• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Lim Suay Suay : I'm Paid To Tell You All This

CENWEN

Enlarge Photo Job losses could be worse if not for tripartite partners, says Lim Swee Say

Labour Movement chief Lim Swee Say warns there will be a second wave of retrenchments.

<cite class="auth">Channel NewsAsia - Wednesday, April 29</cite>
SINGAPORE: The job situation in Singapore could have been worse given the severity of the global economic downturn, if not for the concerted efforts of the government, businesses and labour movement, said NTUC’s secretary—general, Lim Swee Say.

<script language="javascript">if(window.yzq_d==null)window.yzq_d=new Object(); window.yzq_d['DRAwOHxsfDI-']='&U=13fggmgnn%2fN%3dDRAwOHxsfDI-%2fC%3d735426.13437201.13525466.2013436%2fD%3dLREC%2fB%3d5711542%2fV%3d1'; </script><noscript>
b
</noscript>Making the point in his May Day message to workers on Tuesday, Mr Lim said measures like the Skills Programme for Upgrading and Resilience (SPUR) and Jobs Credit have made a difference in saving jobs. He said: "Many companies, (when) faced with a situation of excess manpower, they either retrench the workers or find ways to keep the workers at the minimum costs. In the case of SPUR and Job Credits, they have come in very handy, enabling many companies either to defer retrenchment or reduce retrenchment.

"We have come across companies asking for more, but at the same time we also have companies which have taken concrete action to try to find ways to break even at a much lower level of revenue, and yet at the same time working in collaboration to take full advantage of the various schemes offered by the economic agencies. "(But) there are companies which will keep asking for more, (regardless of) whether the government or the union can do more to support them. Our message to them is: as we go through this downturn, the pain will be so severe that it is not realistic to hope for a painless solution. "What the government and labour movement can do is to lighten the pain and share the load. And what we need is for the management to take the lead as well and play their part to find ways to cut wage and non—wage costs."

In the unionised sector, retrenchments were reaching as high as 900 per week during the Lunar New Year period. However, the number has now dropped to an average of less than 300 per week, averting a potentially explosive situation of massive retrenchment in Singapore, said the Labour Movement chief. "Everyday when I wake up, the first thing I look at is: what is the level of retrenchment, how many more jobs have we lost?" said Mr Lim. "The second thing I worry (about) is whether every job lost translates to another unemployed worker." Mr Lim warned that the battle against the downturn is far from over. He said the retrenchments in the first quarter of this year would not be the only wave of job losses, but just the first. Therefore, it was important for the tripartite partners to gear up for tougher challenges ahead of them, and not be disheartened. Besides tackling the immediate challenges of cutting costs and saving jobs, the NTUC chief said the labour movement has got to be ready for the upturn and hence the need to also ensure that workers are ready to take on new jobs and new openings in emerging markets and new growth areas. Mr Lim said: "Our key challenge today is not one of unemployment challenge, but rather the structural unemployment challenge.

There are still jobs today: e2i (the employment and employability institute) today has got about 19,000 jobs, the job seekers about 9,500. And yet overnight, we have not been able to match because of a mismatch of skills, because of expectations." He added that the tripartite partners are addressing this problem with SPUR. At the same time, Mr Lim added that it is also important for the country to keep building new capabilities, upgrade service quality and restructure businesses especially at the time of a downturn, so that it can be prepared to take full advantage when the upturn comes.
— CNA/yb/yt

Conan the Barbarian

He can say anything he wants. He knows that Singaporeans will vote for him in the coming elections.

Singaporeans should be happy every month when they see their CPF statement, and unlike him, we
wake up without having to think of unemployment numbers affecting others.

Thank you LSS for doing all that.

cheekenpie

He loves that "tripartite" word. Every damn speech he will use it. Do you think he knows what its means?

He means he will travel to the west with the MONKey, who will soon be relieve of his duties at RC.... he meant was tripatrika!:biggrin:; afterall, you look carefully..he resemble a monkey!

A monkey could tell me that.. and I only need to feed it peanuts.

The last rate of exchange was 1 peanut = S$600,000, how many primates have you feed to hear words of wisdom?

Are you the 66.6% SINgaporeans?, then you must surely have contributed to the primates peanuts feed!!..:biggrin:

pia

Sad to say, I've been contributing to the wrong apes :mad: Not that I'm 66%, but I still need to pay income tax, GST, ERP, COE etc.

Monkey : "oohh ooh aaahhh aaah oosh oohh aah aah" + monkey dance = 3 peanuts

Lim Suay: "oohh ooh aah aah tripartite ooh ooh aah aah " + monkey dance = 3 x $600,000

Sheesh ..

Vendetta

Public Sector really have a lot of Jiat Liao Bees aka Jeremys!

Why isn't there announcements on retrenchments in the Public Sectors?

Iron rice bowl also must break in times of recession leh to justify their pay for shit worth jobs... Don't they just get it?!?

FUCK ALL THE JEREMYS OUT THERE!!!

:oIo: :oIo: :oIo:

Vendetta

TLLM small boy!

I fuck your whole family plus 18 generation worth of TLLM's ancestors assholes!!!

:oIo: :oIo: :oIo:

Specialists at stating the obvious and making motherhood statements.

TheBonerman

wow.....cool down asshole, kena assed hard by papy and now by Jeremy prick.........shiok rite .....he he he .....:biggrin:

You like arse? Every time you talk about arses! You were born out of an arsehole? your daddy too? No wonder leetahbar make friend with you? You tasted his cock yet? yeeeeeee... dirty little boy!:eek:

He can said whichever he wanted because he has nothing to lose. He is well paid and his job is simply just talking similarly to Gan Kim Yong. Peasants are nothing to him now because Singaporean have all became poorer that posed no threat to the ruling party.

angie II

Lim Suay Suay : KNN!! Can u all here dun call me suay suay can or not? KNN!! Why my mother named me as Lim Swee Suay & not Swee Heng ah? KNN!!!