• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

LHL bullies citizen critic

PM Lee rejects Roy Ngerng's appeal to not pay for damages and legal costs

Nur Asyiqin Mohamad Salleh
The Straits Times
Friday, May 23, 2014

Mr Ngerng now has until 5pm next Monday to send in a written offer. If he fails to do so, legal proceedings will be started against him.

SINGAPORE - A Singaporean blogger accused by Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong of defamation apologised Friday, but rejected the premier's demand to pay compensation.

Roy Ngerng Yi Ling, a 33-year-old healthcare worker, had posted an article on May 15 that was seen as accusing Lee of corruption.

But in a blog post Friday, Ngerng said the article had contained an allegation against Lee that was "false and completely without foundation".

"I unreservedly apologise to Mr Lee Hsien Loong for the distress and embarrassment caused to him by this allegation," wrote Ngerng.

Lee's lawyer Davinder Singh wrote to Ngerng on Sunday demanding an apology and compensation, saying the article implied that "Lee Hsien Loong, the Prime Minister of Singapore and the chairman of GIC, is guilty of criminal misappropriation of the monies paid by Singaporeans to the CPF (Central Provident Fund)".

GIC is a sovereign wealth fund that manages more than S$125.2 billion of the city-state's foreign reserves. CPF is the state pension fund. Ngerng has said he penned the article in an attempt to call for greater transparency on how the CPF is invested by the government through its two sovereign wealth firms. He took down the article and links to it on his Facebook pages on Tuesday in compliance with the prime minister's demand.

But the blogger's lawyer M. Ravi dismissed the demand for compensation, while urging Lee not to seek damages.

"This would be so as to not reduce our client to a most assuredly disadvantaged position," Ravi wrote in a letter to Lee's lawyer on Friday.

He said Ngerng welcomed "an opportunity to have an open dialogue" with Lee regarding the CPF.

pm lee's action reminds me of how i was bullied and insulted daily in sinkie technologies and the army, and oh when i was driving my taxi!

and oh... remember to buy ST shares, sure rocket one, the best is keep it for their dividend, trust me...:mad:

Sorry for Mr. Roy, but the way it seems is that the PM (or the boss) is putting the critic in his place.

The message: Others, take note.

Sorry for Mr. Roy, but the way it seems is that the PM (or the boss) is putting the critic in his place.

The message: Others, take note.

It is bullying, plain and simple. Roy has apologized and taken down the offending piece. Now the millionaire PM wants to stomp this citizen to pieces, by ruining his financial life. Damn the PAP.

ask u all dont bully xiao loong anymore,see lah,now u shall know his name is the lord as he strike down with great vengence and furious anger all those who attempt to poison his brethren.

Poor Roy. Having apologised and taking down his post is dehumanizing enough, but he`s done what he can. For speaking his mind, he`s been whacked real hard by a heavyweight. Next time, he should tackle someone in his weight division.

It is bullying, plain and simple. Roy has apologized and taken down the offending piece. Now the millionaire PM wants to stomp this citizen to pieces, by ruining his financial life. Damn the PAP.

What's preventing Roy from offering damages of $1?

If PM accepts, he will look silly. If PM rejects it, people can rightfully ask him, if you already had some figure in mind, why don't you just say it out loud rather than ask Roy to come up with his own figure?

Either way, I don't see how asking Roy to offer his own compensation sum makes any sense. Davinder must have bungled up somewhere.

is xiao lee trying to challenge a elite to take on him?what if one day a billionaire decides to bankroll the wp and opposition?

Poor Roy. Having apologised and taking down his post is dehumanizing enough, but he`s done what he can. For speaking his mind, he`s been whacked real hard by a heavyweight. Next time, he should tackle someone in his weight division.

come on man, what is done cannot be undone.

ROY , go all in and punch above your weight.

what if one day a billionaire decides to bankroll the wp and opposition?

Biggest hurdle to that is that any political party (at least the sane ones) would be wary when such an offer is made. Immediately the questions arise would be what is your agenda, are you trying to gain control of the party?

The political donations act makes it extremely hard if not impossible for large sums of money to be donated. In fact this applies equally to both PAP and opposition. If a wealthy businessman tries that on an opposition party, he will also find himself suddenly famous overnight and then mysteriously those loyal to PAP will stop doing business with him, clients will start giving him problems, etc.

A businessman having that kind of wealth would also concerned about ROI and would want to know exactly what he is getting in return. Not to mention he would be concerned how the funds would be used and whether it will be squandered.

i need funds to sue ST and a few cronies. who can help??

suddenly, i even want to sue the president.:oIo:

Big bully indeed, he already apologised why must insist that he pay for damages and legal cost? Legal cost already how much using a big lawyer?

https://www.facebook.com/sexiespider

[h=5]Leslie Chew[/h]<a class="uiLinkSubtle" href="https://www.facebook.com/chewleslie/posts/795920960427370"><abbr title="Friday, May 23, 2014 at 11:35pm" class="timestamp livetimestamp" data-utime="1400859345">2 hours ago</abbr>

Dear Indranee Rajah,

Will you be asking the Prime Minister to give Singapore citizen, Roy Ngerng Yi Ling, a second chance? Like how you did for the foreigner Anton Casey when you asked us to give him a second chance?

I don't remember us Singaporeans insisting that Anton Casey pays any damage to us after he apologised, right?

Best regards,
Leslie Chew

Wake Up, Singapore

<a class="uiLinkSubtle" href="https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid=303647233134242&set=a.220158094816490.1073741828.220046891494277&type=1"><abbr title="Friday, May 23, 2014 at 10:11pm" class="timestamp livetimestamp" data-utime="1400854268">4 hours ago</abbr>

We at Wake Up, Singapore will be raising funds for Roy. He has spoken up on behalf of many of us, and this is our little token of appreciation for him. We will give you more details once we know the amount that both Ravi and D&N have agreed... on an amount.

In the defamation lawsuit against Chee Soon Juan in 2011, he had to pay $30,000 in damages. This made him bankrupt and unable to stand in the 2011 GE. On Monday, more than a million people viewed Roy's blog, if less than 3% of the visitors paid just $1 each, we would be able to cover the fees for Chee Soon Juan.

A small step goes a long way.

Personally, we want to see him stand in the 2016 Elections and give the Government a good run for their money. We don't want this lawsuit to bankrupt him which would prevent him running in the enxt elections.

Defamations Lawsuits are not new, but people uniting behind the victim not only in terms of vocal support but also monetary support is something new and it would be troubling for the powers that be.

Let us all Unite. Let us not let this pass.

Before I end, I would like to share this quote with you.
<i class="lock img sp_IAa2ktb_meE sx_eefe7d">See More
— with Leong Sze Hian and 4 others.

<form class="commentable_item autoexpand_mode" id="u_jsonp_4_j" action="/ajax/ufi/modify.php" method="post" rel="async" data-ft='{"tn":"]"}'><input name="charset_test" type="hidden" value="€,´,€,´,水,Д,Є"><input name="fb_dtsg" type="hidden" value="AQGJtPPI9haU" autocomplete="off"><input name="feedback_params" type="hidden" value='{"actor":"220046891494277","target_fbid":"303647233134242","target_profile_id":"220046891494277","type_id":"7","assoc_obj_id":"","source_app_id":"0","extra_story_params":[],"content_timestamp":"1400854268","check_hash":"AQDvLNp3xxIUlmH-","source":"13"}' autocomplete="off"><input name="data_only_response" type="hidden" value="1" autocomplete="off"><input name="timeline_ufi" type="hidden" value="1" autocomplete="off"><input name="timeline_log_data" type="hidden" value="AQBu_bUkAULoMyrwKlzuLJWeK8eMU958zyXPQ-igls3zU5GEk8yso0Oh1iJLR8elKA-fF4evgsLG221IaYBOnrID95qQ0VzDqGXlDasRqi2LNklYVtDEMbP5mAqoiSRD6TY3C3UR5IDh3H4BqQhHf2ua0eO0JTuF32oTXeJs7PFzGzNnUGIaid-SH2Tj7nLWS7iUKPIkC0MXfu0kRNqRKeVAIXF_95DCCVlMoFs7a-RYGSy94_-aHZAFnyghP25A-mbmYXmiwTujQgN1mxA0lDv7QvQaCO4YamHXp4v8BMVyINS-7WlpZQzSyZa1ggkZdMMqf1nQ-OaQ-fTAsmvBVgXze5F5U7fwO_vqqVYlrsgichHzJdifxxOHaFLXB9kHjXAaZcmOAI6OjAI1c1qj78On">30Like · <label title="Leave a comment" class="uiLinkButton comment_link"><input class="uiLinkButtonInput" type="button" value="Comment" data-ft='{"type":24,"tn":"S"}'></label> · Share

</form>
</i>

[h=5]Emeritus Sparrow shared The Real Singapore's photo.[/h]<a class="uiLinkSubtle" href="https://www.facebook.com/sexiespider/posts/656336961121321"><abbr title="Friday, May 23, 2014 at 8:45pm" class="timestamp livetimestamp" data-utime="1400849133">5 hours ago</abbr>

<i class="lock img sp_IAa2ktb_meE sx_eefe7d">ROY ACTUALLY WON!!!

Success!

Thank you Roy Ngerng and all the other activists for fighting for us average Singaporeans! — with Roy Ngerng Yi Ling.

<form class="live_656336961121321_316526391751760 commentable_item autoexpand_mode" id="u_jsonp_5_j" action="/ajax/ufi/modify.php" method="post" rel="async" data-ft='{"tn":"]"}' data-live='{"seq":"656336961121321_656338127787871"}'><input name="charset_test" type="hidden" value="€,´,€,´,水,Д,Є"><input name="fb_dtsg" type="hidden" value="AQGr40Amsd2r" autocomplete="off"><input name="feedback_params" type="hidden" value='{"actor":"100002350683699","target_fbid":"656336961121321","target_profile_id":"533614140","type_id":"17","assoc_obj_id":"","source_app_id":"0","extra_story_params":[],"content_timestamp":"1400849133","check_hash":"AQBdMkk47Um-1wYM","source":"13"}' autocomplete="off"><input name="data_only_response" type="hidden" value="1" autocomplete="off"><input name="timeline_ufi" type="hidden" value="1" autocomplete="off"><input name="timeline_log_data" type="hidden" value="AQDTSOztRskwhASslfqQuif8FW8V1yQ3vC3jR8G8-XSWw5kkr4Ior8RjE-9E-HIFSEaIZCkIoF_VPzjQhUFjb2OS3pdKqlNhBQN78uPth83i9tHmLklrqX7g6j1z38npVJEOJcZdpRrAuThaKjQhWIYF_8ZHYbnXQjjh3bwHLzMKARmzSamr-UCsaP3JvAgExkQ_0HlpMPA7F9uBgBGhhlVfzFEAwd1fpoWrT8VrxjTc2t1H3Dx6fdTA6MbFdaLJaMMHweMtD5xWGLMHEbkNsz9Ao-tescAxARZGAML9B_bRSA5afWEBWm8xYbhuusUTu1DwmGqcKzYchTWmepPHu06k3G3HxXFNsDwLhcV3O330jpNFRxlXuB4QdD1PTLmCPihOSYkX9XyNgl2fpCozcJeE">Share

</form>
</i>

What's preventing Roy from offering damages of $1?

If PM accepts, he will look silly. If PM rejects it, people can rightfully ask him, if you already had some figure in mind, why don't you just say it out loud rather than ask Roy to come up with his own figure?

Either way, I don't see how asking Roy to offer his own compensation sum makes any sense. Davinder must have bungled up somewhere.

yes same as with the story https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/QB_VII

up my points back?

https://www.facebook.com/sexiespider

[h=5]Leslie Chew[/h]<a class="uiLinkSubtle" href="https://www.facebook.com/chewleslie/posts/795920960427370"><abbr title="Friday, May 23, 2014 at 11:35pm" class="timestamp livetimestamp" data-utime="1400859345">2 hours ago</abbr>

Dear Indranee Rajah,

Will you be asking the Prime Minister to give Singapore citizen, Roy Ngerng Yi Ling, a second chance? Like how you did for the foreigner Anton Casey when you asked us to give him a second chance?

I don't remember us Singaporeans insisting that Anton Casey pays any damage to us after he apologised, right?

Best regards,
Leslie Chew

Fook off leslie....anton didnt defame singaporeans.