• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

List of hawker centers/food courts with tray return

Dun be like sheep.
Civil disobedience, show pappies the middle finger

The society can be above the dirty crap and behaviour of the politicians. It is more gracious and civilized to be conscious of public behaviour and ethics. As for the pappies, just simply vote them out.

Whilst I commend the NEA for re-introducing this scheme, it will make no difference to the mindset of most Sinkies who eat at hawker centers, food courts or fast food outlets.
Diners have been inculcated with a belief that clearing trays is someones else's responsibility - not mine. Most argue (rather pathetically) that by returning trays to tray stations, they would be depriving the uncles and aunties of an income if they no longer have to clear trays. Some even argue that "it keeps them in a job, they else would not have!"

Ikea have tried to instill a practice of returning food trays at their two stores in Queensway and Tampines for many years now. They argue that if diners clear their trays, the cleaners could be deployed on more productive work by providing a more efficient service to customers, job enrichment, if you will. Unfortunately, from my observations at weekends, many still leave their trays even though the tray return station is two feet way!

If Ikea cannot persuade people to return their trays, the NEA has no chance with this scheme. I guess leaving trays to be cleared by someone else is a typical Asian trait as I seldom see this behavior in western countries.

sometimes, the cleaners get too enthusiastic about clearing the plates even when I haven't finished eating, just stopped for a while to look at something or someone, she start clearing already............................

so another advantage is for the cleaners to only clear the plates if there's nobody there and it looks like the person has finished eating, sometimes must also be careful of them clearing the plates when you go and buy a drink.................

Good cleaners will ask for your permission before they proceed with the clearing up. Basic common sense, no different from dining at a restaurant.

If Ikea cannot persuade people to return their trays, the NEA has no chance with this scheme. I guess leaving trays to be cleared by someone else is a typical Asian trait as I seldom see this behavior in western countries.

It's definitely a 'trait' in prisons and camps.

NEA, stop treating the people like prisoners or conscripts. Fuck off and do something more productive instead, for example, getting rid of mosquito larvae.

sometimes, the cleaners get too enthusiastic about clearing the plates even when I haven't finished eating, just stopped for a while to look at something or someone, she start clearing already ...
got sum wen dey c u almost finishing, stand there n wait 4 u 2 finis ... wen dey c u about 2 put down ur chopsticks, dey immediately mov in ... :rolleyes:

... sometimes must also be careful of them clearing the plates when you go and buy a drink.................
u muz try not 2 eat alone ...

sometimes, the cleaners get too enthusiastic about clearing the plates even when I haven't finished eating, just stopped for a while to look at something or someone, she start clearing already...

bro,
me kena that some times :o:o:o

Once, a younger colleague on a busness trip from Europe cleared his tray after eating at a fast food place, while I was preparing to leave my tray there for the cleaner. I quickly followed his example, and since then, have always cleared my tray at fast food places, and also do so whenever there is a tray return place at a foodcourt or hawker centre.

This could be something good for the young spoilt brats these days to learn, never mind that it's a government initiative.

The society can be above the dirty crap and behaviour of the politicians. It is more gracious and civilized to be conscious of public behaviour and ethics. As for the pappies, just simply vote them out.

No need to talk about gracious behavior when country gone to the dogs with the white dogs letting in foreign dogs.
Fuck them show them we reject their stewpig initiative

Good cleaners will ask for your permission before they proceed with the clearing up. Basic common sense, no different from dining at a restaurant.

Sometimes they ask and I tell them not finished yet, sometimes they mutter something which I can't make out and they proceed to try and clear, other times they are so sullen that they start clearing without even asking.
There are different types and you can't expect the cleaners to be like waiters at a restaurant, although that would be great.............

sometimes, the cleaners get too enthusiastic about clearing the plates even when I haven't finished eating, just stopped for a while to look at something or someone, she start clearing already.............................

Maybe she hadn't taken lunch and was eyeing your plate.

hehehe...
by the time me finished my meal, the cleaning auntie would be helping me clearing the plates... oh yah, the wanton mee at Tampines round market retained its standards after so many years :):):)

Yup the wanton mee is good but the young man taking the order can be a cunt at times.

the father should be in his 30s when they started in 85/86... remembered there was a lady helping them, she couldn't speak but could hear, me think. fantastic memory when she took orders and amazed at how quick she signed those orders back to the stall...

Sometimes they ask and I tell them not finished yet, sometimes they mutter something which I can't make out and they proceed to try and clear, other times they are so sullen that they start clearing without even asking.
There are different types and you can't expect the cleaners to be like waiters at a restaurant, although that would be great.............

I fully agree with bro jw5.

As I mentioned in some other thread before, some cleaners really have this fucktard attitude in doing their work. They just approach the table and proceed to clear the plates and utensils even if you tell them to leave them alone until you have finished. We are not here to put them down or look down on them. They got their job to do yes, but they should have the common sense, decency and courtesy when someone is eating, wait until the person has finished and if more than one person, wait till the whole table is done.

Chinese have a saying 民以食为天 that is to emphasize that ordinary people view eating as a very important event. The Hokkiens also have another saying - chiak peng, hong tei tua (吃饭皇帝大), that is, when one is eating, he is as grand as the emperor, meaning, have respect for the person who who is eating and leave him to eat in peace.

That is why the best restaurants are the ones who train their waiters and waitresses to wait by the side quietly, unobtrusively and never, never to interrupt the customer while he is eating. The waiter/waitress will go to customer only if he (customer) summons for some service or when the people on the whole table have completed their eating.

Unfortunately, hawker centres and food courts can never be compared to restaurant service. Whilst we know this, the cleaners and their supervisors at least ought to learn to respect the customers by leaving them in peace to complete their meals without being disturbed by the clearing of plates and utensils.

Together with the plates and bowls on the tray go the trash, leftovers, bones, tissue and whatever litter is left - they all go onto the tray which is then taken to the return area. If all of these were disposables (eg. paper plates and cups, dsiposable utensils, etc) then the whole lot can be emptied into the trash and the empty tray returned and stacked immediately. People should treat public places like their own home, including toilets. Wipe the seats, knobs and stuff after they are wetted before leaving. These "basics" should be inculcated in every child and become a social norm.

What about soup, gravy spilt onto the tables and chairs? Do all diners actually clean up?

We assume that ALL diners put ALL trash, leftovers, bones, tissue etc onto the tray and dispose. There are diners who clear only the plates but leave the rubbish on the table.

Now no flush public toilets is against the law....
If return trays is successful next sheep will have to wash toilets after use....
Gracious society my foot! You go teach the for urge trash some manners first....

in this regard, u.s. food courts are more advanced than sg by about two dozen years. the food court concept started in the u.s. around 1990, mainly in enclosed shopping malls, many years behind sg. when it started, customers were already returning trays to tray and trash stations. there were no "choping" of tables. sinkies need to be whipped in the arse and spurs stuck in their hide. :D

Personally I have no issues returning my tray. Hopefully the cleaning companies will not use it as an excuse to cut pay or cut jobs.

No need to talk about gracious behavior when country gone to the dogs with the white dogs letting in foreign dogs.
Fuck them show them we reject their stewpig initiative

All can play the game lah!..go along with the flow...read the huge stickers says "RETURN THE TRAY", not the plates, the bowl, the cutlery or the leftovers...so return the TRAY ha ha ha

Their ideas always fall flat in their faces...unless you want yourself to fall flat on your face, when they say "trial period" over...we fine those who don't return the tray...so what we do, we help them... we conveniently leave the leftovers all over the table..& return the tray with the plates etc ha ha ha

Then next they will organize a clean after you eat campaign....ha ha ha...better still, the food stall operators will feed you directly after you pay....:D

Personally I have no issues returning my tray. Hopefully the cleaning companies will not use it as an excuse to cut pay or cut jobs.

If they do, I hope they will also take the opportunity to take the food prices down.

how many are in the tray-return food center and still will not return the tray.

i honour these fellows...