• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Malaysia's AirAsia 2009 profit at record high

GoFlyKiteNow

Malaysia's AirAsia 2009 profit at record high
25 Feb 2010, 1848 hrs , REUTERS

KUALA LUMPUR: AirAsia, Asia's largest low-cost carrier by fleet size, reported on Thursday its best ever yearly profit ever as the economic
crisis of the past year boosted demand for cheaper air travel. The airline industry suffered last year under the weight of the global economic recession, which caused businesses to cut their travel budgets, but some recovery is under way.

"Based on the current forward booking trend, the underlying passenger demand in the first quarter remains positive," said the Malaysia-based airline in its earnings notes posted on the stock exchange website. Flag carrier Malaysia Airlines signalled on Monday a cautious earnings outlook for 2010 after derivative gains on its fuel contracts helped bump up full-year net profit.

AirAsia, valued at $1.2 billion, posted a net profit of 76.7 million ringgit ($22.54 million) in October-December against a loss of 201.7 million ringgit in the previous year. It booked a full year net profit of 549 million ringgit, largely in line with the 561.1 billion ringgit consensus estimate of 17 analysts tracked by Thomson Reuters Starmine.

The budget carrier, which competes with Jetstar Asia Airways and Tiger Airways in the region, reported a net loss of 471.7 million ringgit in 2008.

The aviation industry is rebounding from a slump but still faces at tough outlook for 2010, the International Air Transport Association (IATA) said last month. AirAsia commands 53 per cent of the domestic travel market and 21 per cent of international travel in Malaysia.

AirAsia is one of the worst airlines I ever come across.

Tried taking a return trip as it was the only one providing a direct route. On both occasions they were late - by as many as 5 hours and they didn't even bother to call to inform and those stranded at the airport had to look for their own meals. Service on board is like our kopitiam service. They don't even bother to reply to emails or feedback. Now I know what is a cheap airlines.

Never, ever wanted to take that airline again. The "AA" stands for AlwAys lAte Airlines. Wonder how long the airline will last before it becomes MAS and starts to lose money. Mana Ada Sistem?

Well Done Malaysia!!!!!

I took Jetstar and Airasia, both are good. It is nice to hear one of your fav budget airlines doing so well.

I wonder how is Tiger doing after pissing off so many customers with their sub-standard service. How many times do you need your sinkie Daddy to pump in money to keep you afloat?

Tried taking a return trip as it was the only one providing a direct route. On both occasions they were late - by as many as 5 hours and they didn't even bother to call to inform and those stranded at the airport had to look for their own meals. Service on board is like our kopitiam service. They don't even bother to reply to emails or feedback. Now I know what is a cheap airlines.

Never, ever wanted to take that airline again. The "AA" stands for AlwAys lAte Airlines. Wonder how long the airline will last before it becomes MAS and starts to lose money. Mana Ada Sistem?

Have u tried TIGER before? What's your feedback on them?

Most of the time, the AA flights are on schedule... and the service is overall satisfactory. if not this airline will not enjoy such popular support from locals as well as Indons, Filipinos, Thais , Malaysians etc.

9/10 AA are on schedule or delay less than 30 min. On my experience. Even if delay more than 2 hr they will offer better service like free food and drink.
Better than Tiger. AA is the best budget Airline.

If you are in a hurry go take SIA. What is it now, a 3rd or 4 th rated airline :)

Have taken many AA flights for holidays. If there are delays, most delays are short. Probably delays caused by the jams at airports, airspace, etc.

I've only had one 1 AA flight that was really delayed, for 4 hours They DO provide a meal vouchers & inform you of those flights with a long delay.

I now take earlier flights back to Spore in case of one of these long delays. Want to avoid those 50% taxi surcharges in Spore :rolleyes:

I