• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Lew Lian season is here once again ! !

Fishypie

Just got back from Taman Negara, where kampong durians were going for RM$1 per kiLo ! ..:)

durain1.jpg

durian2.jpg

Any bros here who are into Durians each & every season ?..:confused::)

so cheap, buy the unopened durians and go high-rise block and throw at people lah...............

Looks great... makes me feel like walking out to buy some for supper! But cannot - sure to fall sick from eating one too many in this nasty hot weather.

durian has high sulphur content which is good but the sugar also very high........

i many years never eat liao lor...................

You guys are killing me, here I only have those gigantic Thai mongthong and these people like eating it raw.

Sibeh Sian Ah!

Closest thing here is Kanyao but its rare and very expensive especially recent flood killed so many threes its going for about $83 per kilo (whole durian na)

Hi Joetys, wow! "Kanyao" $83 per kg. is it worth it? What other "good" durian do thailang have? And how do they compare with malaysia durian?
Closest thing here is Kanyao but its rare and very expensive especially recent flood killed so many threes its going for about $83 per kilo (whole durian na)

I miss the singapore kampong durian, we used to order these durian @ $50-80 in the 80's (for 4 to 6 small durians), each not more then 10 seeds. But the flavors is very strong & unique. I love the bitter one (but not overly bitter), 80-90% bitter &20-10% sweet. Now I'll go for sultan xo.

Hi Joetys, wow! "Kanyao" $83 per kg. is it worth it? What other "good" durian do thailang have? And how do they compare with malaysia durian?

I miss the singapore kampong durian, we used to order these durian @ $50-80 in the 80's (for 4 to 6 small durians), each not more then 10 seeds. But the flavors is very strong & unique. I love the bitter one (but not overly bitter), 80-90% bitter &20-10% sweet. Now I'll go for sultan xo.

Go Mandai there(near to the zoo to pick)

Recently I took a bus out of bukit panjang. At the exit of bukit panjang(entrance of the expressway. Should be BKE) I saw people walking into the forest to pick durians. There were a lot of trees there.

I've just asked the Thais again and and they could only come up with 3 types - mongthong ; kanyao ; chanee. So boring and these guys only like hard unripe durians so durians will be pluck from trees while still not ripe. Sigh.

Hi Raiders, i heard from friend that there are "regular" people that will "chop" (reserve) these trees, even stay over night when the durian about to ripe. Anyway too far from where i stay. :)

Go Mandai there(near to the zoo to pick)

Recently I took a bus out of bukit panjang. At the exit of bukit panjang(entrance of the expressway. Should be BKE) I saw people walking into the forest to pick durians. There were a lot of trees there.

Thanks joetys. I think i heard of mongthong, is it "golden pillow"?
malaysia durian is still the perfer choice for most singporean. :)
I've just asked the Thais again and and they could only come up with 3 types - mongthong ; kanyao ; chanee. So boring and these guys only like hard unripe durians so durians will be pluck from trees while still not ripe. Sigh.