• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Maid kills Singaporean widow after being called bodoh

hurley

moral of the story: if you need people's help, don't call them bodoh

A teenage Indonesian maid is facing a long jail term after pleading guilty to hitting and strangling an 87-year-old Singaporean widow who called her stupid, a report said Thursday.

Now 19, Vitria Depsi Wahyuno had lied about her age in 2009, saying she was 23 to meet the minimum age requirement, and landed a job in Singapore working for Sng Gek Wah, the Straits Times said.

Wahyuno, who had been employed for only five days when the killing took place, pleaded guilty on Wednesday to culpable homicide and prosecutors have asked for a 20-year-jail term.

The defence, pleading for leniency, said Wahyuno was of low intelligence and could not cope with a demanding employer who called her hurtful names like "bodoh", an Indonesian and Malay word for "stupid".

Neighbours told the Straits Times that Sng was a "fierce" woman who could often be heard scolding Wahyuno.

Other local papers said Sng had gone through seven maids, including Wahyuno, since 2003.

Sng's daughter and granddaughter described her in a statement delivered in court as a strong, resourceful and meticulous woman who was kind-hearted but could be impatient at times, the Straits Times said.

The victim suffered fractured ribs, cuts and bruises after being hit with a vase and smothered with a pillow before her neck was squeezed, according to autopsy results.

Sentencing is scheduled for March 7.

More than 200,000 maids, mostly from the Philippines and Indonesia, work in wealthy Singapore.

Neighbours told the Straits Times that Sng was a "fierce" woman who could often be heard scolding Wahyuno.

when a sinkie show off her sinkie behavior, it leads to her death.

i am right again sinkie behavior will kill you... why am i always right?

what a jerk. Trying to get mileage out of tragedy.

when a sinkie show off her sinkie behavior, it leads to her death.

i am right again sinkie behavior will kill you... why am i always right?

I thank the maid for getting rid of one useless sinkie for the betterment of the world, making this place a much better place for everyone.

The maid should be honoured and knighted.

she was an old lady so mebbe thats why she was like that. In her younger days she could have been a better person. You are not fair in saying such things.

I thank the maid for getting rid of one useless sinkie for the betterment of the world, making this place a much better place for everyone.

The maid should be honoured and knighted.

Very unfortunate that the future of a 19 year is practically ruined.Her family who depends on her income will also suffer.

The MOM must take some responsibility for this tragic event.
7 maid in 9 years , and if we were to exclude periods when selecting/waiting for new maids, means almost one new maid per year.
This is a clear sign something is not right.
I think the family should have chosen a more mature and experienced maid that has experience taking care of old folks but it will probably cost more.

Very unfortunate that the future of a 19 year is practically ruined.Her family who depends on her income will also suffer.

The MOM must take some responsibility for this tragic event.
7 maid in 9 years , and if we were to exclude periods when selecting/waiting for new maids, means almost one new maid per year.
This is a clear sign something is not right.
I think the family should have chosen a more mature and experienced maid that has experience taking care of old folks but it will probably cost more.

i would rather say the maid is better off with a better employer that behave in a more humanly manner.

It is not the fault of the maid, the source of the problem is sinkie behavior of that worthless sinkie human who is fortunately dead and disappear forever.

That kind of sinkie behavior stemmed and evolved from the low life asian china chink behavior plus an injection of elitism example from your worthless PAP govt.

Such mixture asian china chink behavior + elitism + adequate dose of cowardice = worthless low life sinkie behavior.. very evident in this forum and the population of sinkieland.

the resultant dose of mixture:

Actually we should reveal the secret that we don't hang indon and pinoy maids. Even for murdering their employers.

Then we can see the cases of maid abuse go down significantly. Win-win situation for all.

fitriah-maid-aritcle-laufookkonge.jpg

Teen maid jailed for strangling elderly employer to death

By Claire Huang | Posted: 07 March 2012 1217 hrs

SINGAPORE: A teenage Indonesian has been sentenced to 10 years' jail for strangling her elderly employer.

Vitria Depsi Wahyuni, 19, could have been put behind bars for 20 years or given life imprisonment.

She pleaded guilty in February to culpable homicide in the death of 87-year-old Sng Gek Wah in November 2009 at Farleigh Avenue.

Vitria committed the crime in the Serangoon Gardens estate just five days after she started working for Madam Sng.

The accused came to Singapore with a passport that identified her as Fitriah.

She had lied that she was 24 years old when she was only 16.

On November 25, 2009, Vitria waited for the Mdm Sng to fall asleep before attempting to smother her with a pillow at about 10pm.

But Mdm Sng woke up, put up a struggle with the maid and fell to the floor.

Vitria then tried to silence her by strangling her.

The accused got angry and struck the victim's forehead with a vase.

Subsequently, Vitria pretended to run out of the house to seek help.

She managed to hail a taxi.

The driver called the police.

During the police investigations, Vitria told officers that Mdm Sng fell by herself.

But the police later found that the maid had strangled the elderly woman with her hands.

Justice Choo Han Teck pointed out that the High Court could put Vitria away for life, but said the circumstances and mitigating factors warranted a jail term of not more than 10 years.

The prosecution, which had argued that the offence was premeditated and described the attack as "brutal and savage", had pressed for a jail term of 20 years.

But Vitria's lawyer Mohamed Muzammil Mohamed argued that a jail term of between eight and 10 years was appropriate as his client was young and immature at the time of the offence.

Vitria is said to have an IQ of 63, which is below average.

The defence lawyer said she could not cope with the frequent nagging and scolding by Mdm Sng, who was said to have often called the maid 'stupid'.

- CNA/ck

10 years jail for taking one life... quite a bargain!

And no, cannot suka suka hang, Abang Indonesia sekali no happy, Konfrontasi one more time.

WoooHoooo

*Clap**Clap* for this maid. Abusive employers deserve this fate.

Kudos to the maid for standing up for her own dignity. I sure hope more maids would take matters into their own hands.

17 yrs old , should let off with warning after staying in home until 21.

It is a tragedy.nothing to do with being Singaporean or Indonesian.In middle eastern countries,the torture and cruelty are worst than what this old woman suffered to her death.It is ok to be called names.Why take it so hard?Like tonychat,he is fine with being called all sorts of names....rape him?

fair enough punishment. anyone kena called bodoh repeatedly for days also sian and can snap.
point is, treat others how you want to be treated. lucky thing maid never flung an innocent kid out of the window in revenge....