Kee Chiu: "Don't worry, Overtime Tan will be promoted in due course."

HE laughed when asked about being a future prime minister.

"I don't know why people talk about it this way."

But his has been an eye-catching and meteoric rise. Two years after entering politics and just 44, former army chief Chan Chun Sing has been promoted to full minister, helming the Ministry of Social and Family Development.

Mr Chan's new appointment was the highlight of several cabinet changes announced by Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong in late August, as the government gears up to tackle fresh policy challenges.

In a wide-ranging interview with BT, his first since his promotion, Mr Chan was quick to downplay his own achievement.

"The rest will all be promoted in due course. I think I can speak for the rest, that for us, teamwork is very important," he says, making reference to a Facebook post by his "good friend", Acting Manpower Minister Tan Chuan-Jin - also touted as a rising political star. "There is a reason why we serve, and it doesn't depend on our appointment," Mr Tan had written.

Says Mr Chan: "Who eventually becomes the PM is not something that we decide individually. Whoever he or she may be will have to command the trust of the team, and at the same time, the trust of the people of Singapore."

BT INTERVIEW

HE laughed when asked about being a future prime minister.

"I don't know why people talk about it this way."

But his has been an eye-catching and meteoric rise. Two years after entering politics and just 44, former army chief Chan Chun Sing has been promoted to full minister, helming the Ministry of Social and Family Development.

Mr Chan's new appointment was the highlight of several cabinet changes announced by Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong in late August, as the government gears up to tackle fresh policy challenges.

In a wide-ranging interview with BT, his first since his promotion, Mr Chan was quick to downplay his own achievement.

"The rest will all be promoted in due course. I think I can speak for the rest, that for us, teamwork is very important," he says, making reference to a Facebook post by his "good friend", Acting Manpower Minister Tan Chuan-Jin - also touted as a rising political star. "There is a reason why we serve, and it doesn't depend on our appointment," Mr Tan had written.

Says Mr Chan: "Who eventually becomes the PM is not something that we decide individually. Whoever he or she may be will have to command the trust of the team, and at the same time, the trust of the people of Singapore."

BT INTERVIEW

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

• mgchanatLeefuneral.jpg
    mgchanatLeefuneral.jpg
    45.8 KB · Views: 531
If Sinkies wish to know whether Kee Chiu is related to the royal FamiLEE, they just have to solicit the info from US intelligence services. The latter keeps tabs on everything that happens all over the world. It's not difficult for them to gather intelligence on Kee Chiu. How big a country is Sinkieland?

He may not be related, but simply sooooooooooooooo grateful.

Is overtime tan popular with the people? If not who gives a shit? Its just left hand giving to right hand. And all in the Familee.

He's got a dumb look. I congratulate the new broom sweeps clean Singaporean if this dunce becomes the PM, he will be another clown.

When the mainstream media is doing this kind of interview and asking such a question, you know that he's more or less appointed as the Crown Prince to the throne. They're merely testing water and gauging public reaction.

I expect a noticeable increase in positive media exposure for Kee Chiu in the months and years ahead. Unless something big happens (scandal, major cockup, ill health)... let's all hail the next PM of Singapore, Kee Chiu Chan!

Siao liaoz, the way this boy scout kee chiu general talk is machiam he know alot liaoz. Machiavelli confirm he future pm like that.

Knn, sinkers suay siao liaoz if boy scout general become seat warmer pm for the third generation Lee pm.

God help us!! What has he done?? How come he's ahead of queue?? What about Ng Hen? Tharman? Vivian and others??

What positive things has he done to justify his positive exposure? he look like a clown, talks like a clown acts like a clown...anyway...many pap cabinet ministars and MPs are like that,,like sia suay..so what he done?

When the mainstream media is doing this kind of interview and asking such a question, you know that he's more or less appointed as the Crown Prince to the throne. They're merely testing water and gauging public reaction.

I expect a noticeable increase in positive media exposure for Kee Chiu in the months and years ahead. Unless something big happens (scandal, major cockup, ill health)... let's all hail the next PM of Singapore, Kee Chiu Chan!

God help us!! What has he done?? How come he's ahead of queue?? What about Ng Hen? Tharman? Vivian and others??

Ng Hen too old and only good (not) in MINDEF. Tharman (Indian). Vivian (Indian plus Chinese Wife)

He may not be related, but simply sooooooooooooooo grateful.

He is psychological scarred because his father abandoned him during his childhood. LKY knows how to sucker him and thus kee chiu worships LKY like a father.

Even in his advanced years, LKY is still as devilish. Kee chiu will be the seat warmer until another Lee is ready to takeover.

Only stooges would want to be associated with PAP.
Remember Chip Goodyear that Temasek headhunted to succeed Ho Jinx, he back out last minute citing reason "differences in opinions on strategy".

Chip of course is just one of the many ang mohs who diagree with the PAP. Hundreds of others follow them

If you are referring to those hundreds of others who followed are the expats who work and stay here, then concurred.
Chip is different because he is tasked to run Temesak. You just can't run a company blindfolded let alone one that magnitude of Temesak.

Most of us know that "differences in opinions on strategy" alone can't be the sole reason for Chip to back out.

So, what actually spooked Chip?

What do u think?

If you are referring to those hundreds of others who followed are the expats who work and stay here, then concurred.
Chip is different because he is tasked to run Temesak. You just can't run a company blindfolded let alone one that magnitude of Temesak.

Most of us know that "differences in opinions on strategy" alone can't be the sole reason for Chip to back out.

So, what actually spooked Chip?

What do u think?

There are ang mohs as heads of our universities, major GLCs....