• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Last 10 in the World: Singapore Fares Poorly On Tackling Inequality

Inequality is desirable and the wider it is the better.

Without inequality there would be nothing to strive towards. The bigger the gap the more it inspires the human race.

I can't figure out if this is sarcasm or not.

I can only point out history is against your thinking. 1789 brought the French revolution when some had cake while others had no bread.

And I doubt Elon musk was inspired by notions of inequality in his quest to reach Mars.

Inspiration to excel has little to do with envy from inequality.

It certainly drove me so I see absolutely no reason why it does not drive millions of others to do better.

I came from a very poor family but ended up in ACS via the Coleman street route. Many other ACSians have gone down the same path.

While I had to cycle to school I was full of admiration for the sons of tycoons arriving in air conditioned chauffeur driven limousines. Car air cons were a rarity in those days.

I made a pledge to myself that I wanted to be able to afford the comforts of life one day. The desire to upgrade and reach the top echelons defined my work ethic from then onwards.

While I did not succeed in becoming a tycoon, I did manage to end up financially independent at an early age. For that I thank the inequality that I witnessed during my formative years.

Had I ended up in some neighborhood school where limousines and ostentatious wealth were not on display I would never have put in the effort to excel because I would have had no positive role models there to look up to.

Inequality is desirable and the wider it is the better.

Without inequality there would be nothing to strive towards. The bigger the gap the more the more it inspires the human race.

All the advances which we have achieved since the dawn of time are a result of inequality. We should celebrate inequality daily. It makes us want to get out of bed and do better.
KNN nobody or rather no leeder in this world would want to tackle and solve inequality else who is going to be their slaves KNN it is only how desperate or how deep the level of slavery act and sg one is on the top KNN

Oppies should immediately announce affirmative action policy in their manifesto.
New condo development should set aside 50% of the units to the lower income.50% of new students reserve for lower income. 50 % of new jobs in glc and civil service reserve for lower income.
Those elites can have all the jobs in the armed forces,

KNN nobody or rather no leeder in this world would want to tackle and solve inequality else who is going to be their slaves KNN it is only how desperate or how deep the level of slavery act and sg one is on the top KNN

Inequality is NOT a problem that needs to be solved in the first place. Inequality is what drives the whole world in every aspect of our lives.

We go to school to decide who is smarter. We play sports to decide who is better. We court the opposite sex in competition with other males to conquer the best pussy. We work hard so we are paid better... we don't want our pay to be equal to others we want it to be BETTER.

The desire for inequality moves the human race forward.

Well paid Minister doing his rebuttal. Lol :D. Nothing more nothing less. It's his job to rebut. :D

Inequality is NOT a problem that needs to be solved in the first place. Inequality is what drives the whole world in every aspect of our lives.

We go to school to decide who is smarter. We play sports to decide who is better. We court the opposite sex in competition with other males to conquer the best pussy. We work hard so we are paid better... we don't want our pay to be equal to others we want it to be BETTER.

The desire for inequality moves the human race forward.
KNN correct. The only way for the lower caste to breakaway from being in the competition and to make everyone equal is not to succumb to the upper caste and slowly the inequality gap will be closer KNN

Singapore sets out to achieve real outcomes rather than satisfy ideologically driven indicators,

When they don't get top 3, they give excuses like this, when they get top 3, they claim all their system is the bestest........

When Singapore is not amongst the top it is very obvious that the yardstick being used is flawed or out of date.

There is no poverty in Singapore so what the good minister says has to be true.

Most glaring is racial inequalities...restricting a certain race to be in a certain high public position is purely discriminatory.

This is Eugenics....you can go ask the 'old fart'...but he is not around. He reads up a lot on this...EUGENICS. The selection of a master race, superior in genes, looks & in all manner. This I must say for that ang moh to point one finger, has to look where the rest of the fingers are pointing to.

It certainly drove me so I see absolutely no reason why it does not drive millions of others to do better.

I came from a very poor family but ended up in ACS via the Coleman street route. Many other ACSians have gone down the same path.

While I had to cycle to school I was full of admiration for the sons of tycoons arriving in air conditioned chauffeur driven limousines. Car air cons were a rarity in those days.

I made a pledge to myself that I wanted to be able to afford the comforts of life one day. The desire to upgrade and reach the top echelons defined my work ethic from then onwards.

While I did not succeed in becoming a tycoon, I did manage to end up financially independent at an early age. For that I thank the inequality that I witnessed during my formative years.

Had I ended up in some neighborhood school where limousines and ostentatious wealth were not on display I would never have put in the effort to excel because I would have had no positive role models there to look up to.

Thanks for sharing but you are not like everyone else and do no represent the millions of others out there.

Has it ever occured to you that you are special? (Not special needs!) Or that you are an outlier who is able to succeed?

As class monitor, I quickly realized from the class nominal role that my HDB address was in the minority. Only 1 in 4 from my class were from HDB homes.

However it was never the wealth inequality that drove me. It was simply a matter of survival in a bloody big pond of high achievers.

What I have achieved today has nothing to do with being envious of the rich or hankering after what others had. It was simply to never have to quarrel with my spouse over money as I witnessed my parents' constant fights over (the lack of) money.

So from my perspective, inequality was not a driving force in my success. And inequality need not be the driving force for personal improvement.

Thank you for the sharing.

Now for the perspectives from the bottom rungs of society. My family weren't rich in the kampung to begin with, but we shared things readily with others whenever we could. My old woman who learnt from her old woman that it's better to give than to receive. Giving thanks and giving back was the backbone of that gotong royong spirit.

The whole bloody idea about getting ahead in life was to be able to be in a better position to help out with the family and kampung. That mentality served me well, I hope :coffee::coffee::coffee:

My desire to get ahead was so that once I was on the top of the pile I could then pour scorn and belittle those who were less successful than I was.

The fact that I had lifted myself out of a disadvantageous situation has given me the right to curse and make fun of those who have not put in the same effort that I have.

Your actions could well be that spur in the hides for some, nothing bad or sinister about that.

May all be well and happy!

At this rate Singapore will soon stop sending scholars to Oxford as they will end up meeting people like Thum in the school or Oxfam people in the town be influenced.
Now PAP is saying the end(outcome) justify the means, so anything is OK on the way to making money and making PAP ministers the highest paid in the world