• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Long-term unemployment rising in Singapore

QXD

http://www.pressrun.net/weblog/2010...utm_campaign=Feed:+rana+(Blowin'+In+The+Wind)

Long-term unemployment rising in Singapore

Singapore is no country for old men and women. Although Minister Mentor Lee Kuan Yew continues to hold office at 86 and his former deputies Tony Tan and S Dhanabalan are corporate bigwigs in their 70s, age can be a disadvantage lower down the job market.
Older laid-off workers are likely to remain unemployed longer than younger workers, no matter what their education level.
They may have the same problem in other countries, but now we know how acute the problem is in Singapore.
A Ministry of Manpower (MOM) report shows nearly half of those in their 30s and more than 50 per cent of those in their 40s and 50s remained unemployed six months after losing their jobs. Younger workers were luckier, with 68 per cent of the under-30s re-employed within that time.
Long-term unemployment is on the rise, with almost a quarter of the jobseekers looking for work at least for 25 weeks, according to the ministry report. It says, "The number and share of unemployed residents who had been looking for work for at least 25 weeks (i.e. long-term unemployed) rose from 12,900 or 18% of job seekers in December 2008 to 13,900 or 23% in December 2009."
Singapore residents aged 40 and over made up 47 per cent of the jobless workers in December 2009, up from 43 per cent in December 2008.
This table shows the percentage of Singapore residents who were re-employed within six months of losing their jobs. It shows their age groups and education levels. The figures show how hard it is for older university graduates to get new jobs.
<table width="450" border="0" cellpadding="2" cellspacing="0"><tbody> <tr> <td valign="top" width="64"> </td> <td valign="top" width="64">Total</td> <td valign="top" width="64">Below
secondary</td> <td valign="top" width="64">Secondary</td> <td valign="top" width="64">Upper secondary</td> <td valign="top" width="64">Polytechnic
diploma</td> <td valign="top" width="64">Degree</td> </tr> <tr> <td valign="top" width="64">Total</td> <td valign="top" width="64">52.1</td> <td valign="top" width="64">54.9</td> <td valign="top" width="64">63.4</td> <td valign="top" width="64">53.9</td> <td valign="top" width="64">54.8</td> <td valign="top" width="64">47.3</td> </tr> <tr> <td valign="top" width="64">Below
30</td> <td valign="top" width="64">68</td> <td valign="top" width="64">s</td> <td valign="top" width="64">79.6</td> <td valign="top" width="64">75</td> <td valign="top" width="64">69.6</td> <td valign="top" width="64">66.2</td> </tr> <tr> <td valign="top" width="64">30-39</td> <td valign="top" width="64">54.1</td> <td valign="top" width="64">54.5</td> <td valign="top" width="64">72.9</td> <td valign="top" width="64">44.4</td> <td valign="top" width="64">44.2</td> <td valign="top" width="64">53.4</td> </tr> <tr> <td valign="top" width="64">40-49</td> <td valign="top" width="64">48.1</td> <td valign="top" width="64">61.8</td> <td valign="top" width="64">54.2</td> <td valign="top" width="64">60.4</td> <td valign="top" width="64">41.2</td> <td valign="top" width="64">36.8</td> </tr> <tr> <td valign="top" width="64">50-59</td> <td valign="top" width="64">39.6</td> <td valign="top" width="64">51.5</td> <td valign="top" width="64">50.9</td> <td valign="top" width="64">34.5</td> <td valign="top" width="64">s</td> <td valign="top" width="64">12.5</td> </tr> </tbody></table> (The letter s indicates "data suppressed due to small number of observations", says the report.)

In absolute numbers, the 13,900 long-term unemployed Singapore residents may be only a tiny fraction of the workforce. Unemployment was down to only 2.1 per cent in December 2009 when 2.99 million people were employed in Singapore --- more than ever before.
Employment was up among Singapore residents with 1,936,500 holding jobs, making up 64.8 per cent of the workforce.
Behind those rosy figures, however, lurks the grim reality of rising long-term unemployment.
Older university graduates worst hit
It's a problem that apparently can't be solved by higher education. The ministry says that "the below-secondary educated still formed the largest group at 30% of the unemployed, as their unemployment rate at 3.8% remained the highest across the educational groups". But unemployment is higher among university graduates --- 2.6 per cent --- than among polytechnic diploma holders --- 2.1 per cent.
Older university graduates, in fact, find it hardest to get new jobs. Only 36.8 per cent of the fortysomethings and 12.5 per cent of those in their 50s were re-employed within six months of losing their jobs. That was well below the re-employment levels for their age groups: 48.1 per cent for the fortysomethings and 39.6 per cent for those in their 50s.
The problem may ease with Singapore's declining birth rate. Employers may be forced to hire older workers unless the government allows in more foreigners. Whatever the future holds, the present is fraught for older workers in Singapore.

besotted

Again it has been repeated hundreds of times

A.T.T.I.T.U.D.E

A lot of Singaporeans have unrealistic expectations and love to whine

They make themselves unemployable

If they work hard and are humble, sure can find job

Look at the number of pages in today's Recruit and all the other classifieds

Come on, change your attitude and you will be fine

ya...like me uni grad driving taxi...I worked hard before but was sabo by that ST bastard son.You can tahan?

A.T.T.I.T.U.D.E

tua lam pah

A.T.T.I.T.U.D.E

sometimes it is not as simple as u wrote....
only when you lose your job when u are 40plus.... then u will understand
i think your advice is good but u can never know until u are unemployed in your 40s....
800 pm is also a job... will u take it?? honestly?

AhBengBoyBoy

The bottom line is this:

It is easy for you to talk when it is not happening to you.

But wait till it happens to YOU, then see if you can still talk rot.

batman1

A.T.T.I.T.U.D.E

When u are 40 plus, and are retrenched,and have a family and have heavy financial commitments and obligations,just hope u won't jump into MRT tracks or jump off HDB flat .

A.T.T.I.T.U.D.E

Have you ever being unemployed before? before you blast your mouth off!?. Yes! there are all sorts of opportunists out there, but SINkingpore employer's with the help of '3 legged' labour ministry, will exploit the local workers to the max...so, what do you expect a reaction?

They have to be unrealistic.....after all the best of the land benchmark their salaries to the private sectors...so the lowly workers have to benmark their expectations too...

Go...get yourself unemployed for a while, go research the Recruits daily expecailly Saturday..go send in your resume, call for appointments...

You will never, ever come here & SHOOT YOUR MOUTH OFF!

AhBengBoyBoy

If he still talk much on that "ATTITUDE" thing, better take the faeces from that dead man's remains and throw it on his face.

ahleebabasingaporethief

I am not in a good mood so here goes.

FUCK YOUR CHOW CHEE BYE ATTITUDE.

If the ATTITUDE of our MINISTARS do not pay themselves MILLION dollar salaries, Singapore will not have this.

If monthly pay only $1,000 to $2000; work for fuck?

At the end of the 2nd week already no money and seriously STRESSED. Later in life because of these STRESS, all kninds of sickness will appear.

AGAIN FUCK YOU AND FUCK THE SCUMS FOR TRYING TO D.E.C.E.I.V.E.

All the SCUMs can think of is to bring in more FTs, build Casinos to massage GDP figures? Anyone that have gone through 1 YEAR of ECONs at JC level also know how to implement such measures so GDP figures can go up.
:oIo:

A.T.T.I.T.U.D.E

<input id="gwProxy" type="hidden"><!--Session data--><input onclick="jsCall();" id="jsProxy" type="hidden"><input id="gwProxy" type="hidden"><!--Session data--><input onclick="jsCall();" id="jsProxy" type="hidden">

cooleo

BESHITTED

spare us your Bullshit la. It's as if your ass is implanted into your mouth and u know the things that come out from your mouth....

golden

ya...like me uni grad driving taxi...I worked hard before but was sabo by that ST bastard son.You can tahan?

its very common nowadays..backstabbing for survival..its war out there in the job market.

lets drive taxi and play poker to relax....

This will be the group of potential people who has secured their votes for alternative parties. The percentage is not small, and will certainly swing vote to topple PAP. Only Gan Kim Yong knows the percentage of jobless Singaporeans since he dare not break down the number of residents into PR & SG. It must be really shocking to the PAP camp. The higher the jobless rate, I am confident PAP will lose big time!!!

ahleebabasingaporethief

The SCUMS were trying to offset the AGAINST THEM figures by granting more new FTs CITIZENSHIP.

But according to numerous sources, this has hit a BIG SNAG for them.

PRs are NOT willing to convert to Singapore Citizenship after seeing for themselves the SHORT END OF THE STICK of becoming a Singapore Citizen.

Many says "NO THANK YOU VERY MUCH".

That is why ERECTIONS have been delayed and post phoned several times already.

<input id="gwProxy" type="hidden"><!--Session data--><input onclick="jsCall();" id="jsProxy" type="hidden">

cooleo

The SCUMS were trying to offset the AGAINST THEM figures by granting more new FTs CITIZENSHIP.

But according to numerous sources, this has hit a BIG SNAG for them.

PRs are NOT willing to convert to Singapore Citizenship after seeing for themselves the SHORT END OF THE STICK of becoming a Singapore Citizen.

Many says "NO THANK YOU VERY MUCH".

That is why ERECTIONS have been delayed and post phoned several times already.

<input id="gwProxy" type="hidden"><!--Session data--><input onclick="jsCall();" id="jsProxy" type="hidden">

You are damn right. My malaysian colleague told me "aiya get citizenship for what? PR is BETTER!"

popdod

The bottom line is this:

It is easy for you to talk when it is not happening to you.
But wait till it happens to YOU, then see if you can still talk rot.

Sinkies r always critical, best at using mouth to do the action.

They can say until situations like so captain obvious and so easy like elementary subject....but when comes to doing...itz a whole different thing.

And when they get their "retribution", i'm wondering whether they still can
remember what they had said before.

:o :( :o