• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Learn English Language (Bored of Advice and advise)

Did not study hard during my secondary school (always thinking of girls) so got a C6 for English Language in my 'O' levels (considered an achievement for me. :D)

Learn some English informally during my working life and maybe a few power phrases or words in SBF. :p As I have been residing in LOS for sometime, level of English really go downhill. Started this thread to improve on English language so please don't sacarstic me hor. :)

Q01. 'He plays the piano.' but why not 'He plays the football.'?

Bro how come got question but no answer le? :D

Did not study hard during my secondary school (always thinking of girls) so got a C6 for English Language in my 'O' levels (considered an achievement for me. :D)

Learn some English informally during my working life and maybe a few power phrases or words in SBF. :p As I have been residing in LOS for sometime, level of English really go downhill. Started this thread to improve on English language so please don't sacarstic me hor. :)

Because a piano is bigger than a football, that's why 'the piano'. If the thing is small, just 'football' will do. So for big things, use 'the', for small things, forget the 'the'.

Anymore questions, please don't hesitate to post here. Thank you.

when to use who or whom in a sentence?

'Whom' is used in the middle of a sentence while 'Who' is used as the first word in a sentence.

Eg.

Your wife whom you dislike, like to suck my cock.

Who are you going out with tonight?

'Whom' is used in the middle of a sentence while 'Who' is used as the first word in a sentence.

Eg.

Your wife whom you dislike, like to suck my cock.

Who are you going out with tonight?

hahahahaha ....... knn :D

Because a piano is bigger than a football, that's why 'the piano'. If the thing is small, just 'football' will do. So for big things, use 'the', for small things, forget the 'the'.

Anymore questions, please don't hesitate to post here. Thank you.
Ummm. What about Harmonica? Confirm smaller than football.

You can say, 'How to play Harmonica?' and 'How to play the Harmonica?' Both sound OK but not 'How to play the football?'

Ummm. What about Harmonica? Confirm smaller than football.

You can say, 'How to play Harmonica?' and 'How to play the Harmonica?' Both sound OK but not 'How to play the football?'

Harmonica is smaller than football. Anything that is smaller or bigger than a football, you add "the". :D
Just joking only har... don't zap me hor.....:D:D

What's the difference between a penis & a pianist ?..;)

Q02.Why always "God bless you", why never "God blesses you"
Are there many Gods in one God that's why_ bless

eh! this question not for you hor, Drifter.

Football in this context is referring to the game and not the ball...ie play cricket, play hockey.
When referring to the ball then you use the correct action which is kick...ie kick the football.

Bless is one if those words without plural la....machiam sinkie sheep...1 is sheep....100 also sheep

The full sentence should be "May God bless you" but people usually short-cut and say "God bless you", otherwise it should be "God blesses you"

Tio bo ?

The full sentence should be "May God bless you" but people usually short-cut and say "God bless you", otherwise it should be "God blesses you"

Tio bo ?

What a rarity! A sinkie with a brain! Yes, boss, you're right. This is known as formulaic subjunctive. ;)

Boss, I dunoe why this is the case. I only know that the article "the" precedes musical instruments whereas there's no article before sports. I'm guessing that the reason why "the" is used before musical instruments is because you need to specify which instrument you're playing whereas football is football, there's no other football out there that needs to be specified.