• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Law Minister explains court sentencing of Dr Woffles Wu

SINGAPORE: Law Minister K Shanmugam responded to comments that the sentence meted out to plastic surgeon Dr Woffles Wu was too lenient.

Dr Wu was fined S$1,000 on Wednesday for abetting Mr Kuan Kit Wah, then 76, to provide misleading information to the police in November 2006.

The car belonging to Dr Wu, was travelling at 91 kilometers per hour (kmph) on Adam Road when the speed limit is 70kmph.

In a blog post, MP for Bishan-Toa Payoh GRC Hri Kumar Nair said such offences are serious and that others who had been convicted of similar offences had been jailed.

Mr Shanmugam said the incident raises four questions.

Firstly, why Dr Wu was charged under section 81(3) of the Road Traffic Act; secondly why abetment; thirdly why he was given a fine; and lastly why there was a lapse of six years before Dr Wu was taken to task.

Mr Shanmugam explained that the offence was committed in 2006 when section 204 of the Penal Code had not been enacted yet.

Under usual provisions at that time, a person would be charged under Section 81(3).

As for why Dr Wu was charged with abetment, Mr Shanmugam said the 52-year-old "did not make the misleading statements himself."

The minister said the statements in question were made by Mr Kuan, which was why the charge could only be that of abetment.

Mr Shanmugam stressed that investigations are ongoing, as to who the driver actually was and that the case has not been concluded. (????)

He said the decision to prosecute was made by the Attorney-General's Chambers (AGC) and that it is independent in making those decisions.

As for sentencing, Mr Shanmugam said the courts make that decision and a fine is apparently "within the norm of usual sentences" under that charge.

Noting that there have been cases where the offender was jailed, the law minister points out that fines are more commonly meted out.

In this particular instance, Mr Shanmugam said "no money passed hands".

He added that Mr Kuan was also not charged and that could have been because the AGC took into account the fact that Mr Kuan is now over 80 years of age.

As for why it took six years for Dr Wu to be prosecuted, Mr Shanmugam said the police were unaware of the offences at that time.

He said information was given only much later through a complain to the AGC, made "more recently".

Once the complaint was received, authorities investigated and thereafter the AGC decided to charge Dr Wu.

Mr Hri Kumar Nair said Mr Shanmugam has answered some of the public's questions on the case.

But it may be useful, Mr Hri said, if the public could understand why some cases involve jail terms while some only received fines.

Turning to the case of the 25-year-old, dubbed the sticker-lady, who was arrested for vandalism, Mr Shanmugam said there are no hard and fast rules on what's considered art on public buildings.

He said the government must look at the consensus of the majority and how the majority would like society to be structured.

Charges have yet to be filed on sticker-lady, Samantha Lo.

Mr Shanmugam's comments were made on the sidelines of a community event.

- CNA/ck

... Mr Hri said, if the public could understand why some cases involve jail terms while some only received fines.

Turning to the case of the 25-year-old, dubbed the sticker-lady, who was arrested for vandalism, Mr Shanmugam said there are no hard and fast rules on what's considered art on public buildings ...
answer 2 wat was asked! ... dun anyhow changed topic! ... :mad:

Hmm, the plot thickens....

Mata2 has established that "no money changed hands"

Also, from... http://singaporedesk.blogspot.sg/2012/06/waffle-about-woffles.html

Wu would not tell the press who was actually behind the wheels, admitting only that "I was fined for providing the name of someone who was not driving the car, and it was a silly thing I did." The silly thing he did was to tick the box that declares:

"I am the registered vehicle owner but not the driver of the said vehicle on the date, time and place of offence as stated in your letter. I hereby furnish the driver's particular(sic) as follows:"

You don't have to be an Equity Partner at Drew & Napier like Hri Kumar Nair to appreciate that it was Wu who started the ball rolling when he filled in the "Request for Driver's Particulars" per Road Traffic Act (Chapter 276) i.e. intentionally perverting the course of justice.

Also, I wonder why our world class media has not interviewed the mysterious Mr Kuan to establish that HE filled in the form, when the form MUST be completed by the owner.

It seems that more questions have been raised than answered.

answer 2 wat was asked! ... dun anyhow changed topic! ... :mad:

Yah man, he might as well say there are no hard and fast rules on what's considered fast on public roads ...

Also, I wonder why our world class media has not interviewed the mysterious Mr Kuan to establish that HE filled in the form, when the form MUST be completed by the owner.

Could be because he is over 80 and considered too old. :rolleyes:
Oh, another thing, the world crass media is also not known for world crass investigative reporting..................

[ The minister said the statements in question were made by Mr Kuan, which was why the charge could only be that of abetment. ]

Did Mr Kuan make statement 6 years ago or only when a complain was received?
If Mr Kuan made statement 6 years ago why police were unaware of the offended at that time?
If Mr Kuan made statement when the complain was received, how he remember he was speeding 6 years ago?

So Shanmugam was pulling his leg or my leg?

SINGAPORE: Law Minister K Shanmugam responded to comments that the sentence meted out to plastic surgeon Dr Woffles Wu was too lenient.
Turning to the case of the 25-year-old, dubbed the sticker-lady, who was arrested for vandalism, Mr Shanmugam said there are no hard and fast rules on what's considered art on public buildings.

- CNA/ck

To put it simply, he implies that the govt can charge anyone at whims and fancies.

Phua Chee Bye Shanmu pundek who the fuck are you to come out to defend kangaroos? Let the those fucking kangaroos explain la. You are not the one who sentenced WW so why the fuck you here defending? You should be out here making a statement like "ok sinkies I am the law ministar and I have requested our kangaroo to come forward to explain why the fuck he make my job so difficult now" Thats all pundek. Now you defending the kangaroo really proofed to us that this is a fucking kangaroo court. Is this so fucking difficult to do to or is this karma?*

Do not know what the fuck he is talking about as usual. I only respect British Law and Commonwealth Law ex SGP. Simply put if W was driving then and did not admit to the fact and let this blame taking affair happen, he is lying to the police and holding the court in contempt, in spite of knowing fact and keeping quiet. He is also an accomplice to the lying by not objecting to the lie. What is the penalty for lying under Oath to the police and to the courts? Kuan is less material to the one in the driver seat who was supposedly drink driving. Now that this has surfaced, how does the medical committee see this? Is it alright to allow a person like him to remain in his practice that deals with patients' lives, knowing that he has little regard for life by engaging in drink driving? I mean drink driving and juggling with surgical tools immediately next to the sedated patient seems not too dissimilar to me......

Mr Kuan made statement 6 years ago. However, he only complained to police when he was caught chia lui. So police only knew of indecent when he complained.

Understand?

[ The minister said the statements in question were made by Mr Kuan, which was why the charge could only be that of abetment. ]

Did Mr Kuan make statement 6 years ago or only when a complain was received?
If Mr Kuan made statement 6 years ago why police were unaware of the offended at that time?
If Mr Kuan made statement when the complain was received, how he remember he was speeding 6 years ago?

So Shanmugam was pulling his leg or my leg?

Great stuff bro...

How can Shan say tat WW did not make any misleading statements to the police when the traffic offence summons was addressed to WW n WW as the registered owner of the material vehicle was under an obligation to provide the necessary details which WW appeared to do but in fact thus has been proven to be a lie as Kuan was not the driver at the material time...

This case is getting more rum by the the minute...

As for money not passing hands...Shan of all pple sld be aware tat corruption takes all forms n shapes...money is but just one aspect...sex is another asoect v much in vogue!...as for WW's case this prolly stemmed fm long term employment issues..l

Hmm, the plot thickens....

Mata2 has established that "no money changed hands"

Also, from... http://singaporedesk.blogspot.sg/2012/06/waffle-about-woffles.html

Wu would not tell the press who was actually behind the wheels, admitting only that "I was fined for providing the name of someone who was not driving the car, and it was a silly thing I did." The silly thing he did was to tick the box that declares:

"I am the registered vehicle owner but not the driver of the said vehicle on the date, time and place of offence as stated in your letter. I hereby furnish the driver's particular(sic) as follows:"

You don't have to be an Equity Partner at Drew & Napier like Hri Kumar Nair to appreciate that it was Wu who started the ball rolling when he filled in the "Request for Driver's Particulars" per Road Traffic Act (Chapter 276) i.e. intentionally perverting the course of justice.

It seems that more questions have been raised than answered.

To put it simply, he implies that the govt can charge anyone at whims and fancies.

That we already know!, but you must have that invisible logo of that circle & lightning imprinted all over you; only seen under UV light. With that, any doors will open...without even saying "open sesame"!!:p

What is the penalty for lying under Oath to the police and to the courts? Kuan is less material to the one in the driver seat who was supposedly drink driving...

tin pei ling lied too in her election nomination forms, nothing happened to her and she gets to keep her MP title. one law for peasants, one law for friends of PAP.

majullah singapura indeed.

Quan Yi Fong
Natasha Wan (drunk broad who beat up policemen)
Kelvin Seah (Lexus-driving ah sia kia)
Woffles Wu

Tell me why I should obey the law?

Quan Yi Fong
Natasha Wan (drunk broad who beat up policemen)
Kelvin Seah (Lexus-driving ah sia kia)
Woffles Wu

Tell me why I should obey the law?
You have to if you are a peasant sinkie if not the full force of the law will come down hard on you.

If you are elite sinkie then can ignore the law....for the above reasons you listed above.

Elite settle with money.