• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Look at how social welfare bring UK down

singveld said:
to save these people who really need help, you will create another group of people who uses it to not to work, just relies on the govt for living, do you think the price to pay for helping these small group of people is worth it? can you take it if you work hard everyday for 60 hours per week to feed your family for example your neighbor who play guitar everyday and relies on govt welfare. This is the price to pay for, can you except it now and 20 years later, will you say the same. Social welfare is evil.

This is exactly the argument the Govt is using for doing nothing, not to say for mankind, just for the more disadvantaged members of our society but the Govt will not bat an eye to raise the incomes of elites who do not really need this help and costs us to have one of the skewest Gini index in the world. It is all a matter of priority. People on the ground, even PAP MPs know that this problem exists and needs to be tackled but internal issues of organisation make their feedback falling on deaf ears. The money needed by these people is not something that will bankrupt the country or draw into our reserves. Nobody is talking about employment doles at this point in time so there is little leeway for abuse by undeserving recipients. You should have better trust in your Govt to manage the process. Although Bros here talked about healthcare but the key issue is not cost because subsidies are there to be tapped when required but rather the poor planning of resources.

This is nothing to do with with helping the needy but vote buying. During the financial crisis, the PUB gave vouchers to the residents of Hougang thru the PAP rejected candidate and not thru the elected MP. A more appropriate conduit would be a govt entity that shows no bias but works thru a transparent mechanism.

The govt entity that shows no bias is not going to exist as long as this lot are in power.
The bigger problem is when any one of the ministars is asked what is being done for the needy, this distribution of freebies will be one of the first things they mention.
What they may or may not know is that it could be the laziest and loudest assholes who ask for and get the freebies.

Name me a genuine democracy in any world ie. 1st, 2nd or 3rd where welfare grants goes thru a defeated candidate?Its a given that any elected govt would chose an approach that gives them an edge. But not to the abuse that we see here. Even the Malaysians, Indonesians and the Filipinoes do not do that.
The govt entity that shows no bias is not going to exist as long as this lot are in power.The bigger problem is when any one of the ministars is asked what is being done for the needy, this distribution of freebies will be one of the first things they mention. What they may or may not know is that it could be the laziest and loudest assholes who ask for and get the freebies.

you do not sound like uncle yap. did you account get hacked? i thought you like free of charge stuff.
like for example you use linux and solaris, which is free of charge, while you do not use os x which is also unix. why dun you dump your linux and go for os x.

Open Source is a contribution by the community of contributors and users. So there is not a big profit maker to rip everyone off by controlling the development of product at the source code level.

FOC welfare etc are dreams, that Santa will come and pay all the owing bills at X'mas - which ended up all the debts past down to next generations. It had been that way wrongfully for too long and can not proceed any further.

It would be good like Open Source, where you take something and use and contribute back to it by doing your own little part. It is not the concept of FREE-LOADING nor exploitation. I am not the Kiasu to line up for FOC Freebie like those you see in SG daily. For 1 pethetic cup of FOC drink you will see 100 Kiasu lined up for it. :*:

If SG was alike the Old UK 200 years ago, that we took 3/4 of this planet as colonies to exploit and plunder, all controlled at our Red Dot, then yes, ALL citizens no need to work, no need to serve NS, FOC everything. Bring all the cheap labours or FOC slaves to serve us all like kings. Why not? :D

But be realistic! London lost all that after WW2. 马死落地行 Get on your own feet to walk the ground when your horse is dead.

Still can afford welfare? No way! They are now paying back debts owed by their grand parents!

:)

In the UK's good old days life was easy for the Brits, they have coolies from China India etc. They will serve Brits and do farming. Even have to plant fucking Opium for them to sell lucratively to China. Exchanged for silver silk and porcelain from Chinese suckers.

In their army no NSF, Indians Canadians Australians Kiwis served their NS for London govt. Brits be the commanders and big shots higher ranks than BGs.

In their army camps in Singapore Chinese chefs cook and served the British officers, lots of them the Hainanese. Today's Hans restaurants' founder was one of those Hainan Ah Koh who cooked for British officers. When Brits left Red Dot they came out and sell so called Western Food and Grills & Western Cake Bakeries - because they were the bakers in the British camps!

Today we don't fuck care the British beggars except of Sucker LKy, who loyally suck for these Ang Mohs unconditionally. :D

to save these people who really need help, you will create another group of people who uses it to not to work, just relies on the govt for living, do you think the price to pay for helping these small group of people is worth it? can you take it if you work hard everyday for 60 hours per week to feed your family for example your neighbor who play guitar everyday and relies on govt welfare. This is the price to pay for, can you except it now and 20 years later, will you say the same. Social welfare is evil.

I don't believe the more rational forumers here are asking the PAP to replicate the social welfare systems in Europe in its entirety in S'pore. What they are basically saying is that there are people in our society that truly deserves some form of assistance from the govt, monetary and otherwise. If your starting point is "social Welfare is evil" which is what the PAP would have believe, then we have exactly the situation now. Where people who fell by the wayside through no fault of their doing are left to die on their own. The role of the govt is not simply to grow the GDP or the reserves. The govt has a social responsibility to everyone of its citizens, and for those who had fallen on bad times, too sick to be employed etc, there must be some assistance rendered to them. The moment you say social welfare will lead to a bankrupt nation, then none of such pitiful people will ever get any help at all. It's too convenient an excuse to be used all the time. Surely the PAP who boast without fail that they have the brightest and the best to form an A Team can think of some ways to overcome the pitfalls of the social welfare systems in UK and other parts of Europe. The rational forumers are not asking for social welfare for the sake of social welfarism. They are too well read and well informed to know what the negative consequences would be. What they are highlighting is that the PAP govt has over the years neglected its primary responisbility of looking after those who had been left behind by their greedy policies. And that they should stop using "social welfare is evil" as a rhetoric to exempt themselves from assisting these citizens who really need help, many of whom had contributed to S'pore when they were in better times. As for Uncle Yap reply to my post that all he is doing is to advise mindless people who expects the govt to be Santa Claus to give away everything for free, his concern is really misplaced in this forum or at least for this thread. If he'd follow the discussion closely, not one forumer had asked the govt to give everything FOC. That argument was and is still being used by the PAP and that's why I said that he, Uncle Yap is beginning to sound like one of them.

The problem with free-market capitalism that PAP govt subscribes to is that the trickle-down effect is not working. Hence there is wide income disparity, as they have in the U.S. where the system has gone far to the right.

Narrowing the income gap requires a conscious choice and deliberate purposeful course of action driven by a light socialist touch. The trouble is the PAP uses the slippery slope argument to avoid this course. In the end, they resolved it by giving all kinds of goodies to targeted segments. Economics-wise, this is not an unfeasible course; also, after all, why not? It allows them to use it as a visible carrot for getting the popular votes.

Taxing the well-to-do more and exempting more low income families from taxes offends the rich, the wealthy, and businesses while at the same time the low segment may not be entirely happy either. Right wing political parties who believe in free-market capitalism will consider this as political suicide. Once the system is in place, it is hard to change. Too many vested powerful interests safeguarding the status quo.

Yea. After reiterating and explaining my arguments, he still went ahead and repeated exactly the same things. You're right - just regurgitating ideas and concepts he knows little about, and takes too long to put him back on track.

This guy has a problem. He wants to be popular and impressive. He throws in words and concepts he has little knowledge of. He grabs figures and stats that have no relevance.

Even Warren Buffet now admits that the capitalist system is flawed, and he himself thinks that people like him could pay more taxes to help out the socially needy, unfortunate, destitute, etc.

Warren is not stupid I am sure. Coming from his mouth, so much nuggets of wisdom. You think our Cab Ministers will ever say something like that? The only money they gave away are the millions they had won in slander suits - which is really OP's money.

I don't believe the more rational forumers here are asking the PAP to replicate the social welfare systems in Europe in its entirety in S'pore. What they are basically saying is that there are people in our society that truly deserves some form of assistance from the govt, monetary and otherwise.

Back to the main discussion. Good to know some people feel passionate about their opinions. You are against welfare because it creates dependency and there is abuse of the system. Are you prepared to change your mind if it can be administered without the well documented problems of the welfare state?

Let me introduce you to the concept of "Workfare", which is probably the amalgamation of "work for welfare". It ostensibly addresses the problems caused by a lack of minimum wage and the west's utterly unimaginative way of administering a social safety net. That is welfare no matter how you cut it, because it transfers payments from the government to the needy citizens.

Does it mean there are no flaws to the social experiment? Badly administered, this can lead to unnecessary subsidies for corporations, because nobody knows for sure how much companies benefit from selective substitution of foreign labour to justify the employment of a citizen on Workfare at the wage level of his foreign colleagues. Paradoxically this reduces labour productivity (from immigration of unskilled foreign workers) across the entire labour force where Workfare is present, and makes COMPANIES lazy instead. I suspect it is the COMPANIES that are gaming it today in Singapore.

Before you conclude smugly that social welfare is evil, please make a stand and acknowledge whether mutual support among the common man is a worthy aspiration. If so, you may arrive at the same conclusion as I did. That it was never a question of whether we should have or not have social welfare. It is a question of how we should do it.

---------------

Recap GE2011:
WP said workfare should have a larger cash component. HUH? Ya I know it makes sense but clearly this party is still in reactionary mode from all the MPS and I question the exhaustiveness of their method of inquiry.

NSP argued for income floors for import of non unionized workers, while failing to notice that the entire foreign workforce can be classified under 3 or 4 categories (E-pass, S-pass, etc. Don't qualify for one, apply for the other) regardless of any artificial line of demarcation.

SDP argued for minimum wage which leads me to wonder if they are still living in the stone age (or more insidiously the FW Party for recommending a raise to all FWs). Never underestimate schadenfreude.

That is not to say it is all the PAP's credit for introducing workfare. It was introduced despite flaws and that requires moral fortitude or an unshakable representation in parliament, more likely the latter. I don't think one should expect PAP MPs to ask the tough questions because they are obviously conflicted, so the responsibilities eventually fall on the other Parties to point out the weaknesses and inadequacy of Workfare. Knowing the PAP they will find ways to tax more instead of acknowledging externalities and looking to correct the weaknesses of their own programs. One day, WP needs to convince the electorate that they too can form the government without a PAP coalition. Don't expect the PAP to handhold them like babies in the meantime.

P.S. Cruxx, rugged individualism sounds cool but you risk looking like an ill-informed bigot.

The problem with free-market capitalism that PAP govt subscribes to is that the trickle-down effect is not working. Hence there is wide income disparity, as they have in the U.S. where the system has gone far to the right.

Taxing the well-to-do more and exempting more low income families from taxes offends the rich, the wealthy, and businesses while at the same time the low segment may not be entirely happy either. Right wing political parties who believe in free-market capitalism will consider this as political suicide. Once the system is in place, it is hard to change. Too many vested powerful interests safeguarding the status quo.

I think I found a kindred spirit among the forummers here. Agree wholeheartedly that laissez-faire capitalism is flawed, and appropriate government interventions are necessary. Anytime the "Divine Right of Profits" for the wealthy is slightly threatened, they kick a tantrum and howl with outrage.

Yea. After reiterating and explaining my arguments, he still went ahead and repeated exactly the same things. You're right - just regurgitating ideas and concepts he knows little about, and takes too long to put him back on track.

That didn't stop you from giving him rep points, sir. :)

Really? I have forgotten. I am a fair person. It shows that I do give credit where it is due. But it was in another thread. For this thread, he has disappointed me.

That didn't stop you from giving him rep points, sir. :)

scroobal said:
Name me a genuine democracy in any world ie. 1st, 2nd or 3rd where welfare grants goes thru a defeated candidate?Its a given that any elected govt would chose an approach that gives them an edge. But not to the abuse that we see here. Even the Malaysians, Indonesians and the Filipinoes do not do that.

Kiasuism was created in Singapore.

What they may or may not know is that it could be the laziest and loudest assholes who ask for and get the freebies.

In this country the squeaky wheel gets oiled. That's why we our parliament debates over stray cats and bicycle tracks for enthusiasts. While their suggestions are no doubt valuable, but it is not life threatening nor urgent in the Singapore context. Bloody silly if you ask me.

Consider this: When you buy health insurance for yourself, is that out of self-interest or altruism for other policy holders underwritten by the insurance company? :rolleyes:

Self-interest? Who would be the beneficiaries of my insurance payouts? You or my family? :rolleyes: It's all well pontificating on the virtues of altruism. But in the real world, we make trade-offs all the time. My trade-off is to endure the distressing sight of my fellow Singaporeans living in poverty just so that I needn't share my hard earned wealth with strangers. Be as altruistic as you want to be. Just don't impose it on me.

[video=youtube;d8L3lb1cq2U]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=d8L3lb1cq2U[/video]

There is a no doubt the systemis flawed but appropriate welfare intervention and framework should still present.

If there is a simple condition where one can only be eligible for welfare after working for minimum of 20 years,it will be a goodstart.

agree. i want a real pension plan instead of of handing over my CPF to the MIW's familee.

It doesnt work that way.

I can speak of canada's healthcare system e.g. in Quebec. There is a provincial public health insurance plan that covers everybody that is not covered by private insurance. There is an annual premium about C$600 max per year but how much precisely one pays depends on his actual income tax payable. The more income tax you pay, you pay a bit more in health premium to the system. If you are not working retired, no income tax payable, you pay zero premium. But even the highest income tax guy will not pay more than C$600 a yr.

When you fall sick or see a doctor, the consultation is free. But any drugs (medication) prescribed, you co-pay for it. But then, there is a cap on how much you will be copaying, and it's about $45-75 a month. In other words, even if yr medicine costs $200 or $2000 for that month, you are responsible to copay up to $75, and the balance you dont worry as you dont have to pay. This means the chronic sick actually gets to benefit and the fit ones are "subsidising" them. It does seem shitty and unfair, but will you ever know if one day you do not depend on others who can pay more to hold up the system to give you back the benefits as you have given yrs to others? That's paying forward. Now if that's offensive to you, then stay with the system you have here in S'pore, where it will be cheaper for you to kaput. You just hope that you dont kena a long illness or long stay in a hospital bed. And if so, you better have a lot of Medisave or cash to outlast you.

My trade-off is to endure the distressing sight of my fellow Singaporeans living in poverty just so that I needn't share my hard earned wealth with strangers. Be as altruistic as you want to be. Just don't impose it on me.

[video=youtube;d8L3lb1cq2U]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=d8L3lb1cq2U[/video]

you do not sound like uncle yap. did you account get hacked? i thought you like free of charge stuff.
like for example you use linux and solaris, which is free of charge, while you do not use os x which is also unix. why dun you dump your linux and go for os x.

If you have nothing substantial to say, then keep quiet because by sprouting nonsense you loses your credibility.

You acknowledge that you are driven by your selfish wants. But the PAP has always been pontificating that Singaporeans must sacrifice for the greater good, most recently being the Rochor Centre acquisition. I guess what you really want to say is if someone else sacrifices, it's okay, but if you have to sacrifice, it is not okay.