• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

K Shanmugam stresses protection of women's rights

LindaNg

Not a K Shanmugam fan, but Have to agree that these bastards need to be sentenced to death!

SINGAPORE - Minister for Law and Foreign Affairs K Shanmugam has condemned the horrific gang rape of a young Indian woman in New Delhi, who died in a hospital in Singapore yesterday.

He said on his Facebook page that it is a heartbreaking case and added that this is a type of case where the abusers should face the death penalty.

He said he would often cite similar cases in discussions with people who want the death penalty abolished.

Mr Shanmugam also highlighted a letter written by an Indian journalist Deepika Shetty. She had pointed out that in Singapore, young women can go about confidently at any time of the day and night, in spaghetti tops and shorts.

Mr Shanmugam pointed out that this is a right they should have and is a right which society should protect.

CHANNEL NEWSASIA

It is like the 'pot calling the kettle black', ha ha ha, where did he originate from?? the woman was stupid enough together with her BF to accept a ride after hours from total strangers, & in a place where such violence is a daily occurrence. We would expect her, from a poor sector of the society to be extra vigilante, but she wasn't.

I am not supporting the violent acts, but am questioning what is on her mind?? & the stupidity of it all, and paid the price with her life. Once again, the "prostiute' press is drumming up our opinions , our support for this woman; just because the Indian Government chose to come here for treatment.

They can go Dubai? or even Malaysia...or Thailand!!, isn't this a I rub you & you rub me thing?? reason, we are feeding thousands, thousands of "ah nehs" who are working here, if not..can they airlift her to London?? or even get the Soviets or the Chinese or the Japanese or..to send a medical team.

It money, dammit! MONEY!!

tualingong

after that indian girl kena raped and died, so many holy men & women suddenly sprang up?

where were they when maids kena abused in Singapore?

he is just using this to support death penalty.

even death penalty cannot bring back the woman they have raped and killed.

bullfrog

Makes me wonder too whether Singapore has been "used" in the process. If girl dies in Indian hospital, there will be even more uproar. If sent to "neutral" S'pore, Indian govt can claim (as it has) that she got the best treatment but still died. All this, the PAP govt again very pro-India and Indian friendly, short of paying for the bills.

Look at the MSM - a whole 20 mins devoted to this piece of news in an half hr segment on CNA news. Then in ST, two-three full length pages and no less.

Another question that reflects badly on the inept Indian govt - girl was raped on Dec 16 but took them 10 days to decide to send her here.

Govt controls what ST prints and then praises them. Macam masturbation or DIY.

Once again, the "prostiute' press is drumming up our opinions , our support for this woman; just because the Indian Government chose to come here for treatment.

They can go Dubai? or even Malaysia...or Thailand!!, isn't this a I rub you & you rub me thing?? reason, we are feeding thousands, thousands of "ah nehs" who are working here, if not..can they airlift her to London?? or even get the Soviets or the Chinese or the Japanese or..to send a medical team.

LindaNg

The simple reason is that women needs protection, whether in Singapore or India, or anywhere round the world.

Death penalty is good,,,it prevents these assholes from committing the crime again,,and of course save tax payers money on feeding them,,or later release them and have to monitor them again etc,,it wont bring the victim back,,but it will prevent further victims from scums of these nature,

Bleeding heart left wing liberals always complain about death penalty etc,,in ang mor lands where capital punishment is removed,,have their society become better? it has become worse as these criminals are running around the community and the cops have limited powers to detain them,,,release the criminal harm the community

after that indian girl kena raped and died, so many holy men & women suddenly sprang up?

where were they when maids kena abused in Singapore?

he is just using this to support death penalty.

even death penalty cannot bring back the woman they have raped and killed.

Yeah after reading the article on wikipedia,,i am also wondering why the couple boarded a bus driven by joyriders,,did they not know the bus was stolen? or they looking for a 'free ride'? werent we all taught as kids to never board a vehicle with a stranger

It is like the 'pot calling the kettle black', ha ha ha, where did he originate from?? the woman was stupid enough together with her BF to accept a ride after hours from total strangers, & in a place where such violence is a daily occurrence. We would expect her, from a poor sector of the society to be extra vigilante, but she wasn't.

I am not supporting the violent acts, but am questioning what is on her mind?? & the stupidity of it all, and paid the price with her life. Once again, the "prostiute' press is drumming up our opinions , our support for this woman; just because the Indian Government chose to come here for treatment.

Of course the death penalty is the right sentence for these rapists, as a life is lost. A life for a life. That is just fine.
But the issue for Shamugam is not about defenders or objectors of the death sentence. He seems to like to confuse the issue.

It's the mandatory aspect of death penalty for drug possession and/or trafficking. Mandatory is just not the right, as it takes away the defense.

Keep the death penalty if the police cannot err, for the issue is always wrong judgment. For clear cut cases, keep the death penalty, but for not so clear cut cases, then it is not right to put someone to death because the judge says so.

butoh6050

Everybody needs protection.
Suing and throwing someone in prison without trial just coz they speak their mind equals to rape of a different kind.
This is also a right a person should have and a right society should protect.

"Mr Shanmugam pointed out that this is a right they should have and is a right which society should protect. "

So what sinkie charbo want ? gender equality or woman's rights :wink: ? You can't have the best of both world :wink: if u want gender equality then why u need woman's rights ? :wink:

Drifter, you are indeed a wise man and you have brought up a very good point,,but the feminist Nazis will advocate that cos there is no gender equality,,than so need womens crap to even the scales mah,,,

So what sinkie charbo want ? gender equality or woman's rights :wink: ? You can't have the best of both world :wink: if u want gender equality then why u need woman's rights ? :wink: