• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Lim Hng Kiang -foreigners as important as Singaporeans understand

†††††

Foreign worker cap poses real dilemma, says Lim Hng Kiang
'Huge trade-off' in lost growth opportunities involved
By Yasmine Yahya & Rachel Chang
Ms Foo Mee Har greeting a fishmonger at the Boon Lay market, as Mr Lim chats with a resident, during a walkabout yesterday. -- PHOTO: LIANHE http://www.straitstimes.com/STI/STIMEDIA/image/20110502/ST_IMAGES_SPLIM.jpg

RESTRICTING the number of foreign workers in Singapore's economy presents a 'real dilemma' for the Government, as it will likely require turning away big foreign investments.

Trade and Industry Minister Lim Hng Kiang yesterday appealed to Singaporeans to understand the 'huge trade-off' the country will have to accept in terms of lost opportunities for growth.

Responding to concerns over the influx of foreigners, the Government said early last year that it would maintain the proportion of foreigners in the labour force at its current level of one-third.

'We will keep foreign workers to one-third of the workforce, but I can tell you that one-third is a very severe limitation to us,' Mr Lim said, in characteristically frank terms.

He was speaking to reporters after a walkabout at Boon Lay market with his fellow People's Action Party (PAP) candidates for West Coast GRC - Mr S. Iswaran, Mr Arthur Fong, Mr Lawrence Wong and Ms Foo Mee Har.

In 2006 and 2007, he said, Singapore accepted a 'bumper crop' of investments in sectors like petrochemicals.

They meant an influx of foreign workers, but also helped the economy to expand by 7 per cent, he noted.

With the current limit on foreign workers, Singapore will have to aim for lower growth figures of 3 per cent to 5 per cent.

'If we have another bumper crop of investments, we'll have a dilemma. I'll have to be selective and turn away those that exceed our parameters,' he said.

The cap on foreign workers will also be a challenge for rapidly growing sectors like tourism, Mr Lim warned.

'We are talking to the tourism sector companies and we tell them, this is what Singaporeans want. We have to change our strategy and... it will require a lot of adjustments,' he said.

Mr Iswaran, who is Senior Minister of State for Trade and Industry, emphasised that these trade-offs require that the one-third cap be viewed as a long-term goal, rather than be kept to as a 'theological constraint'.

Mr Lim reiterated his view that taking in big investments with their concurrent need for foreign manpower yields the best outcome for Singaporeans.

He could bring in an investment that creates just 40,000 jobs, all for Singaporeans, and tell them to 'take it or leave it', he said.

But if he had the flexibility to bring in an investment that creates 80,000 jobs, one-third of them open to foreigners, Singaporeans could choose the best jobs - leaving the rest to foreigners.

He made it clear that while a cap on the number of foreign workers may assuage Singaporeans' concerns on the ground, the price would be paid in a loss of nimbleness and flexibility.

The latter has always been Singapore's competitive advantage, he said, citing the example of how ExxonMobil decided to build a $5 billion petrochemical plant in Singapore in 2007.

The plant on Jurong Island required a reconfiguration of the roads around it.

Even before the company had decided to build the plant in Singapore, the Government carried out this reconfiguration - illustrating its efficiency and tipping the balance decisively in Singapore's favour.

Ironically, residents in parts of Mr Lim's West Coast GRC are among those hardest-hit by the influx of foreigners.

Several foreign worker dormitories are sprinkled across Boon Lay and West Coast, which have meant that foreign workers are a common sight in housing estates, whether picnicking with friends at void decks or using the exercise facilities.

Mr Iswaran, who helms the West Coast-Ayer Rajah ward, acknowledged that 'it's a real issue' and said that MPs and grassroots leaders have attempted to shepherd along a process of accommodation and acceptance.

'On the one hand, it is about educating the foreign workers to raise their standards of behaviour. On the other hand, we are giving residents the assurance that their security is well taken care of and their living environment will be maintained,' he said.

[email protected]

'You only need one crisis to set us back severely and that's why the PAP says let's make sure we have the fourth generation of leaders in place.

'To give you one example: the PM entered politics in 1984 and soon after that, there was the 1985-1986 crisis. He was practically thrown into the deep end of the pool. But there was a big team at the time. He was in MTI (Ministry of Trade and Industry) and later on he chaired the Economic Committee to look at our strategies for the future.

'By the time the 1991 downturn (caused by the Gulf War) came, the PM already had seven, eight years of experience. I worked with him in the Asian financial crisis and could see that with 15 years of experience, you are better prepared - you know what to do, what works, what doesn't work.

'When we came to the 2008-2009 crisis, it was very clear that the PM knew exactly what to do, not only when the crisis started, but way before the crisis. So by mid-2008 he was already directing us to put in place some changes in our policies to buffer us before the crisis came on and, of course, we had more changes in 2008 and he brought forward the Budget in early 2009 and laid out the full programme to deal with the 2008-2009 crisis.

'So that's the kind of leadership we need - people who have gone through the experience, know what is doable, what works.

And I think this is what the PM is trying to do, in bringing in the fourth generation of leaders early, so they have this period of understanding Singapore, Singapore's economic strategy and how to deal with crises when they occur.'

Mr Lim Hng Kiang, on why having the right leadership in place early is important

Truebornsingaporean

Singaporean would prefer to have 3-5% growth or no growth then growth with foreigner.
Money is not everything - the opportunity should be to develop talent within and not depend on outside talent.
The problem is there is many foreigner who was not any talent - they came to singapore without any paper qualification they enrolled themselves in nanyang poly, took their diplomas and they either take part time degree - btech or full time degree and they are taking over Singaporean places.
We give them citizenship and how many of them goes elsewhere after they get what they want?

Sleepless

Hallo.... The incumbent still doesn't get it. Tis shows how out of touch they are.

Many Singaporeans lost their jobs in the last downturn and have not been able to get back the same pay or had to downgrade to some jobs way below their qualifications or haven't got a job at all.

Factories that retrenched Singaporeans later hired cheaper foreigners the economy came back up.

Expanding the economy 7% only benefits their pockets through their many months bonus and the foreigners.

As a Singaporean, what do you prefer?

1) free flow foreigners and economy grows by 7%?

Or

2) jobs go to locals as a priority and economy grows by 3 - 5%

Its a no-brainer.

The only reason they still don't get it is because there is a conflict of interest between the current govt and Singaporeans.

"Fewer cheap FT, Lower growth, my multi-million bonus suffer leh. More FT, higher growth, Singaporeans die, that's their problem. The most, we give some some scraps from our tables on May 1 lor!"

Sperminator

I agree with you Sleepless!

We all must vote wisely, and vote for opposition! Do not let the lies continue...

they keep insisting the FT policy is good for us. but the effects are just plain to see. I have given up hope on them.

ahben1111

I totally agree with u, the ruling government is concerned only on economic growth. If the economic growth then they can claim a higher pay rise and fat bonus.

DEAR Singaporean, you and I please do not be selfish about your HDB upgrading, annual growth bonus and lot of baits and carrot handing in front of you. The golden word still apply from the independence till now -

"Gov gives you S$1, he will take back S$100 from you sooner or later. Once a blue moon, he will give back S$2 to you, but later will take S$200 from you again..... this cycle never end, that is why our gov is so rich"

Wake up Singaporean, we want gov to work and care for us, them we can work for ourself and work for a better country!

He should go and open a hairdressing saloon and hire all the foreigners he wants. :rolleyes:

Thats just the way pap is, and will always be. We the people tell them there are problems. They will reply, you are wrong there are no problems. And come up with cock and bull statistics to substantiate their claim. We tell them, please look after us, they will say we are looking after you from a macro level. And all looks good, you are just a whining, pathetic, and daft lot.

gohsanho

He is still talking about the same model of achieving growth by increasing labour input instead of productivity. This type of model should be used in india, china, vietnam, indonesion, etc. where there are abandon labour and land. We cant compete with these economies base on mere labour input. We dont need very smart scholars to understand that.

Sperminator

He is still talking about the same model of achieving growth by increasing labour input instead of productivity. This type of model should be used in india, china, vietnam, indonesion, etc. where there are abandon labour and land. We cant compete with these economies base on mere labour input. We dont need very smart scholars to understand that.

Remember the condosending words of our Supreme Minister. DAFT... LESSER MORTALS... NO SPURS STUCK IN YOUR HIDE (as if we were Horses... KNN)... so, we are stupid... serfs... peons... no hardworking spirit... and we were looked down by our very own mandated government... and more and more FTs coming in to dilute the population...

We are regarded as lesser mortals... only the PAP government is perfect... flawless.

I say we give our mandate to Opposition Parties, and let the opposition represent our true voices in parliament...

The Government is a representation of the people of Singapore, and they do not represent themselves... so called elitist...

I say vote carefully... vote for Opposition.

depeche

Hallo.... The incumbent still doesn't get it. Tis shows how out of touch they are.

Many Singaporeans lost their jobs in the last downturn and have not been able to get back the same pay or had to downgrade to some jobs way below their qualifications or haven't got a job at all.

Factories that retrenched Singaporeans later hired cheaper foreigners the economy came back up.

Expanding the economy 7% only benefits their pockets through their many months bonus and the foreigners.

As a Singaporean, what do you prefer?

1) free flow foreigners and economy grows by 7%?

Or

2) jobs go to locals as a priority and economy grows by 3 - 5%

Its a no-brainer.

The only reason they still don't get it is because there is a conflict of interest between the current govt and Singaporeans.

"Fewer cheap FT, Lower growth, my multi-million bonus suffer leh. More FT, higher growth, Singaporeans die, that's their problem. The most, we give some some scraps from our tables on May 1 lor!"

Well said and well explained...Vote LIM H K out!

Sleepless

I have to add that I'm not trying to say that we Singaporeans are not competitive. But how can you compare us with these transient foreigners?

The Chinese, Indians, and Filipinos can go back home in the small towns to enjoy a retirement that is way cheaper than ours. Do not for a second think that the PRs and new citizens are here for good. Ask around. The reason why many PRs remain only PR for many years is because they still want to retire back home. As for new citizens, many are using the Singapore passport as a stepping stone to go somewhere else like US, Canada, Australia, etc. Some convert to citizen to reap the benefits of buying new HDB and getting freebies but will go back home someday because countries like China welcome homecoming prodigal sons!

Where can we go? This is our home!! If they think we have become uncompetitive in terms of wages, it can only be because of their failed policies!

Housing is expensive!
Healthcare is expensive!
Basic necessities are expensive!

And they refuse to do anything to help us. We are caught between the rock and a hard place.

While they only help themselves to millions of dollars to ensure their children and grandchildren don't end up like us.

Truebornsingaporean

Have you ever work with the so-called foreign talent?
The Chinese from china have no culture at all - they are learning now.
The culture revolution has erase all their culture.
When the door open and they learn about money and what it can do.
They do anything to get it even sellin poison to baby.
They could not even speak bad English and yet they can graduate with high marks - that because our school is focus on calculation subject and also they copy each other and help each other.
The Indian from Indian know how to talk but when they are supposed to do the job - they are nowhere to be found.

We should give chance to our own people. In the past - Singaporean diploma holder or even ITE holder have chance to work up the corporate ladder because we give them chance. Now with so many foreign talent where got chance at all.( some of them not sure their paper is real or not) ( someone told me - immigration has to go through 300 applicant per month - how to check? - I hope the Singaporean that is doing that job do his job properly and not let any "fake degree" come in at all)

borom

One of the main reason we are in this situation today is because the current leaders are unable to empathise with the man on the street.

Whilst 85% of the people stay in HDB,how many % of the cabinet stay in HDB flats just before they take office?.
Some may stay in HDB flats when young but once in power for too long,lost touch with their roots.
More importantly the ruling family has never stayed in HDB flats, take public transport to work and see their friends and loved ones being retrenched and lost their jobs to foreigners.
The longer they stay in power the more distanced they are from the reality and hardships on the ground.
If the Lee family do not stay in HDB flats,take buses/MRTs to work ,queue up for hours at Polyclinics to see a doctor, wait for months before they can see a govt dentist or specialist- how can they feel the pain of the masses?

So it is important that no one group of people be allowed to stay in power for too long,no matter how clever they claimed to be.
This is the biggest mistake of Singaporeans-as by allowing one group of people to be in power for too long,they became too entrenched and became more concerned with staying in power than serving the very people who put them in power in the first place.

gesg2011

Foreign workers/Foreigners/Foreign Talents

Those who benefited from the influx of foreigners won't openly say so. There are also a lot of Singaporeans working in other countries. Do you want them to be criticized & how would they feel when the locals made such comments about them?

Foreigners in Singapore pay their taxes, don't enjoy the benefits, ang pows from the government and pay market rate for resale flats. And we hear arguments about them not serving NS. And we know many married foreign wives or husbands.

A lot of Singaporeans are collecting rents from the foreigners, taxi drivers having more business, hawkers, coffee shops, mini-marts and so on. It's a chain reaction & that moves and sustains the economy.

Bosses & companies will always find ways to reduce cost or increase revenue to stay profitable. They are answerable to investors & shareholders. Check the wages in Taiwan & Malaysia.

By voting the opposition, do you think those who are retrenched can get a job immediately? The opposition will secure a job for you? The opposition can get you the dream job or expected salary? Even the ruling party can't guarantee that.

Not all foreign workers, foreign talents are good and not all locals are good. It's a fair competition and individual companies that hire them will know better than others.

By voting the opposition, are they going to enforce companies or factories to hire locals first & then foreigners? How many companies or factories close down and will move out if they can't stay competitive?

Why are we always so concerned about how much they make or save or even bring back to their home countries? If it's a fellow Singaporean, it's OK and if it's a foreigner, it's not OK? Why do we always hear workers complaining about how much their Singaporean bosses, supervisors, colleagues, peers make per month although they are lazy & incompetent.

One opposition even suggested moving out manufacturing. Did he know the number of Singaporeans employed in the manufacturing sectors?

Part of the reasons investors choose Singapore is because of the ability & flexibility to provide local & foreign workers.

We always hear about not getting enough, but when comes to NATAS fair, IT show, record breaking sales year after year. How about the queues for iPhones & iPads?

Transportation
There are rooms of improvement in transportation. Ask yourself how long does majority of Singaporeans takes to get to their workplace from their home compared to neighboring countries? Expensive? The data are out there.

HDB

Most Singaporeans forgot about the grants and subsidies. Those who sold their properties to foreigners made huge profits. Most of the time, most Singaporeans tend to forget that they receive ang pows from the government from time to time.

The influx of foreigners raised the price of resale flats. Didn't fellow Singaporeans benefited from that? Once the BTOs, DBSS and more flats are available, the price will stabilize. During SARS period, there were plentiful of flats at very attractive price available. What's the take up rate? I am sure, Mr. MBT is one of the most person in SG but he has a job to do, just like you and I. Taking into consideration of cost of land, and rising cost of imported materials, the government will have and continue to look into how to strike a balance on pricing the HDB flats for Singaporeans.

How expensive is expensive & how cheap is cheap? How affordable is affordable.

The fact remains that the flats in Hougang are cheaper.

Health care rising cost

This is one of the areas that we hope the government will always look into. Some complains about the queue at polyclinics or hospitals. The patient is considered very lucky if he can get an appointment at the government hospital up north.

High Cost of living

Look at the Big Mac index. Without the strong Sing Dollars, we could've been worse. How much is a bowl of noodles and a cup of coffee in Singapore compared to Malaysia, if we don't take into the consideration of foreign exchange. We must always remember we don't have natural resources.

The opposition can bring down the cost of living? Can they start with Hougang flats?

COEs/ERP/Parking woe

Voting for the opposition, COE, ERP system scrap? No more parking issues? Lower car price?

Casino

Putting the blame entirely on the government? What about stock market? It's natural for people to blame others when things went wrong.

CPF withdrawal

The government should continue to look into this and the usage of CPF especially on high medical fees.

Crowds at rallies

There are more crowds attending the rallies held by opposition parties. Many are curious of what the oppositions can offer since they hardly or never heard of them, and some just wanted to hear the oppositions slamming the ruling party.

How often do we see oppositions speak out in the Parliament from 2006-nomination day?

It's just the same as employees of a company badmouthing the company they are working for.

Nomination day at T.Pagar. Opposition complained about being disqualified for 35 secs late. Do you want someone who can't even manage their time to serve you?

Can the WP deliver? NO. Don't even mention others like SDP, NSP, SDA, SPP. Many are voting the opposition for the sake of voting an opposition, and not because they can provide solutions.

Do I like 'ALL' PAP members. NO.

I do like LHL as the PM and some candidates in SMC.