• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Lky is turning 2 B a LIABILITY by his insensitive remarks of Muslims

theblackhole

we have no choice but to continue to exercise tolerance and restraint...no need to exert the majority right of response...

minority tyranny is not uncommon everywhere....even in enlightened europe...but people are waking up...and this is also no good because there will be wars and conflicts...

the same farking human race issues - race and religion: these twin swords will destroy the whole world and cost millions of unnecessary deaths and destruction...shittoh!!!

Sure i know about tolerance and all etc but still there comes a point where one must put the foot down. If assholes want to take yards after being given inches i say hell no.

As for europe i read that it's cos their govt is run by jewish ppl directly in govt or by proxy that forces them to accept so many dangerous immigrants especially muslim ones.

The whites are still pretty outspoken however, they will hold rallies to protest if pushed enough i worry the chinese here will be pushed with their back to the wall and still continue to be pushed without fighting back.

Also ang mohs use to bully and colonize others so now that they are invaded i see that as karma for them. Guess they kind of lost their balls.

Frankiestine

This observation is not exactly true. Islam doesn't forbid Muslims from eating together with non-Muslims. It only require Muslims to eat halal food. I've been eating at the same table with Muslim friends, not a problem. Sometimes we all eat the same foods, i.e. all-halal. Sometimes the non-Muslims like me eat different and non-halal foods, not a problem too.

I once had a Malay/Muslim friend who burned paper offerings in chinese temples and another who ate pork (pong bak)..not trying to insult cos i actually witnessed these...

Frankiestine

If I was one of the Malay MPs, past or present, it would sure feel like a big slap on the face and then MM spitting at me. But all past and present Malay MPs don't appear affected at all. Their resilence must be applauded!
Not their resilience but rather the pay package...:biggrin:

The father has really thrown down a banana skin from which his son has stepped on and slipped, considering this is election year it would be interesting to know whether there will be any backlash or fall out from the old mental untimely revelation.

Liquigas

I mentioned twice before here that the local Malays do not see themselves as a minority race but rather as members of the dominant race in the entire Malay Archipelago.

Malays by and large are easy going, peaceful and tolerant. Please do not disturb, provoke and insult them. The greatest fear and worst case scenario, is to witness our Malay youth turning into an angry and violent mob, brandishing their keris and shouting slogans like - 'One People, One Nation, One religion' and 'Chinkies Go Home' ....

comeon johnny, wat's wrong with stating facts? in singapore ppl don't make up fairy tales about others. chinese also get called names like dishonest, unfrenly, money minded etc and only a minority of chinese are like that but they don't complain. Why should the malays complain if ppl say that about them?

thats why i knew i was correct that it's racist if you speak unflattering facts about malays.

LKYs is attacking their religion that is bound to create emotional feelings. All I'm saying is that LKY is playing a dangerous game by playing the religious card which is even more dangerous than playing the racial card. :eek:

The same thing would happen if LKY went around criticising the religious beliefs of chinese, indians,...

Many of us hold our own stereotypes of the various races in Spore. We can discuse our opinions in the kopitiam on a personal level. However LKY is the MM of Spore and he made these statements publicly:eek:

What rubbish? GWB has not pumped out a single drop of oil from Iraq.

It is well known than Bush Jr & Co have ties to oil.
Guess who are in Iraq now extracting the oil, hint: american oil companies:rolleyes:

The following article is just one of many that you can find on the web:

http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/americas/1138009.stm

Analysis: Oil and the Bush cabinet
By Katty Kay

A majority of President Bush's new cabinet are millionaires and several are multimillionaires.

According to information from financial disclosure reports, released by the Office of Government Ethics, most cabinet appointees have amassed their fortunes in stock options.

Now a Washington-based think tank is questioning whether some of the cabinet members could face a possible conflict of interest.

It is not unusual for American politicians to be rich. For the last two decades more than half of all cabinet members have been millionaires.

Strong ties

But the number of millionaires in this new cabinet highlights the influence of money in American politics.

"You don¹t come to Washington and give up your life and business unless you have a lot of money," said Charles Lewis, executive director of the Center for Public Integrity.

What makes the new Bush administration different from previous wealthy cabinets is that so many of the officials have links to the same industry - oil.

The president, vice-president, commerce secretary and national security adviser all have strong ties to the oil industry.

Vice-President Dick Cheney amassed some £50m-$60m while he was chief executive of Haliburton oil company.

Commerce Secretary Donald Evans held stock valued between $5m and $25m in Tom Brown Inc, the oil and gas exploration company he headed.

Opening exploration

National Security Adviser Condoleeza Rice was a director of Chevron.

The concentration of energy connections is so pronounced that some critics are calling the Bush government the "oil and gas administration".

There are also questions about how energy policy decisions may be affected by the private financial interests of so many senior cabinet members.

The Bush administration has already made it clear that it would be interested in opening up oil exploration in Alaska.

It is a move opposed by environmental groups but favoured by energy companies. With oil prices rising in recent months this issue has taken on new urgency.

Political apathy

And this is not just the era of wealthy cabinet members.

One third of this senate are millionaires and 10 of the major presidential candidates also had financial fortunes in the millions.

If wealth is a prerequisite of political office, it appears that poverty is often a hallmark of political apathy.

Charles Lewis of the Center for Public Integrity said: "There is a perception of wealthy folks running the government and those who are not wealthy not participating in government."

Of the 100 million Americans who do not vote, the overwhelming majority are lower middle class or poor.

diversifyx2

So since you have first hand experience about what LKY was talking about, why don't you list it here the things that Muslims can actually do to integrate and be less strict. And how doing so will help.

Should you find that difficult to do, please consider the possibility that your beliefs to be a figment of your imagination, far removed from the truth and what is actually happening on the ground.

Listing them is not a big problem but brothers and sisters here would remind me am racist, just spend some time like me like 20 yrs with them and you would be able to taste it, unless you are one of them and are unable to see a clearer picture.

diversifyx2

Also not to forget how mm say about them, come this election, their votes still going to pap, just wait and see, these are the most kiasi and kiasu ppl around sg whether you agree or not.

Dreamer1

Cass is rite on this.

U.S. Companies Shut Out as Iraq Auctions Its Oil Fields - TIME19 Dec 2009 ... U.S. Companies Shut Out as Iraq Auctions Its Oil Fields ... Al-Shahrastani unsealed envelopes from each company, stating how much oil it would produce, ... Read "Pump It Up: The Development of Iraq's Oil Reserves" ...
www.time.com/time/world/article/0,8599,1948787,00.html
Do you have new evidence?

Quote:
Originally Posted by cass888
What rubbish? GWB has not pumped out a single drop of oil from Iraq.

It is well known than Bush Jr & Co have ties to oil.
Guess who are in Iraq now extracting the oil, hint: american oil companies

Devil Within

LKYs is attacking their religion that is bound to create emotional feelings. All I'm saying is that LKY is playing a dangerous game by playing the religious card which is even more dangerous than playing the racial card. :eek:
Playing other religious cards is not as dangerous as playing Islam religious card.

The same thing would happen if LKY went around criticising the religious beliefs of chinese, indians,...

Criticising Buddhist, you won't get death threats from Buddhist all over the world. The Taliban blew up historical (treasure) Buddhist statue but you don't see Buddhist go up in arms to declare revenge killing of Taliban Muslims.

Malaysia mistreatment of Hindu temples, you don't see Hindu in India or Malaysia itself crying for revenge killing of Malaysian Muslims.

An author wrote a book about Jesus called "The Da Vinci Code" but you don't get Christians and Catholics calling for death of the Author.

One Denmark cartoonist only draw cartoons of Muhammad and you get death threats and bomb threats for all of Denmark from Muslims all over.

U.S. Companies Shut Out as Iraq Auctions Its Oil Fields - TIME19 Dec 2009 ... U.S. Companies Shut Out as Iraq Auctions Its Oil Fields ... Al-Shahrastani unsealed envelopes from each company, stating how much oil it would produce, ... Read "Pump It Up: The Development of Iraq's Oil Reserves" ...
www.time.com/time/world/article/0,8599,1948787,00.html
Do you have new evidence?

How about the following article from Bloomberg:confused:

There are not many oil companies out there with the expertise to exploit Iraq's oil and the main ones are from US & Britain. Even Russia needs help from these companies to develop their oil fields.

http://www.businessweek.com/globalbiz/content/mar2010/gb2010034_232444.htm

Europe March 4, 2010, 3:50PM EST text size: TT
Iraq Opens Up to Foreign Oil Majors
Western producers like BP, Exxon Mobil, and Shell are enjoying their best access to Iraq's southern oil fields since 1972, but a weaker government could be on the way

By Anthony DiPaola and Daniel Williams

(Bloomberg) -- BP Plc and Exxon Mobil Corp. took the best deal they could get in Iraq last year when they won the largest oil contracts since Saddam Hussein was toppled in 2003. Oil companies may wait a long time to get a better one.

Parliamentary elections may produce a weak or unstable government incapable of tendering new oil contracts, said Samuel Ciszuk, a London-based analyst at IHS Global Insight. He said he does expect the 10 technical-services contracts won by Exxon, BP and 20 other companies to be honored.

"One thing that's fairly certain is there won't be a strong coalition, so it may take time for the next government to get its act together," Ciszuk said in a telephone interview.

"Bottlenecks could hold up production increases" if no government forms by June.

Western producers haven't had access to oil fields in southern Iraq since 1972, when the country nationalized production including concessions owned by the companies now known as BP, Royal Dutch Shell Plc and Exxon.

The contracts awarded in two auctions, which pay a per-barrel fee for development work rather than granting a share in the production itself, will cost the companies a total of about $100 billion to develop deposits, Oil Minister Hussain al-Shahristani said in December. Iraq, with the world's third-largest oil reserves, will earn about $200 billion a year.
Service Fees

A group led by BP, which vies with Shell as Europe's largest oil company, will receive $2 billion per year in fees to develop the Rumaila field. A Shell-led group will get $913 million and a group led by Exxon, the largest U.S. oil company, will receive $1.6 billion per year. Each calculation is based on the agreed-to per-barrel fee times the maximum production level.

"We see this as the beginning of a long-term relationship with Iraq and will continue to look for further opportunities," Andy Inglis, BP's chief executive for exploration and production, said on a conference call March 2.

Prime Minister Nouri al-Maliki, whose government signed last year's oil contracts, is running against an array of opponents. Sunni Muslim, Shiite Muslim and Kurdish factions, along with a pan-sectarian party, all are in the race with Al-Maliki's Shiite-based Rule of Law coalition.

The sectarian blocs are also divided one against another, making it unlikely any one group can win a majority.

"This is the most wide-open election in Iraq's history," said Faleh Abdul-Jabar, director of the Beirut-based Iraq Institute for Strategic Studies, in a telephone interview.
Troop Withdrawal

U.S. troop levels will fall to 50,000 from the current 97,000 by August of this year, according to a schedule laid out by President Barack Obama in February 2009. All troops will leave by the end of 2011 under an agreement with the Iraqi government reached by President George W. Bush.

A change in Iraq's government won't affect contracts signed last year, al-Shahristani said in a March 2 interview in Baghdad. The amount of work needed on the contracts means the oil companies can afford to wait for a new government to form and consolidate its power before pressing for fresh production or exploration contracts.

The only region where companies participate in more than fee-for-service work is in Iraq's north. Companies including Norway's DNO International ASA are pumping crude in the Kurdish autonomous region under production-sharing agreements not recognized by the central government.

Indecision over forming a government could delay investment in oil projects, said David Bender, a Middle East analyst at Eurasia Group in Washington.
Most Attractive

"Iraq is one of the most attractive oil markets in the world," Bender said. "The international oil companies may feel that getting in at the beginning improves their long-term prospects."

Winning contracts to explore undiscovered and untapped deposits under more favorable terms is a long-term goal for producers operating in Iraq, said two officials with oil companies that won contracts last year. The officials asked not to be identified since they aren't allowed to speak publicly about company policies in Iraq.

Iraq has much work ahead to meet its production goals, so new exploration agreements are unlikely to be signed soon, said Centre for Global Energy Studies in London.

"People are going to ask, 'Why should we sell resources that can't be reproduced? What is the rush?'" he said.

London-based BP and China National Petroleum Corp. agreed in June to produce 2.85 million barrels a day at Rumaila, the only field locked up in the first round and one of Iraq's largest.

Exxon, based in Irving, Texas, together with Shell, based in The Hague, pledged to pump 2.33 million barrels of crude a day from the first phase of the West Qurna field. Patrick McGinn, a spokesman for Exxon, said in a March 3 e-mail that the company doesn't comment on political issues.

Shell also was the lead partner with Malaysia's Petroliam Nasional Bhd., or Petronas, winning a contract to boost output at the Majnoon field to 1.8 million barrels of oil a day.

"Big or small, no company wanted to be left out of Iraq," Takin said.

To contact the reporters on this story: Anthony iPaola in Dubai at [email protected]. Daniel Williams in Cairo at [email protected].

Playing other religious cards is not as dangerous as playing Islam religious card.

The extremism brand of Islam orignated from the middle east & these views are being exported world wide. I remember when the Spore Malays didn't wear the veils, but today you'll find many covering up due the influence from the middle east. Some go to the extremes of totally covering up in black.

There are hindu extremists out there, they can be found outside of this region. Look at what happened in Ayodhya when the hindus & muslims had a dispute over a temple.

Don't want to go into the merits of one religion over another. My concern is with why LKY has played the religious card:confused: Is it a case of a careless tongue of a senile old man or something more?

Spore is fortunate in that religious relations are peaceful. However we are facing problems caused by the PAP: foreign horde, inflation, etc

Do we really need a religious conflict to add to our problems:confused:

Devil Within

The extremism brand of Islam orignated from the middle east & these views are being exported world wide. I remember when the Spore Malays didn't wear the veils, but today you'll find many covering up due the influence from the middle east. Some go to the extremes of totally covering up in black.

That's why old fart tells local don't be so strict like the middle east. They are nothing but trouble. Trouble not only to the authorities, but to local non-Muslim and moderate Muslims alike.

Do we really need a religious conflict to add to our problems:confused:

Nope, we do not need another religious conflict. The one in 60s is headache enough. But that does not mean we should hide this potentially charged problem and pretend it doesn't exit. Being aware of such problems and make ways to prevent it from erupting is the best solution for now. That's why old fart tell the locals don't be too strict. That goes to all other religion as well.

That's why old fart tells local don't be so strict like the middle east. They are nothing but trouble. Trouble not only to the authorities, but to local non-Muslim and moderate Muslims alike.

Even PM Lee disagrees with his father MM LKY. So I'll give him the last word:smile:

Muslims have done much to integrate, says PM
He says his perspective on the matter differs from MM's
By Zakir Hussain , POLITICAL CORRESPONDENT

A resident greeting PM Lee and Yio Chu Kang MP Seng Han Thong (on PM?s left) at a wet market and food centre in Ang Mo Kio Avenue 4 during Mr Lee's visit to the constituency yesterday morning. PM Lee said that while religion had become an important part of the lives of Muslims and others here, tremendous progress had also been made in bringing the different communities closer. --ST PHOTO: MUGILAN RAJASEGERAN

THE Prime Minister yesterday spelt out the Government's view on the progress made by Singapore's Muslims in integrating with other communities, saying that his perspective on the matter differed from Minister Mentor Lee Kuan Yew's.

The Muslim community in Singapore has made great efforts to integrate with other communities, and to help make Singapore one of the most harmonious and successful multi-religious societies in the world, PM Lee Hsien Loong said yesterday. 'Muslims are a valued and respected community, who have done a good deal to strengthen our harmony and social cohesion,' he said.

He also encouraged community leaders to keep on expanding the common space while upholding their respective religious beliefs.

PM Lee was speaking to reporters at Yio Chu Kang Community Club, where he presented oranges and food items to 100 needy residents ahead of Chinese New Year.

He is an MP for Ang Mo Kio GRC, which borders Yio Chu Kang constituency.

His comments came in the wake of remarks on Muslims and Islam by MM Lee, made in a new book Lee Kuan Yew: Hard Truths To Keep Singapore Going.

PM Lee noted that his own perspective on the subject was 'not quite the same' as MM Lee's.

The latter's views stemmed from his experience having watched how Singapore and other multiracial societies had evolved since the 1950s.

'My own perspective on how things are in Singapore, based on my interaction with the Malay community...is not quite the same as MM's,' said PM Lee.

Religion had become an important part of the lives of Muslims and others in Singapore, he noted, but tremendous progress had also been made in bringing different communities closer.

He cited how Muslims dress differently and are more conscious of religious requirements today than they were 50 years ago.

'We recognise these changing norms. But at the same time, we ought to be careful not to let them evolve so that differences in food, dress, customs and so on keep us apart or reduce our common space,' he said.

'Singapore Muslims have been conscious of this and have made that special effort to try and bridge the links between them and the other communities.'

Such efforts, he said, helped Singapore deal with sensitive issues such as extremism in a manner that strengthened trust among people rather than drove them apart, and they must continue.

MM Lee's remarks in the book were in response to questions on the state of multiracialism in Singapore.

He said: 'I have to speak candidly to be of value, but I do not want to offend the Muslim community. I think we were progressing very nicely until the surge of Islam came, and if you asked me for my observations, the other communities have easier integration - friends, inter-marriages and so on - than Muslims.'

He also said: 'Muslims socially do not cause any trouble, but they are distinct and separate.'

Asked what Muslims could do to integrate, he said: 'Be less strict on Islamic observances and say, 'Okay, I'll eat with you'.'

The remarks drew expressions of regret from a number of Muslim groups, and calls for the Government to clarify whether it shared those views.

The Muslim Missionary Society (Jamiyah) pointed out that Muslims were already mixing with others in workplaces, HDB estates, community centres and schools. Leaders of various religious groups also shared a close relationship.

PM Lee noted this point, adding that many races and religions co-exist harmoniously in Singapore, with give and take, respect and regard for one another.

'I hope we all continue to do this, and I think we can do this without being any less Muslim, Christian, Buddhist or whatever,' he said.

Minister-in-charge of Muslim Affairs Yaacob Ibrahim made a similar point on Saturday when he noted that Muslims here can be both religious and patriotic at the same time, and have indeed been working with fellow Singaporeans to integrate and help in nation-building.

While acknowledging that religion is a more salient feature of Singapore today than 50 years ago, PM Lee noted that the Singapore identity is also much stronger today.

Asked how Singaporeans should react if a similar issue crops up again, he said some degree of awkwardness and discomfort was understandable.

He said: 'This is a discussion which is a continuing one...Let's take it as an impetus to us to strengthen and improve the work we've done.'

As for whether the episode might have an impact at the general election (GE), he said: 'I hope the community will consider this in a positive light, and from the discussions some good will come.

'And I hope that when the GE comes, they will vote for the party which looks after them, and which will strengthen religious and racial harmony in Singapore.'

Mr Sakdun Sardi, 46, executive chairman of the Al-Muttaqin Mosque whose worshippers took part in yesterday's event, welcomed PM Lee's reassurance on the matter, which had sparked some unease in the Muslim community.

'I'm glad that he said you do not have to be less Muslim to be a good citizen,' he said. 'We should move on.'