• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Man arrested at Woodlands Checkpoint for trying to leave Singapore illegally

Mukai

Man arrested at Woodlands Checkpoint for trying to leave Singapore illegally

Posted: 28 November 2012 1840 hrs

display_image.php

SINGAPORE: A Bangladeshi national was caught trying to sneak out of Singapore by hiding between stacks of empty vegetable baskets in a lorry.

The 28-year-old suspect was caught at Woodlands Checkpoint at about 4.45am on Wednesday.

Officers from the Immigration and Checkpoints Authority checked the Malaysia-registered lorry he was hiding in.

They spotted him hiding between the stacks of baskets at the back of the lorry.

The 31-year-old driver of the lorry, who is a Malaysian, was also arrested.

They are currently under investigation for the offences.

The vehicle used in the commission of the offences has been detained and is liable for forfeiture.

The ICA said it takes a serious view of attempts to overstay, enter or depart Singapore illegally.

Under the Immigration Act, the penalties for overstaying or illegal entry are a jail term of up to six months plus a minimum of three strokes of the cane, while the penalties for illegal departure is a fine of up to $2,000, a jail term of up to six months, or both.

- CNA/lp/de

SecurityGUARD

This is such an old tired method of evading detection. Should hv devised a more fool-proof plan, like hiding in a barrel of swell with a false bottom.

hokkien

If I am not wrong, over stayed in singapore would kena rotan...maybe he try to siam :biggrin:

lianbeng

lianbeng tells hokkien: next time want to go jb just get ur passport chopped at woodland immigration checkpoint lah!:biggrin:

lianbeng

Ok bro tomorrow I tell him hor?:biggrin:

lianbeng tells hokkien no point lah he already sitting behind iron bars liao cannot go anywhere liao.:biggrin:like a bird in cage lor. “我是一只画眉鸟 ,画眉鸟!关在笼中 ,飞也飞不掉!”