Lui Tuck Yew: 13 percent of bus drivers from China (excluding PRs)

Someone send me this so I share lah.

Do they really consider PR as local?

About 13 percent of bus drivers in Singapore are from China, revealed Transport Minister Lui Tuck Yew in Parliament on Monday.

Mr Lui was responding to a question asked by Choa Chu Kang MP Zaqy Mohamad if measures are put in place to ensure “foreign bus drivers are well qualified, adaptable and can assimilate as well and do their job effectively here and without compromising the safety of other other road users and pedestrians.”

However, the percentage is probably much higher as the figure does not include those who have been ‘converted’ into Singapore PR. About 61 percent of bus drivers are locals or PRs. Singapore is probably the only country in the world which gives PRs and citizenship to bus drivers.

Mr Lui reassured Parliament that all foreign drivers are ‘adequately’ trained before they are allowed to drive on Singapore roads:

“The more important thing actually is to make sure (that), regardless of nationality, every driver is adequately trained, appropriately qualified, and especially if they come from abroad, then they are given the kind of orientation that will help them familiarise themselves with the peculiarities of the system in Singapore.”

He added that “bus driver salaries for this sector should remain market-driven, and private bus operators should make their own commercial decisions on how to ensure that their businesses remain viable in the face of a tightening labour market.”

bF6Bb

Mr Lui is trying to tell you, now PRC bus driver also can get PR easily. No wonder those PRC bus drivers are so smug, not worried at all when they broke laws and drove so recklessly.

Jack always believes bus drivers (yes, screw the bus captain tags.) deserve to be whacked at times. more so these dangerous, thoughtless PRC ah tiongs.

KNN LTY.
Why cannot give data. How many born in Singapore/Malaysia/China and others.
I will be more accurate data.
I dont care Malaysia SG PR will consider Malaysian or China SG PR cinsider China.
Dont lump sum PR as Singaporean.

The 13% ah Tiong drivers probably account for 60% of all accidents involving buses.

More like 70~90%. Never see any SG and Malaysian drive bus so reckless. Just compare bus driver 10 year ago. When there are no PRC driver.

First, the PRC road culture, if you've been to PRC yourself and seen it for yourself. Then, the technical part. PRC drivers are all trained to left-hand drive. The combination of conversion to right-hand drive on top of gangway culture can and have proved to be fatal from time to time.

In PRC, the hours are not that long and schedule not as tight. There's also a bus conductor inside selling tickets and directing human traffic. If there are old people or kids, they will ask you to give up your seats to them. Buses in major cities are also cleaner than those here as the driver and conductor are in charge of cleaning their own buses

In Singapore, these PRCs have to bao ka liao under the sweltering heat. The bus schedule are still damn screw up after all these years. You waited 45 mins and 2 buses come at the same time, you get drivers driving either like tortoise or F1 drivers just to meet the schedule...........

Today read in the papers that another 10yo boy kenna langa again.............

Nothing beats SF cable car especially downslope on return leg to Union Square. It's...free!!! The more crowded the better, more chance of free ride. It's also a test of skills. Just hop on and hang to a bar for the couple of stops you want to ride, then hop off when you arrive (look out for oncoming traffic first if you treasure your life.) If the cable car isn't crowded, the conductor (usually big black burly guy you won't want to fight with) will come and check your pass or collect your fare.

For those who think cable car must mean sky high overhead cable as accustomed to Sentosa and Genting, no, SF cable car is underground cable drawn.

First, the PRC road culture, if you've been to PRC yourself and seen it for yourself. Then, the technical part. PRC drivers are all trained to left-hand drive. The combination of conversion to right-hand drive on top of gangway culture can and have proved to be fatal from time to time.

spot on ...;)

So what's he's trying to say? PRC boleh?