• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Judge VK Rajah: National Service Is More Important Than Your Parents

SNAblog

http://www.todayonline.com/Singapore/EDC100901-0000065/Dutiful-son-told--NS-comes-first

'Dutiful son' told: NS comes first

05:55 AM Sep 01, 2010

SINGAPORE - For five years, Goh Khim Song evaded National Service (NS). And when he was caught, he was fined $3,000.

But the prosecution said the sentence was too light.

In the High Court yesterday, Justice V K Rajah agreed and jailed Goh, 28, for four months.

Goh, a supervisor with a courier company, had registered for NS on Oct 2, 2002. He then applied for a deferment to study in a polytechnic but dropped out.

On Aug 1, 2005, officers from the Central Manpower Base (CMPB) gave a reporting order to Goh's mother. Goh was supposed to report to CMPB for a medical checkup two days later but he did not turn up.

Officers continued visiting Goh's flat between 2005 and last year, and even tried to ambush him there, without success. Police arrested him on April 26 this year. MediaCorp understands he had surrendered.

He pleaded guilty on June 2 and was fined $3,000. But in the High Court yesterday, Deputy Public Prosecutor Eugene Lee told Justice Rajah that a fine was "grossly and manifestly inadequate" and asked for a jail sentence instead.

Goh claimed he was not aware of the order or of the officers' visits and that he did not try to escape.

Goh said he had to support his mother, who was ill and unable to work, and a 25-year-old brother who is studying at a local university. He had intended to serve his NS after his only sibling was able to support their mother in his place.

Justice Rajah said that while Goh "may have been a dutiful son", NS obligations had the highest priority, ahead of studies and personal matters. Goh was ordered to report for NS immediately after his release from prison. Shaffiq Alkhatib

So by the time he finish NS, he is over 30, quite an old by then.

Meanwhile foreign trashes are given extended visa to stay in SG to look for jobs.

For five years, Goh Khim Song evaded National Service (NS). And when he was caught, he was fined $3,000

5 years? lol. I dun think anyone with half a brain will believe his cock and bull story. I'd believed him if he tried to slip off for 1 - 2 years then came back but 5 years is a long time.

NS come first?:rolleyes:
if the story is true, i tink have to review the his case.

5 yrs? knn, always blow big.

Judge VK Rajah...:oIo:

There are some pple who die die just do not want to do NS. Damn fucking weird.

I know this man who is an AWOLee. He managed to convince a girl stupid enough to marry him (customary cos he cannot go to ROM). They even have children (all without a registered father). Stay with his in-laws cos he cannot buy a flat.

All this cos this loser does not want to fulfil his responsibility as a man in Singapore. What an idiot like Chong. Cock and bull story about taking care of his mum. The brother cannot do it meh.

NS is a liability, a burden! Just go thru it and keng all the way like I did! My medical docket consists of 3 thick volumes (NS plus reservist)! And I can proudly say that I learn nothing from the 2 yrs cos I was always on MC or attached out for all the minor insignificant events!

LOL. Precisely, everyone has to do it and it's against the law not to do it. In that case just go do it and get it over with. I can't understand why these pple see past this simple fact. Suffer for 2 yrs and then U can go do whatever U want. No need to live in fear for the rest of your life.

On the opposite end of the spectrum to Balls2U's way of getting pass NS, I have a few friends who became NS drivers. Damn lucky IMO, no need to charge up the hill and can get free driving license.

There are some pple who die die just do not want to do NS. Damn fucking weird.

I know this man who is an AWOLee. He managed to convince a girl stupid enough to marry him (customary cos he cannot go to ROM). They even have children (all without a registered father). Stay with his in-laws cos he cannot buy a flat.

All this cos this loser does not want to fulfil his responsibility as a man in Singapore. What an idiot like Chong. Cock and bull story about taking care of his mum. The brother cannot do it meh.

You don't doubt him, even the judge did not doubt him. His brother was still schooling if you bothered to read. Maybe he should just serve NS and let his mother and brother starve to death? Is that what the PAP wants?

Read the article again

He enlisted 2002(I guess just finish O-levels) and got deferment. He dropped out of Poly and then at the end of his deferment then the 5 yrs started counting down

He could just as easily got early enlistment after he dropped out of Poly. I'll assume 1 year and instead of coming out he waited it time was up and hid for another 5yrs. In the meantime his bro have finish serving NS and gone to Uni. In fact 6 years can finish NS and complete Uni.

And dun go down the road about pple starving to death. SG is not a welfare society but they have more then enough money for the poor from the government as well as org giving free money and food to ensure that locals at the very least don't starve to dead. In fact he doesn't have any excuse either SAF has a financial assistant scheme for low income NSmen

http://www.mindef.gov.sg/imindef/publications/cyberpioneer/features/2010/apr_fs4.html

At the end of the day we all follow the same motto in SAF, Server and F off. This guy tried to run, got caught and came up with a stupid cock and bull story to get a light sentence

There are many instances of varsity students teaching tuition to support themselves and their family through university. Sure it is a hard life but life is never fair.

Dun give cock and bull story about supporting mother.