• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Josie - Aware Saga has Strengthened Me

MarrickG

6745.jpg

MS JOSIE LAU, 49
Former president of the Association of Women for Action and Research (Aware)

THEN: Ms Lau was in the hot seat for three weeks when she became president of the women's advocacy group on April 15.

The new executive committee - with members from the same church she attended - was criticised for taking over Aware in a stealthy manner.

The new members had disapproved of the group's actions, saying it promoted homosexuality, as in its sexuality education programme for schools.

Ms Lau and her committee bowed out after a vote of no-confidence at a stormy extraordinary general meeting on May 2.

Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong talked about the saga in his National Day Rally speech in August. He warned Singaporeans to keep religion separate from politics, and to observe principles of tolerance and restraint so as to maintain racial and religious harmony.

NOW: Family, a new job and travel have been keeping Ms Lau busy.

Asked if anything good came out of the saga, she pointed out that the Education Ministry has introduced new guidelines on sex education for students. 'I believe the silent majority is both happy and relieved with the outcome. Also, parents may be more involved and interested in what is being taught in schools.'

Did the saga change her in any way? 'All that I had gone through has strengthened me. I was surprised by the resilience I was given,' she said. She still keeps in touch with social issues, 'like any concerned citizen and parent'.

She said her focus for next year will be her job and her family. She is working in the retail world as a vice-president for investments. Ms Lau is married to medical doctor Alan Chin, 51. They have two daughters aged 15 and 17.

She added: 'My hope is for the Singapore Government to continue its support for strong, traditional family values in its policies, while the country continues to progress.'

Goh Chin Lian

I hope her resolution for the new year is not to deceive herself and the people. Her 2nd resolution should be to coordinate well with anyone mentoring her to so that they don't get caught out. Her 3rd resolution is not to correspond using email as they can readily reveal one's intention and easily circulated. Her 4th resolution is to strengthen her belief so that she can emulate her mentor in stopping tsunamis reaching our shores.
Her 5th and last important resolution is to learn to start her own organisation and build it up with blood, sweat and tears and not hijack a convenient vehicle and then pretend that its business as usual.

Another delusional Christian trying to be God, LOL :biggrin::biggrin::biggrin:

(Alamaking sensing Tee Kee coming into this thread and gives his 2 cents comments)

HellAngel

The country will progress faster if you people stop creating friction within the community.

Her last sentence "My hope is for the Singapore Government to continue its support for strong, traditional family values in its policies, while the country continues to progress."

TeeKee

she one fine Christian....only if singapore christians were active like her....sgp will progress alot faster..with God's blessings...

pro family....without her gays agendas will starts to propagate down to every singaporeans.

6745.jpg

TeeKee

I hope her resolution for the new year is not to deceive herself and the people. Her 2nd resolution should be to coordinate well with anyone mentoring her to so that they don't get caught out. Her 3rd resolution is not to correspond using email as they can readily reveal one's intention and easily circulated. Her 4th resolution is to strengthen her belief so that she can emulate her mentor in stopping tsunamis reaching our shores.
Her 5th and last important resolution is to learn to start her own organisation and build it up with blood, sweat and tears and not hijack a convenient vehicle and then pretend that its business as usual.

you are the one who denied Christ

see who is deceiving who? :biggrin:

Don't worry about it me, even the devil has given up on me. Logic and the concept of right and wrong cannot occupy the same space as religion. I keep them separate and practise my belief for spiritual fullfillment.

you are the one who denied Christ

see who is deceiving who? :biggrin:

Another delusional Christian trying to be God, LOL :biggrin::biggrin::biggrin:

(Alamaking sensing Tee Kee coming into this thread and gives his 2 cents comments)

She was not trying to be God, no fair minded Christians want to be God, though many will throne themselves above God.

What she & her cohorts did wasn't wrong, upheld the believe of any society of a family nucleus, Christian or otherwise. What was wrong was, it became religious rather secular, for AWARE was a secular organization, and should remain such, not taken over by any religious group.

That was wrong...but the blame had been deflected by those who was suppose to be a custodian of values of some sort, the people in power who manages education, was so blind to see or too arrogant to ask?, on values which we contrary to popular culture were being slowly dissiminated to the youngs in school!.

What Josie & her cohorts did was not wrong in protecting basic family values, what was wrong was to attack the system like a phalanx of Roman Soldiers; and giving a bad name to the soldiers of God!.

That was the mistake! :p

No one deflected anything.

She has no one but herself to blame. She would have got widespread support if she wrote a simple letter to the press highlighting what was taught in schools. Other parents would have chipped in.

They went in blind, using guile and deception and paid the price. The moment the email came out, they were caught with their pants down and her mentor was smart enough to come out clean.

If after taking over AWARE, she was upfront and honest, she would have received support from an essentially a conservative society. She chose to lie and kept claiming that it was not organised and refuted suggestion that they were associated with each other somehow.

Her integrity and that of the church members involved have been shot to pieces. So much so that she now can only gain employement from a relative, in this case, her mentor's husband.

Its very good lesson to anyone intending to do good. Your integrity is the only asset that you can take with you when you die. One is always born with a default positive integrity. One must really work hard to destroy it. And she did a remarkable job destroying it. A good example of blind faith and misplacing one moral compass. There are million of christians around the world that do an excellent job and have first class integrity and this lady has brought shame to all these good people.

That was wrong...but the blame had been deflected by those who was suppose to be a custodian of values of some sort, the people in power who manages education, was so blind to see or too arrogant to ask?, on values which we contrary to popular culture were being slowly dissiminated to the youngs in school!.

She was not trying to be God, no fair minded Christians want to be God, though many will throne themselves above God.

What she & her cohorts did wasn't wrong, upheld the believe of any society of a family nucleus, Christian or otherwise. What was wrong was, it became religious rather secular, for AWARE was a secular organization, and should remain such, not taken over by any religious group.

What Josie & her cohorts did was not wrong in protecting basic family values, what was wrong was to attack the system like a phalanx of Roman Soldiers; and giving a bad name to the soldiers of God!.

Sorry lah bro, her Church is against homo/lesbians, thats WHY they tried to control Aware by letting their Church members in the committee, protecting family values is 2nd to them lor.

She said she didnt know the other committees are from her same church, that is a downright liar, who would believe that bullshit? LOL :biggrin::biggrin:

She has no one but herself to blame. She would have got widespread support if she wrote a simple letter to the press highlighting what was taught in schools. Other parents would have chipped in.

They went in blind, using guile and deception and paid the price. The moment the email came out, they were caught with their pants down and her mentor was smart enough to come out clean.

If after taking over AWARE, she was upfront and honest, she would have received support from an essentially a conservative society. She chose to lie and kept claiming that it was not organised and refuted suggestion that they were associated with each other somehow.

Her integrity and that of the church members involved have been shot to pieces. So much so that she now can only gain employement from a relative, in this case, her mentor's husband.

Its very good lesson to anyone intending to do good. Your integrity is the only asset that you can take with you when you die. One is always born with a default positive integrity. One must really work hard to destroy it. And she did a remarkable job destroying it. A good example of blind faith and misplacing one moral compass. There are million of christians around the world that do an excellent job and have first class integrity and this lady has brought shame to all these good people.

Well said!...that was she did was wrong too!, guess we all learnt a lesson from this, other than calling names, and pointing fingers.

But the deflection of blame by those in authority can not be missed, once again, the tinge of arrogance is there, for they; see that it is not above them to consult lesser mortals.

In the end, it was a great lesson to us all all, an eye opener, that Christians are human beings, they do tell lies!

HellAngel

TeeKee,

The word "Christian" is just a word. A person can claim to be a "Christian" but do things otherwise. You are defending her becos she claims to be a Christian? That is blind loyalty.

Judge a person based on his action not by words. Her action of creating animosity within the community during the AWARE saga is unacceptable. It created and brought out the worse behaviour of many Sinkies, may it be "Christians" or not.

you want me to post the frictions between singaporeans from youtube again?

see how many are Christians? :biggrin:

TeeKee

Do you think gay rights is secular? :biggrin:

TeeKee

wah how can you judge her as if you are a flawless human being?

can you stand up to God when He is judging you? :biggrin:

TeeKee

TeeKee,

The word "Christian" is just a word. A person can claim to be a "Christian" but do things otherwise. You are defending her becos she claims to be a Christian? That is blind loyalty.

Judge a person based on his action not by words. Her action of creating animosity within the community during the AWARE saga is unacceptable. It created and brought out the worse behaviour of many Sinkies, may it be "Christians" or not.

Actually I am not qualified to judge because I am a human being too!

But what she did was really commendable....despite being manipulated by 'secular rightists' to make her like a liar...

How did that happen? maybe it's beri hard to instill Christians values in a 'secular' society without getting into religious harmony act troubles??

God knows everybody hearts....don't play play...:biggrin: