• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Lucky Tan: Why is President Silent on Shocking Revelations of SG Reserves?

http://singaporemind.blogspot.sg/

[h=2]Tuesday, June 05, 2012[/h][h=3]Issues raised by Christopher Balding on our reserves...[/h]

Professor Christopher Balding's blog: christopherbalding.com raises a number of issues related to our reserves. These issues are very interesting but there is insufficient information available explain the discrepancies - we were supposed to elect a president who would ask these important questions about our reserves but we elected Tony Tan...so what has he done in this area? With hundreds of millions of our CPF money moved to the reserves and much of the heavy debt we incur to pay for HDB flats going into the reserves, the secrecy is surrounding our reserves is not longer acceptable. I hope elected representatives from the opposition raise these questions to pierce through the secrecy. Singaporeans are increasingly concerned and want answers.

Issue 1 : Temasek claims average returns of 17%...how is this possible?
[Comparing Temasek’s Performance in Two Pictures]

1. Temasek assets are mostly in the form of in a diversified portfolio of listed companies many listed in Singapore.

2. Since 1974, the annualized returns of the MSCI Singapore and other Singapore indices have performed nowhere close to the 17% return reported by Temasek.

This issue has been discussed by a Singaporean J.P Tan. I first read about J.P. Tan from a a highly acclaimed book on Warren Buffett by authorAndrew Kirkpatrick. J.P. Tan had independently deciphered one of Buffett's investment move and wrote to Buffett....a very impressed Warren Buffett replied to J.P. Tan to say his analysis was spot on. J.P Tan's letter and Buffett's reply both appeared in "Of Permanent Value: The Story Of Warren Buffett".

J.P. Tan has used his analytical skills to decipher Temasek's accounts from 1992-1993 and found that Temasek had book a $40B in gains following the listing of SingTel[Link]. J.P. Tan explains that this is most probably achieved by the transfer by the Singapore govt of SingTel to Temasek at book value of $20B and when SingTel was listed, the market value of $60B was used to record profits of $40B. J.P Tan takes issue with this as it "misrecords" profits at Temasek. The $60B should be record as cash infusion rather than profits. This form of accounting obscures the actual fund management performance at Temasek and makes it impossible to tell how well managed our reserves are at Temasek. It is very dangerous for us not to know the actual performance of Temasek.

Deceptive as it seems, I wrote to Prof. Balding that this is one possible explanation for the high investment returns claimed by Temasek. He agrees that this is a plausible explanation.

The question that our MPs can raise in parliament for this issue that concerns all of us are 1. How are assets transferred Temasek accounted? 2. How does Temasek record profits from sales and listing of these assets? 3. What is the real performance of Temasek if we take out these 'profits'?. Our power plants are a good example. They were transferred to Temasek and then later sold off to foreign investors. Temasek shouldn't book any investment profits from these sales as it would these are "inherited assets" and booking returns on them will obscure the real performance at Temasek.

Issue 2: What happened to hundreds of millions?[Singapore, Inc.: Just When You Thought it Couldn’t Get Any Worse]
1. Professor Balding compiles a spreadsheet showing our surplus all the way back to 1980. He also compiles the net liabilities incurred per year.

2. The sum total of surplus, liabilities and returns should give us the size of GIC assets. GIC return is given as roughly 7% per annum.

3. Prof. Balding estimates the size of GIC's assets to be $2 trillion.

4. GIC has assets reported to be $700B.

I think the simple explanation is nobody knows the size of GIC's assets and how much surplus is transferred to GIC. We just don't have enough information to tell if there is something really wrong here. The PAP govt simply refuses to be transparent and accountable when it comes to the accounts of the GIC. - they just simply refuse to let us know and we are supposed to just accept this.

Voting for an independent presidential candidate would have help to answer some of these questions but we missed this chance in 2011.

"Unfortunately, I have this crazy idea that governments should be responsible to the people. Whether it is the United States, Chinese, or Singaporean government, I believe leaders should be accountable and transparent to the people of their country. Governments do not have unlimited powers. I believe that the government of Singapore should be accountable and transparent with the people of Singapore. I believe that the people of Singapore have a right to demand answers from their government." - Professor Christopher Balding[My only vested interest]

Share on googleShare on facebookShare on twitterShare on emailMore Sharing Services[URL="http://www.sammyboy.com/#"]415[/URL]

Posting Time <A class=timestamp-link title="permanent link" href="http://singaporemind.blogspot.sg/2012/06/issues-raised-by-christopher-balding-on.html" rel=bookmark><ABBR class=published title=2012-06-05T15:20:00+08:00>3:20 PM</ABBR>
Posted by Lucky Tan 74 comments

[h=2][/h]

You are correct that the PAP "refuses to let us know how much reserves Sg has".
The reason they gif, is that "if this info is known, Sg would be under attack from other countries/organizations/etc" (correct me if I got this wrong)
But seriously.. with no real info.. how do we S'poreans know where all the money came.. went.. and if everything is ALL RIGHT?
Without transparency, who is to know if something is wrong?
It seems to me, the govt probably still thinks S'poreans are not mature or intellectually capapble of handling the info.. which is why they dun wan to reveal it ot us.

I tried to go to his blog, but his account has been suspended. Since he is teaching at Peking University Graduate School and lives in Shenzhen, I can only presume that Gay Loong called someone in China to shut this chap up. However, from what I gather, what he says is accurate, and that the accounting practices are totally off. Pricewaterhouse Coopers has some explaining to do.

lee-kuan-yew.gif

Lee Con You

Maybe President Tan is away on holiday?
Script got delayed in the mail?

The stupid article from Lucky Tan was based entirely off the findings from a moron whom's account is suspended. The joker Balding doesnt even realize that the bulk of SG national debt is CPF.

President is silent bcos he do not yet know what he is supposed to be guarding.

Anyway, the time period is not due yet for the final tally. Remeber it will take many (50+?) man-years to compute when asked by a ex-President (bless his soul)?

It won't be ready within this current term, so not his problem la.

That is because you bunch of low life coward ball-less Sinkies got noballs to make noise. Why rock the boat? Just carry o sucking the reserve since Sinkies are a bunch of cowards.

retarded shit,

its our country not yours. dont kaypoh. fuck off.

First off, KFC is paid the million dollars to do just one thing: to STFU!

Second, as long as there is no whistle blower from within, and no substantial evidence produced, nothing will happen. No matter how sound the logic given by people outside, NOTHING will happen.

Reform is required. Please vote against PAP to put an end to the smoke and mirrors concerning our reserves.

it is vastly more profitable for him to do nothing and keep quiet.

After Ong Teng Cheong, all subsequent Sinkieland presidents were nothing more than overpaid, overfed, obedient dogs of the PAP regime.

Can't have another nosy President asking pesky questions again.

We have alot of PAP elite supporters by the 1000s people like the D souza, the Tan Khee Giaps, the Rotary stink group who dared NOT to admit about the toilet gifts to the 'voters' of HG - how come NONE of them questioned about the Reserves?? And ALSO - how COME no-one has got the BALLS among all these RETARDED elites TO ASK the PAP GOVT how MUCH Quantitative Easing the PAP has Carried out in the last FEW years especially after 2008 TO NOW???

PAP cannot DENY that last few years THERE was a BIG INCREASE of new NOTES and COINS in circulation which used to happen moons ago during CNY seasons. BUT now new coins and notes surface ALL the TIME...

Fccking ELITES ONLY know how to SUCK balls and eat ICE creams. Never MIND, we ain't GET any answers BUT IT IS OUR duty to Ask and Ask and Ask and Ask till WE WEAR them down. I dont believe that with OUR constant PERSISTENT PERSEVERANCE, these chaps CAN sleep peacefully EVERY night. Just like Lim Ching Yah, though he is PM father in law - HE DID the right thing. AND HE do things RIGHT !!!!

Opposition parties - DO some homework and GUN the PAP fatally moving forward to 2016 grand finale...

No need to be so 'complicated'

I make it simpler even fo layman to understand.

If you ask PAP to return every cent that was put into the CPF by everyone in cash, irregardless of the age of the CPF member, and convert all the pigeon hole HDB value back into cash to return into CPF ..

THEY can't.

Not enough money to completely return to all

into cash! LOL

Christopher Balding's blog has been nuked.

I am guessing it was either a cease & desist order from the Lees/pappies, or he was ordered to do so by the Chinese university where he's working at.

You can retrieve all the text from the blog entries (Google cache), but the pics and graphs/charts are all gone.

http://pastebin.com/J98f6J4J