Lee: Sinkies Need To Do More To Attract More PRC Tourists! Samsters do your part pls!

As the world all over spews out horror stories of misbehaving PRC tourists, Singapore's Ministry of Trade and Industry is doing the exact opposite - it has asked Singaporeans and companies to do more to attract more PRC tourists.

prc-tourists-bad-behavior-lee-yi-shyan-welcome-to-singapore_1.jpg

Speaking at a fund raising event organized by the Singapore Cruise Center, Mr Lee Yi Shyan, Senior Minister of State for Trade and Industry and National Development, said that Singaporeans need to customize their offerings to cater to tourists from China.

Hotels, food and beverage outlets, and other related establishments should, for instance, have employees who can speak Mandarin and recommend places of interest.

Mr Lee said: "Last year, Chinese outbound tourists were around 110 million and we attracted less than two million. Obviously, we are missing quite a bit of the action. The high-end segment of Chinese tourists really have many choices and we have to work very hard in capturing the growth."

Last year, there were about 1.7 million tourist arrivals from China, about 24 per cent lower than in the year before.

In all, 15.1 million tourists visited Singapore last year, a 3 per cent drop from the year before. It was the first time since 2009 that there had been a decline.

But netizens have come out strongly in protest against Mr Lee's ill-timed advice.

"Why are we only focusing on China? We should be focusing on the local region as well," said one netizen, Wayne. "Singapore is well connected to rich Asian neighbors like Thailand, Indonesia and Malaysia. Surely you know there are no lack of rich and well behaved tourists from those countries."

One netizen, Nahira, an F&B staff, weighed in with bad experiences of her own. "Once I tried to explain to this China lady that she can't bring her own food and drinks into our restaurant, but she acted like she didn't understand me and simply just pushed her way into the restaurant. I looked at my manager and he gave me this 'what can we do' look. Their treatment of service staff and even other patrons is really quite bad."

With PRC tourists receiving so much condemnation for their rude and sometimes outright bizarre antics worldwide, it remains to be seen whether Singaporeans will take up Mr Lee's suggestion.

- More at AllSingaporeStuff.com http://www.allsingaporestuff.com/ar...oreans-must-do-more-attract-more-prc-tourists

Re: Lee: Sinkies Need To Do More To Attract More PRC Tourists! Samsters do your part

As the world all over spews out horror stories of misbehaving PRC tourists, Singapore's Ministry of Trade and Industry is doing the exact opposite - it has asked Singaporeans and companies to do more to attract more PRC tourists.

prc-tourists-bad-behavior-lee-yi-shyan-welcome-to-singapore_1.jpg

Speaking at a fund raising event organized by the Singapore Cruise Center, Mr Lee Yi Shyan, Senior Minister of State for Trade and Industry and National Development, said that Singaporeans need to customize their offerings to cater to tourists from China.

Hotels, food and beverage outlets, and other related establishments should, for instance, have employees who can speak Mandarin and recommend places of interest.

Mr Lee said: "Last year, Chinese outbound tourists were around 110 million and we attracted less than two million. Obviously, we are missing quite a bit of the action. The high-end segment of Chinese tourists really have many choices and we have to work very hard in capturing the growth."

Last year, there were about 1.7 million tourist arrivals from China, about 24 per cent lower than in the year before.

In all, 15.1 million tourists visited Singapore last year, a 3 per cent drop from the year before. It was the first time since 2009 that there had been a decline.

But netizens have come out strongly in protest against Mr Lee's ill-timed advice.

"Why are we only focusing on China? We should be focusing on the local region as well," said one netizen, Wayne. "Singapore is well connected to rich Asian neighbors like Thailand, Indonesia and Malaysia. Surely you know there are no lack of rich and well behaved tourists from those countries."

One netizen, Nahira, an F&B staff, weighed in with bad experiences of her own. "Once I tried to explain to this China lady that she can't bring her own food and drinks into our restaurant, but she acted like she didn't understand me and simply just pushed her way into the restaurant. I looked at my manager and he gave me this 'what can we do' look. Their treatment of service staff and even other patrons is really quite bad."

With PRC tourists receiving so much condemnation for their rude and sometimes outright bizarre antics worldwide, it remains to be seen whether Singaporeans will take up Mr Lee's suggestion.

- More at AllSingaporeStuff.com http://www.allsingaporestuff.com/ar...oreans-must-do-more-attract-more-prc-tourists

Despite the fact that the Chinese are quite well known for their rudeness , nevertheless, they have huge spending power. As Singapore restructures its economy to orient more towards the service sector, we need to be able to adapt to the different cultures from different parts of the world.

With T5 coming along in 2020, the entire Changi airport is expected to handle 140 million passengers a year . If the tourists are not coming in droves and especially China which has the largest tourist pool in Asia, T5 will be a "white elephant" in time to come.

Re: Lee: Sinkies Need To Do More To Attract More PRC Tourists! Samsters do your part

Ner mind lah. Every early morning behind every HDB blocks are also littered with all kinds of rubbish.

Did Mr. Lee say anything like forget about tourists from other places?

Once only make so much noise. I believe other nationalities are just as bad in other ways. And if so thin skin, might as well stay at home and hide under your bed.

They don't have to, if haughty Sinkees think they are already earning too much or if they are most happy to close their shops and declare bankruptcy.

Did M.Lee choose the hard rocks instead of hard places and the devil instead of the deep blue sea?

Have you ever considered the possibility that the Tiongs are bored of what the small peesai has to offer, all your glitzy new developments they already have in abundance in China, and Sinkieland is more often used as a stopover to get to more exciting destinations in SE Asia?

Time to grow some wisdom and get off your 'economic growth at all costs' treadmill of desperation. :cool:

Singapore is just like any other china city. Why would they want to come over? Thailand managed to attract over four million and experiencing double digit growth rate. But then you got nightlife, Thai food and culture and their historic cities and heritage buildings, beach, shopping. Next year, probably five million Chinese tourist I'll GI to Thailand. Maybe more as numBer of seats from various airlines between two countries will increase to more than 6 million,

Obviously the solution would be to turn singapore into a giant gambling den and sex and drug city like macau and las vegas targetting not only the wealthy end of the chinese but the man on the street.open up 5 or 6 more casinos,fill the streets with strip joints and titty bars and open up bottle shops turn it into a 24/7 city of depravity.remember chinese love the gambling,ang moh love the drinking and the titties.Singapore already has the infrastructure to support this initiative.islandwide network of pawnshops plus 400,000 pinoy hookers.

John, good reverse psychology yet again.

oh great... geylang will have more supply now.

Have you ever considered the possibility that the Tiongs are bored of what the small peesai has to offer, all your glitzy new developments they already have in abundance in China, and Sinkieland is more often used as a stopover to get to more exciting destinations in SE Asia?

Time to grow some wisdom and get off your 'economic growth at all costs' treadmill of desperation. :cool:

The take from my chinese friends are that Singapore, Malaysia and Thailand is passe. They are now hunting for western countries and exotic locations like Egypt. Its all about bragging rights

No. Singapore remains the top destination of choice for chinese tourists, especially for those who want to make new friends in sg.