdminWindow(emailToFriendForm) { var emailToFriendPageURL = emailToFriendForm.emailToFriendPageURL.value; emailToFriendForm.action = emailToFriendPageURL; emailToFriendForm.target="_blank"; emailToFriendForm.submit(); } </SCRIPT></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR><TR><TD colSpan=3><!-- TITLE : start -->Man order 20 cups of tea to teach her a lesson <!-- TITLE : end--></TD><TR><TD height=15 colSpan=3>
blank.gif
</TD></TR><!-- Story With Image End --><TR><TD class=bodytext_10pt colSpan=3><!-- CONTENT : start -->By Clarence Chen & Kwan Hui Xian
HE HAD just finished his meal and wanted to buy some tea to take away.
But the drinks stall assistant refused to serve him. She told Mr Danny Ng, 53, a pub owner, that for takeaway orders, he had to go to the counter and get it himself.
Infuriated, he told her that he wanted 20 cups of "teh o" (Hokkien for tea without milk) to drink and got her to serve them to him.
Mr Ng told The New Paper that he wanted to "teach her a lesson" because of her bad service.
The incident happened at Choh Dee Place, a coffee shop at Block 346A, Kang Ching Road, at about 7am earlier this month.
Mr Ng, who lives nearby, had gone there to have his breakfast. He was approached at his table by the drinks stall assistant.
Mr Ng said he had finished eating by then and decided to buy a drink to take away. But he claimed he was brushed away rudely.
Said Mr Ng: "I am fine with loud people, but I cannot tolerate rudeness.
"I also wanted to teach her a lesson so that she can improve her service."
Mr Ng paid $16 for the 20 cups of "teh o". He finished one cup and took a sip of each of the remaining cups before he left.
He added: "I could have gone directly to her supervisor, but I chose not to as it might have cost her her job. I chose to do this as a silent protest."
When The New Paper visited the coffee shop, the drinks stall assistant, Ms Yang Ming Lian, 45, declined to comment.
She had earlier told Lianhe Wanbao: "I am a straightforward person and not well-educated." She also insisted that she was not rude to Mr Ng.
Said Ms Yang: "I have been down with sore throat for the past few days, and my voice is a little hoarse. So he might have misinterpreted me and thought that I did not want to serve him on purpose."
Ms Yang's supervisor, who declined to be named, agreed.
</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>

it wouldve been epic if he had made his order of the 20cups... 1 cup each time, making her shuttle 20 trips to & from the counter.

The incident involving the coffeeshop assistant is truly disgusting. Mr Danny Ng, could have gone a little furtherr by ordering 40 hot drink take-aways by telling that stupid and insolent lady that it was meant for his foreign workers. On the pretext of ordering something else from another stall, he would then have slowly slipped away from that drink stall. At the end of the day, that unkempt lady would be left with 40 unpaid cuppas which she can use to wash her stupid looking face, throw down her gullet to clear her sore throat and keep the others to bathe at home.
Now, what the hell is happening to our society. The government should make it compulsory for such people (the ugly lady assistant) to attend compulsory basic English lessons where they would be awarded a certificate upon completion. Only, with such a paper in hand, would these people be able to secure such jobs.
If there are courses for security guards, taxi-drivers and many other services, why not for people in such front-line business. The WDA should look into this.
I would like to share my own personal experience in a similar incident yesterday. It was around 3 pm and I was out at Boon Lay to meet a friend. Since the appointed moment to meet was till about an hour away, I decided to head to the nearby hawker centre for a cuppa. I ordered my coffee. The stall assistant, a middle-aged woman with thick make-up, filled the glass grudgingly and pushed it towards me. :oIo:
Another customer, a balding and beer-bellied ang-mor with a local damsel in tow was just beside me. Just as I was about to move off from the counter, these same lady greeted the ang-mor in the following manner, "Hello John, how my to hap you. You want to ling". The ang-mor who was dressed in a dirty shorts and stank to the 7th heaven was elated and replied to her, "Haha I want you", to the wild laughs of his local gal. The lady assistant, then told him, "Tengk you":eek:
My treatment and that of the ang-mor differed. That stupid lady did not know that she was sarcastically ridiculed by the filthy ang-mor. Anyway, serve her right as she has conveniently forgotten that, "Charity Begins At Home".

Danny thinks that a coffee shop operates like a pub!!

He does not know that those coffee shop drinks servers (aunties) are not staff of the shop or stall. They are actually re-sellers. Whenever someone orders a drink from them, the aunties will buy from the coffee stall at a discounted price and then sell it to the customer at the advertised price. I believe for takeaway, the aunties don't get a cut. So, they don't serve.

This is how it works in most coffee shop/stalls anyway.

If Danny understood this, he may not have behaved in such a petty manner.
:mad:

Is this true? I never knew that too. So what happens if he were to go to the counter to order direct?

He does not know that those coffee shop drinks servers (aunties) are not staff of the shop or stall. They are actually re-sellers. Whenever someone orders a drink from them, the aunties will buy from the coffee stall at a discounted price and then sell it to the customer at the advertised price. I believe for takeaway, the aunties don't get a cut. So, they don't serve.

If Danny understood this, he may not have behaved in such a petty manner.:mad:

.......Another customer, a balding and beer-bellied ang-mor with a local damsel in tow was just beside me. Just as I was about to move off from the counter, these same lady greeted the ang-mor in the following manner, "Hello John, how my to hap you. You want to ling". The ang-mor who was dressed in a dirty shorts and stank to the 7th heaven was elated and replied to her, "Haha I want you", to the wild laughs of his local gal. The lady assistant, then told him, "Tengk you":eek:
My treatment and that of the ang-mor differed. That stupid lady did not know that she was sarcastically ridiculed by the filthy ang-mor. Anyway, serve her right as she has conveniently forgotten that, "Charity Begins At Home".

Bro, the fact that the auntie is able to call the fellow by his name and talk to him in such a manner, (plus his beer belly maybe) shows that he maybe a regular customer. So, it could be an issue of regular customer vs non-regular customer and nothing racist about it. You think too much liao!

Even if we substitute the stinky ang moh with a beer belly bald head smelly Chinese Ah Pek, I guess the treatment will be the same too.

:D

If Danny understood this, he may not have behaved in such a petty manner.
:mad:

I don't think its reseller. Because of the cash and coins exchanging hands. The server will pay out from her own pocket to kopi stall and then collect same amount back from customer.

Is this true? I never knew that too. So what happens if he were to go to the counter to order direct?

Is true. We order from the stall, the re-sellers gets nothing. Those work in the stalls making and serving drinks are usually staff or the owners!

:D

I don't think its reseller. Because of the cash and coins exchanging hands. The server will pay out from her own pocket to kopi stall and then collect same amount back from customer.

Is not the same amount. She will say buy at $0.80 and sell at $0.90. You try to observe the next time!!

:)

Is not the same amount. She will say buy at $0.80 and sell at $0.90. You try to observe the next time!!

:)

Maybe its small coffeeshops, but I know most coffeeshops don't give 'commission' like this.

My friend runs one. Servers all on basic pay.

If buy from server and stall got price difference of even $0.10, I can say most people will queue up and buy themselves instead.

Standard now kopi-o is around $0.80 in coffeeshops. Buy direct or ask auntie bring over also same price.

Maybe its small coffeeshops, but I know most coffeeshops don't give 'commission' like this.

My friend runs one. Servers all on basic pay.

If buy from server and stall got price difference of even $0.10, I can say most people will queue up and buy themselves instead.

Standard now kopi-o is around $0.80 in coffeeshops. Buy direct or ask auntie bring over also same price.

Bro, the $0.80 and $0.90 is just a numerical example.

When you buy from the re-sellers or the stall direct, the price is still the same. Only thing is that the aunties buy at a discounted price and resell at the advertised price.

:(

When you buy from the re-sellers or the stall direct, the price is still the same. Only thing is that the aunties buy at a discounted price and resell at the advertised price.

Ok, those who normally buy at discounted price and resell are normally those without basic or not much basic.

Most of these coffeeshops know how many cups they can sell a day, and after they cross out the sums, still pay basic is better. Paying $0.05-$0.10 for reselling not really worth it for coffeeshops

Makes sense. That way, the serving aunties will be more motivated to serve drinks.

20 cups actually no kick.

Tell him order 100 cups at 1 go all put on the table, the kopitiam sure shake. Suddenly run out of cups. :D Want play must play bigger. Play so small, call reporter come and report, no standard.

Hmm..challenging situation! But what's to stop the coffeeshop boss from saying, "Sorry, sir! We don't want to do yr business! You only want to make trouble!"

He's free to choose who he wants to do business with, you know. Doesnt mean got money can bully others.

20 cups actually no kick.

Tell him order 100 cups at 1 go all put on the table, the kopitiam sure shake. Suddenly run out of cups. :D Want play must play bigger. Play so small, call reporter come and report, no standard.

Hmm..challenging situation! But what's to stop the coffeeshop boss from saying, "Sorry, sir! We don't want to do yr business! You only want to make trouble!"

He's free to choose who he wants to do business with, you know. Doesnt mean got money can bully others.

A sad thing is if this kopitiam already offer to sell 20 cups, you know they just want money. And they will definitely sell you 100 cups if you ask for it.

You must understand kopitiam kias. They also don't like lose face and they also have money to spend. Just like the small pub owner who order 20 cups.

It's always a case of losing face, that's why he reacted with 20 cups and reporter called in, just because he thinks the service auntie is rude.

End of the day, just 1 word. Childish. :D