• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Serious Kiwi Ang Mohs Stole The Chinese Gooseberries!

kryonlight

This Kiwifruit Isn't From New Zealand at All. It's Chinese, and This Is How It Got Hijacked

The kiwifruit may be New Zealand’s defining agricultural product, generating a handsome $1.05 billion in exports for the country in 2015, according to datafrom the U.S. Department of Agriculture. But how the South Pacific nation came to claim the exotic, fuzzy fruit with soft, green flesh and a unique taste is a story that combines considerable luck and a stroke of marketing genius.

猕猴桃

The erstwhile Chinese gooseberry, as its archaic English name suggests, finds its root a hemisphere away in China. Its original name in Chinese, mihoutao — “macaque fruit” — refers to the monkeys’ love for it, according to the 16th century Chinese medicine encyclopedia, the Compendium of Materia Medica.

The kiwifruit’s status as a transplant might not come as a surprise for many readers. After all, the story of one of the world’s greatest marketing and botanical hijacks has been vaguely circulating for decades, from a New YorkTimes item about trade in New Zealand over 30 years ago to a TIME column about branding and psychology in 2010.

Told you chao angmoh went round the world to steal IP and then used banned social media in their own country to publish the truth...

luckily not from hokkien province. otherwise auntie here will start another thread on hokkien honor and hymen kena stolen and picha lobang.

nightsafari

oranges also what, even worse grown all over the world not just in ah sam's backyard...

ah gin should already know this because if she really knows german, the name in German is sinaapfel -- chinese apple.