• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

LKT: It is not for me to decide whether 3-corner fight or not.

Why should there be a three cornered fight. It is a foregone conclusion by many that in order to truly avoid such, the WP should have the first shot. They have been working for this constituency for many years. Any other opposition party who comes in now are doing it from scratch. Not to mention that would be throwing a spanner into WP's works. Such a hypocritical statement from Chee.

Speaking to The Straits Times last night, the SDP secretary-general said it had told the WP initially that it could meet on Saturday.

But after the Writ was issued yesterday, it suggested that talks be brought forward to tomorrow.

WP chairman Sylvia Lim replied, he said, adding: "There was no indication that they wanted to meet."

Dr Chee said he was still hopeful that talks could still take place.

However, WP chief Low Thia Khiang separately said last night that it was not only up to WP to avoid a three-cornered fight.

Exactly! SDP talks as if all other parties should avoid a three cornered fight by allowing its candidate to contest.

WP had contested the seat previously, he added, indicating it had therefore prior claim.

Earlier, Dr Chee said that SDP is committed to offering a credible candidate in Punggol East.....

- http://wherebearsroamfree.blogspot.sg/2013/01/sdps-punggol-east-by-election-candidate.html

as usual, the bickering has started even before nomination day..

i say there is no hope liao...

dr koh will return unchallenged and unopposed....PAP WNS FOR SURE!!!

imho, LTK is getting too arrogant and deserves to lose...

what prior claim???? every singaporean has the right to go and stand for BE!!!

if i got sponsors and supporters, i will go and fight all the buggers there....

Tonychat, can you sponsor me???

Punggol East by election has to be one on one

This is a truism that everyone knows. Anything other than this is a waste of time for the opposition parties. Are the opposition parties really going to go for a 5 corner fight or 3 corner fight?

I believe they are sensible people and will not let selfish interest, pride or ego get in the way and make a fool out of every one of them. And the joke will be on them if they do so. The other theory is that the moles will appear to do the most damage possible as this by election is going to be another big step for the opposition should they take another seat from the PAP.

How would it end up on nomination day? All the posturing and chest thumping could be just that and sanity would rule and a proper and real contest will be set up on polling day. That is what everyone wish to see, everyone who wants to see a good fight.

We will have to wait and see.

Posted by Chua Chin Leng aka redbean at 8:44 AM

if we have sensible and wise politicians, we would not have arrived at this political backwater...

SDP say they want to talk to WP, unless SDP talk to every opposition and ALL agree to back down and let SDP stand, or else talking to WP alone won't avoid multi corner fight.

All the small parties must understand that they are still too weak to take on PAP, to ride on protest vote alone is not going to get enough vote to win PAP. I am pessimistic and have a bad feeling PAP will still win, just like the last PE.

WP's vote will be diluted and PAP win
Opposition will be seen as a messy and divided lot
If they don't learn, come 2016 history will repeat itself.

if we have sensible and wise politicians, we would not have arrived at this political backwater...

....WP's vote will be diluted and PAP win
Opposition will be seen as a messy and divided lot
If they don't learn, come 2016 history will repeat itself.

you are a wise singaporean. but why sad if pap wins? it's the stupidity of the oppo parties...bloody idiotic.just look at all the clowns and all the stupid and self-destructive remarks and statements...they all look like a ragtag dad's army!!! how to convince the voters?

and take a good look at dr koh - young, handsome, intelligent, clean, professional, doctor,surgeon...all the good values for an MP!!!
if i stay in PE, i will certainly vote for the good doctor...and i will even persuade my block and my neighbourhood to vote for dr koh...

LKT may not "mind" losing this BE, even if just to make a point for the next GE - that if silly small timers insist on wishing to use the BE as a "survey or research" on their acceptance.

He has not ruled out the possibilty of using Gerald Giam, to steel him further for the big one.

WP had contested the seat previously, he added, indicating it had therefore prior claim.

using this logic, will WP give up Tampines GRC to NSP next GE ? NSP have contested three consecutive times in Tampines since GE2001.

people shouldn't twist and turn just to suit their position. i wish...

using this logic, will WP give up Tampines GRC to NSP next GE ? NSP have contested three consecutive times in Tampines since GE2001.

precisely! you are wise! LTK killed himself and his own party!!! I wish and pray that Nicole Seah will appear at Nomination Day and file her papers!! And that will give everyone a real SHOCKING AWAKENING!!!...where is Nicole now???

Good question.

Personally, I think the best opposition candidate should contest, regardless of party. If WP has the better candidate, let them go one-on-one with the PAP. If SDP's candidate is superior to the rest, WP should give way.

A 3-way fight would give victory to PAP on a platter.

Good question.

Personally, I think the best opposition candidate should contest, regardless of party. If WP has the better candidate, let them go one-on-one with the PAP. If SDP's candidate is superior to the rest, WP should give way.

ideally so. but each party believes it has the BEST candidate and each will want their BEST candidate to contest...so in the end we have 4 to 5 BEST candidates fighting one BEST PAP...it's a great joke all these bickerings!!! No hope lah...

Most people can be quite objective in evaluating a candidate's quality vis-a-vis another, especially if discrepancies are huge. Who do you think is the better candidate to field: Yee Jenn Jong or Desmond Lim? Prof Paul Tambyah or Lee Li Lian?

sorry man..i think prof tambyah will give the good doctor koh a good fight...imho...i would prefer michelle to come forward!

Good question.

A 3-way fight would give victory to PAP on a platter.

Your suggestion works in favor for PAP under our current first past the post system.
Opposition must gain traction in showing that they are ready can capable to take over PAP
Then the same system will work against PAP but we can never reach there with a fragmented opposition.

A perfect situation will be a united opposition against PAP
Win over majority seats in Parliament, change constitution to reform electoral system to one that reflect % votes to seats ratio
Then we have no problem in multi corner fights.

But we don't live in a perfect world but one that fill with idiots.

It's only a seat and a PAP seat currently.

I very much like to see a 3 corners fight between PAP, WP and SDP. Firstly to narrow down the opposition voters ( how much majority is WP support over SDP? ). Secondly, it should signals to all opposition that they should continue with the horse trading comes next general election and not to be too arrogant. The time has yet to come.

A perfect situation will be a united opposition against PAP

Yes, that's ideal. I've always advocated an opposition alliance to wrest the majority of seats and form a coalition government, unseating the PAP in the process. It is still doable, if WP (as the dominant opposition party) would deign to come to the table with the other opposition parties for GE2016. I'm sure the other parties would not mind WP playing the big brother role in an alliance.

Win over majority seats in Parliament, change constitution to reform electoral system to one that reflect % votes to seats ratio

Agree that proportional representation has many advantages over the current FPTP system, which has been exploited and corrupted by the GRC system to entrench PAP's grip on parliamentary representation.

It's only a seat and a PAP seat currently.

I very much like to see a 3 corners fight between PAP, WP and SDP. Firstly to narrow down the opposition voters ( how much majority is WP support over SDP? ). Secondly, it should signals to all opposition that they should continue with the horse trading comes next general election and not to be too arrogant. The time has yet to come.

True, a 3CF would give an indicator of oppo voters' preference and be the catalyst for oppo co-operation in 2016. These are valid arguments.

The flip side is that the PAP will definitely win in a 3CF since oppo votes will be split. A straight fight will give the oppo a fighting 50-50 chance of winning, provided the best candidate is fielded.

So, do we want this seat to go to the opposition – which might precipitate a PAP decline faster – or do we use this BE as a weathervane to shore up opposition co-operation for the future?

We at Ponggol East wants an opposition but we hate 3 corner fight
that would give papaya a chance to win, we prefer one to one! opposition
better chance of winning!

A good politician should be able to serve the people, and not screw the
people, like what the Papaya did, Highest Stupid COE only one in the world
that has got this stupid system invented by the Pay And Pay gahmen, ERP in and out
also pay, Import of Large numbers of Foreign Trash, make sardines out of MRT train
influx of Trash in the train!

Papaya alway seen as a big bully, if you tell the truth they sue you for defamation,
"Being young, handsome, intelligent, clean, professional, doctor,surgeon...all the good values for an MP'
as mentioned here does not make you a good Politician, you must have the people's heart in your
heart! Inflation has hit the heartland very hard, food court taking advantage increase drink and food prices!!
Petrol prices in Peasantpore gahmen tax on it still high, Petroluem company are protected by the Pay and Pay
gahmen, so they keep prices high causing unnecessary inflation!!

I still prefer Hawkers centre not those stupid Food Court! they are the worst lot! Go compare Food court quantity,
quality and prices at Rivervalemall and Hawker centres which one you prefer? Rivervale mall has a monopoly as they are
the only one, so residents has no choice, Papaya doesn't provide this alternative!! They leave to Capitaland to monopolised!

Bottom line we need an oppostion at Ponggol East..Palmerised has evaporated and resigned..good bye!

Workers Party should come in!!!

True, a 3CF would give an indicator of oppo voters' preference and be the catalyst for oppo co-operation in 2016. These are valid arguments.

The flip side is that the PAP will definitely win in a 3CF since oppo votes will be split. A straight fight will give the oppo a fighting 50-50 chance of winning, provided the best candidate is fielded.

So, do we want this seat to go to the opposition – which might precipitate a PAP decline faster – or do we use this BE as a weathervane to shore up opposition co-operation for the future?

actually, the reality is only a WP candidate can win the election for the oppo. the best candidate under whichever oppo ticket really cannot win.

oppo voters like WP a lot. i don't know why. the last GE WP huge rallies turnout and the results proved that.