• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Lawless Wrong the new Prata Man

Minister Wong now says HDB flat an asset that will appreciate as Singapore prospers
Published on 2018-08-22 by Correspondent
It was reported in the media that at a public feedback forum organized by government feedback unit REACH yesterday (21 Aug), National Development Minister Lawrence Wong now said that a HDB flat sold on a 99-year lease is an asset that will appreciate as the country prospers.
This a fundamental tenet of Singapore's home ownership policy, he said.
"There is a high likelihood that over a period of time, if the economy does well, if incomes rise, then property values will appreciate together with the fundamentals of the economy, and your stake in the nation - your home - can also appreciate in value," he told the audience.
The forum was organised to get people's views about PM Lee's National Day Rally speech he made last Sunday (19 Aug).
Conflicting messages sent out by Minister Wong
Minister Wong appears to be sending out conflicting messages to the public.
Last year in March, he cautioned home buyers not to assume that all old HDB flats will be automatically eligible for the Selective En bloc Redevelopment Scheme (SERS).
In a blog post published on 24 Mar 2017, he said that the Government will continue to maintain the strict selection criteria for blocks eligible for SERS, noting that only about 4 per cent of HDB flats have been identified for SERS since 1995.
He was then concerned about reports of HDB flats with short leases left being transacted at high prices in the resale market.
"As the leases run down, especially towards the tail-end, the flat prices will come down correspondingly," he said. "So buyers need to do their due diligence and be realistic when buying flats with short leases. This is especially important for young couples, who have to plan for a much longer future."
In other words, when the lease of a HDB flat expires at the 99-year mark, its value will be zero.

https://www.theonlinecitizen.com/20...t-that-will-appreciate-as-singapore-prospers/

His first message was the cold hard truth. The second message is a feeble attempt at damage control, after he was fucked deep deep by Pinky.

3_M

This will be a hot election topic. Housing value is one a taboo for any politician. To do or say anything that affect their property value is a clear no -no and voters can be very unforgiving.

With a 70% mandate, pap probably thought they have enough buffer to tell sinkies the cold hard truth about their asset enhancement scam. What they didn't expect is the overwhelming negative reaction.

KNN... it's a field day for me today! Guess what? Sinkies are truly sheeples... :rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes:

The PAP has two orifices from which they speak from, the female version has one more, which makes three. One is at the head, the other the rear & the other one is between the legs. Whichever it is used they are are all foul speeches. The one from the head will speak ' words of wisdoms' & the rest of the orifices, one will fart the same or the other squirt the same, but smelling different from the main orifice.

So, what is new? Few months ago the head of HDB was farting about the same subject...

Hypocrite-The

The PAP has two orifices from which they speak from, the female version has one more, which makes three. One is at the head, the other the rear & the other one is between the legs. Whichever it is used they are are all foul speeches. The one from the head will speak ' words of wisdoms' & the rest of the orifices, one will fart the same or the other squirt the same, but smelling different from the main orifice.

So, what is new? Few months ago the head of HDB was farting about the same subject...
Wat about the pap supporters who keep saying yr estate will be a slum if u vote oppo? Now no oppo also will be slum bcos the property value will be zero

Hypocrite-The

Minister Wong now says HDB flat an asset that will appreciate as Singapore prospers
Published on 2018-08-22 by Correspondent
It was reported in the media that at a public feedback forum organized by government feedback unit REACH yesterday (21 Aug), National Development Minister Lawrence Wong now said that a HDB flat sold on a 99-year lease is an asset that will appreciate as the country prospers.
This a fundamental tenet of Singapore's home ownership policy, he said.
"There is a high likelihood that over a period of time, if the economy does well, if incomes rise, then property values will appreciate together with the fundamentals of the economy, and your stake in the nation - your home - can also appreciate in value," he told the audience.
The forum was organised to get people's views about PM Lee's National Day Rally speech he made last Sunday (19 Aug).
Conflicting messages sent out by Minister Wong
Minister Wong appears to be sending out conflicting messages to the public.
Last year in March, he cautioned home buyers not to assume that all old HDB flats will be automatically eligible for the Selective En bloc Redevelopment Scheme (SERS).
In a blog post published on 24 Mar 2017, he said that the Government will continue to maintain the strict selection criteria for blocks eligible for SERS, noting that only about 4 per cent of HDB flats have been identified for SERS since 1995.
He was then concerned about reports of HDB flats with short leases left being transacted at high prices in the resale market.
"As the leases run down, especially towards the tail-end, the flat prices will come down correspondingly," he said. "So buyers need to do their due diligence and be realistic when buying flats with short leases. This is especially important for young couples, who have to plan for a much longer future."
In other words, when the lease of a HDB flat expires at the 99-year mark, its value will be zero.

https://www.theonlinecitizen.com/20...t-that-will-appreciate-as-singapore-prospers/
This Lau LAN Wong is starting to make Mah Bow Tan look good

"song bo? your flat will appreciate but not as fast as my salary."

lawrence-wong.png

Wat about the pap supporters who keep saying yr estate will be a slum if u vote oppo? Now no oppo also will be slum bcos the property value will be zero

The "slum" thing is a marketing ploy, just like the MOH & the manufacturer's thing on the "less sugar" thing, less sugar but pay more money...sounds familiar...no slum, but it becomes ZERO SUM. ha ha ha ha

If wealth of sinkies are based on the price of their hdb, it makes sense for PAP to make it even more difficult for sinkies to cross into jb and buy homes and live there.

I do not understand why sinkies rely on what politicians say in the first place. Just examine the facts and draw your own conclusions.

Real estate, whether freehold or leasehold rises or falls based upon fundamental market forces of supply and demand. Predicting how prices will change over the long term all depends upon what unfolds over the next few decades.

The answer of course is that nobody can predict the future.

I can offer a far more practical piece of advice and that is to cash out when the going is good. Set yourself a target price and if it is reached then liquidate and take profit.

This applies to ALL classes of assets ie real estate, stock, art collections, precious metals etc. Cashing out unlocks the value of your investments. 10kg of gold is useless. It does nothing. Cashing out when the value of your gold holdings gain 20% value in one year can do a lot to make your life better.

Same applies to real estate regardless of the conditions of the title.

70% voted for it and supported such incompetents,,so if singkies are having problems with the HDB time bomb now,,,they can only ask themselves,,who did they vote for?

The 70% voted for the PAP because they are pragmatic and rational and have not allowed their emotions to get in the way of sound judgement.

The 30% are nut jobs and armchair critics who preach from the comfort of their PAP created cocoons.

Hypocrite-The

The 70% voted for the PAP because they are pragmatic and rational and have not allowed their emotions to get in the way of sound judgement.

The 30% are nut jobs and armchair critics who preach from the comfort of their PAP created cocoons.

Oh yes,,,the 70% are soo pragmatic, rational and logical that they are basically Vulcans. The reasons they give are..I vote for PAP bcos old fart die (old fart die their biz?), I vote pap bcos I want upgrading and my estate wont be a slum...(as if Potong Pasir and Hougang are slums), I vote PAP but I hope opposition win (my personal favourite)...and they are soo logical that they can attend opposition rallies etc and put up with traffic and crowds etc and its not even in their constitutency,,and than vote PAP,,,and the excuse is I will only vote for WP,,,,,singkie logic indeed