• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Life in New Zealand boring as hell

Getloud

Still thinking of coming to NZ?
Better think twice.

An English newspaper journalist has dubbed the idyllic Golden Bay region of the South Island "boring as hell", after he gave up the big cities of London and New Delhi for what he thought would be a "dream existence" in small town New Zealand.

The UK Telegraph's Peter Foster wrote the 2009 piece "Life in a New Zealand 'paradise' turned sour pretty swiftly" after he moved to Takaka in the scenic north-west corner of the South Island with his young family.

The piece was republished by the Telegraph last month in the wake of the Waikato job advert that got headlines around the world.

The sub-heading to the recent Telegraph story said: "A GP surgery in the rural New Zealand town of Tokoroa has failed to attract a junior doctor to work there despite a generous £190k salary. Peter Foster can understand why."

Dr Alan Kenny from Tokoroa posted an ad for a colleague - offering a startling $400,000 a year - and it went global after it was reported in the Herald last month.

Dr Kenny attributed the lack of interest in the job to a perception of rural general practice being a dead-end.

The job attracted applicants from all around the world and in New Zealand.

Foster, who is now the Telegraph's US Editor based in Washington DC, started his 2009 piece in a tone matching that perception.

"It was one morning during the school run that I finally realised that life in paradise wasn't for me. There are no traffic jams in heaven, just an undulating bike ride to the local kindergarten through fields of buttercups and vanilla fudge cows."

And it's not long before he builds on this feeling of apparent frustration.

"On the back of the bike the first-born yabbers away as only a soon-to-be-four-year-old can; bleating at the newborn lambs and pointing upwards into a firmament as blue as the gaze of the late Paul Newman.

"'Look Daddy,' he says, brimming with the joys of a New Zealand spring, 'It's a skylark? Can you hear him?'

"I could, and yet much as I wished to share in the boy's innocent enthusiasm for the birdlife, my own mood was decidedly unlarklike. In fact, if I'd had a gun, I'd have taken pleasure in blasting it from the sky."

So why, then, did he move to Golden Bay in the first place?

Well, he had been a journalist "scrumming it" in big cities for a decade - London for six and New Delhi for four - and so wanted to take his young family away from the noise and dirt of a big city.

So they settled in the small rural town of Takaka, in the southeastern end of Golden Bay.
In his own words: "The idea was to take our young family from a sooty suburb in New Delhi (pop. 20 million) to the tiny rural town of Takaka (pop. 1,182) on the South Island and prove there really was more to life than career ladders, commuting and dropping the kids at daycare. (I'm still haunted by the London friend who said he didn't know what his son liked to eat because he 'usually ate at nursery'.)..."

Throughout the article, Foster balances the qualities of his new home - "catching your red snapper at sunset and pounding the deserted windswept beaches" - with sentences supposedly outlining the drawbacks of living in Golden Bay and New Zealand.

"It is, quite literally, the end of the earth (which was the point) but at times during the past year, standing on the beautiful beach at the bottom of our garden, I did start to wonder if I might topple off without anybody actually noticing. Being awake while the rest of the world is asleep is not healthy for lifelong news junkies."

He also felt the need to apologise to his kids, who by the sounds of it were loving the freedom and open space of Takataka.

"So while it's wonderful for young children to have their father around all day, a father's not much use if he's become a lunatic lark-slayer.

"More seriously, I hope they will forgive me for taking them back to a high-rise city and they'll adjust again to the long hours ahead of dad disappearing into his office. No doubt there's a balance out there - somewhere - but this year I didn't find it," he wrote.

Foster and his family only lasted a year in New Zealand.

He spent three years in Beijing then moved to America in 2012. He has reported for the Telegraph for more than a decade, covering two Olympic Games, 9/11 in New York, the 2004 Boxing Day tsunami, the post-conflict phases in Afghanistan and Iraq and the 2011 Fukushima disaster in Japan.

He said he didn't regret "a single second" of the year spent in small town New Zealand, however.

"Life turned out exactly as billed, but in the end it just felt different from how I'd hoped it would. We've made good friends and grown stronger as a family, learning plenty of new things about each other - good and not so good - and gained a healthily broad perspective on life.

I'll never forget the daily walks on the beach, the afternoons foraging and exploring and the evenings fishing off the rocks. Each and every experience, even the skylarks on the school run, has been wonderful, magical - and yet...and yet.

"Whisper it softly, but bliss is, well - I'll say it straight out - boring as hell. Or should that be boring as heaven? After a year in the pristine seclusion of Golden Bay tending the veg plot, I crave the infernal stink of the big city and the juice-inducing competition of the rat race," he wrote.

- NZ Herald

Getloud

Strong earthquake shakes top of South Island

A strong earthquake shook the top of the South Island this morning.

The magnitude 4.7 quake struck at 9.24am, 35km east of Seddon and was widely felt across the Marlborough and Wellington regions.

GeoNet reported the quake's epicentre was 35km east of Seddon with a depth of 30km.

- NZ Herald

Spore is a congested island. Whether you live in Jurong, Ang Mo Kio,... It is the same: crowded, congested, noisy

NZ is a country. There are cities where you can choose to live in which provides a better balance of life. There is also no haze.

New Zealand is so boring and that is why there are people who ride bike without bike seat

bay area is equally boring. we ride bikes with toilet seats.

image.jpg

yahoo55

I had recently suggested to my wife about retiring in New Zealand, but she said she's not keen because "New Zealand is a very boring place". She had been to New Zealand for holiday many years ago, but I haven't been there yet. My wife even suggested we make a holiday trip to New Zealand so that I can see for myself how boring the place is to retire. Hope she's wrong about this.

gingerlyn

i cannot imagine new zealand during deep winter.
i guess this kind of place will drive me to commit suicide during winter.
i want to know if New Zealand suicide rates are higher than singapore?

Reddog

NZ is a wonderful place to live if you are wheel chair bound, loves green fields and loves patting sheep all the time.

Getloud

With guns, no need to look for suicide rates.

Woman died from single gunshot to head

A woman whose body was found after armed police descended on a house outside Dunedin on Tuesday died from a single gunshot to her head.

Police said Sharon Diane Comerford, 54, died at her Coast Rd home in Seacliff. The man with whom she shared a volatile on-off relationship was found with serious gunshot wounds and a firearm nearby.

The 59-year-old man remained in a serious but stable condition in the intensive care unit at Dunedin Hospital last night.

Detective Senior Sergeant Malcolm Inglis said the man was a suspect: "We've got to look and prove evidentially he was responsible for her murder."

The man was a licensed firearms owner, Det Snr Sgt Inglis said. However, police would not comment on whether firearms had earlier been seized from the man, or on his criminal history.

The Otago Daily Times understands Ms Comerford's family have been informed of the results of an autopsy, which showed she died instantly from the gunshot.

Friends and family of Ms Comerford are reeling following the news of her death.

A friend of Ms Comerford, who had known her for almost 20 years, said: "She was always friendly and she always had a compliment for me. She was just a lovely person."

She added: "She was very creative. She did very well when she went to art school. She was into her ceramics."

Speculation as to the cause of her death had been upsetting, she said.

"It's a small community and people should look after each other. If they [Seacliff residents] were aware of raised voices or guns they should have called the police straight away and maybe this wouldn't have happened.

"Why didn't they call the police earlier? Sharon might have been alive today if they had."

A family member of Ms Comerford posted online that she was still struggling to comprehend the Seacliff woman's death.

"So sorry you have been taken so early,'' the family member said. "But I know you're in a better place. Your talents were unrealised. Such a loss."

Friends of the pair earlier told the ODT they were in a volatile on-off relationship punctuated by alcohol-fuelled arguments.

Police were called on Friday, but refused to respond, a friend of the pair said.

- Otago Daily Times

Getloud

Bay of Plenty siege

A former top police negotiator has praised the way officers handled the situation in which a gunman was holed up after four police officers were shot on Wednesday.

Lance Burdett, former national adviser for police negotiators, said the operation had been "textbook stuff" that led to the outcome police always aimed for.

READ MORE: Kawerau siege: Alleged gunman appears in court

"It's protect life and property, no matter what they've done and who they are," Mr Burdett said. "I've heard all sorts of stories about the fact that he was Maori and therefore treated differently. No, that's not the case. There's nothing unusual and spectacular about this - you do what you do. It was textbook stuff, to be honest."

Alleged gunman Rhys Warren, 27, requested that local police officer and Maori liaison Warwick Morehu come and speak with him.

That was not uncommon, Mr Burdett said.

"It's common for people to ask for somebody - usually it's a family member. In this case, he obviously knows him because he's asked for the person ...

"Negotiating and crisis intervention is always about rapport-building - always. You can't get away from it. You have to become a friend with that person, to a degree."

Up to 10 officers make up a negotiating team, Mr Burdett said. A main and secondary negotiator would have been dealing with the gunman personally.

It was likely Mr Morehu would have been asked to speak to Warren over the phone - but would not have been allowed to meet him face to face, for the same reason Warren's whanau were not allowed through the cordon.

"They [besieged gunmen] can change in a dime. Some people just switch. It's a very volatile situation."

Mr Burdett said during such a stand-off, a person would go on an emotional rollercoaster. "They hit some self-reflection. Often they go down and have remorse and a lot of guilt. You can't stay angry for a long time. Then the opposite - you end up going down this big dip."

- NZ Herald

blissquek

after a while, sheep becum sexy and have their appeal. :p

..OMG... really that boring..??

Lor 9 Geylang ,where they serve the best beef hor-fun has more lights and scenery..though the neighbor shops keep skinning and cooking Hermit and his cousins non-stop.They served with porridge at $8.50 per bowl.

A walk there past midnight and you sight a 30+plus hooker makes the place alive and after a couple of drinks you think she is Audrey Hepburn.

Come back..lah...

..OMG... really that boring..??

Lor 9 Geylang ,where they serve the best beef hor-fun has more lights and scenery..though the neighbor shops keep skinning and cooking Hermit and his cousins non-stop.They served with porridge at $8.50 per bowl.

A walk there past midnight and you sight a 30+plus hooker makes the place alive and after a couple of drinks you think she is Audrey Hepburn.

Come back..lah...

after 2am and 6.9 beers everyone is sexy. cumming cumming back.

That's why Samy started this forum. :biggrin:

A long long time ago and in a land far far away
A boy started a forum for folks to have their say
It’s meant for the common man a place for all and sundry
He tried to think of a good name and finally thought of sammy

Agoraphobic

What is boring? What is exciting? Its all up to one's personal likes/dislikes. To some, having nothing to do is boring, to some others, that is relaxing. To some, going clubbing on Saturday nights are exciting, to others, it is noisy and an waste of time. It all differs from person to person.

australia is just as boring, besides the casino, i dun know where i can go for free drinks entitled in the VIP room. sinkies please dun come to OZ, it's not worth it. :o:biggrin: