• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Jobless nus engineering graduate feeling depressed and admitted to hospital

why everytime people write about how low their salary is they will never say how much it is?

Dear Gilbert,

I am writing to you because i think I need help.

I graduated from NUS engineering, and back while in school, I thought that I would be highly employable with people rushing to give me job offers.

However, I could not be more wrong.

When I graduated, we were facing the aftermath of the 2007-2009 financial crisis.

It was hard to get employed and the future wasn’t even in sight.

This was when my woes started. I also began to feel more depressed and irritable.

Things got so bad that I refused to speak to anyone close to me.

Finally, I have to sign a bond with the government where I was paid peanuts – a pay so low that I could even laugh just thinking back.

Just when I thought my woes were over, the harsh reality of working life took over.

My boss was a huge bully but I didn’t dare quit because it meant that I would be breaking a bond of which the penalty would be severe.

I presevered for a year and after that, I wasn’t offered a place in the company, so I have to leave.

Imagine the humilation and loss of self esteem…

That was when I got depressed again.

To make matters worse, I fell sick and have to be hospitalised.

After hospitalisation, I mustered all the hope have and began to look for a job again.

My efforts finally paid off and I was offered a job.

However, I didnt last long in my new workplace due to some relationship problem in the office.

It was then that a senior manager told me that many youngsters don’t last long in the company because of relationship problems there.

I dont want to elaborate too much on this.

After leaving, I fell into depression again and lost much hope again.

I decided that I needed a long break to think over my problems and where to move on from here.

However, I might have taken a little too long to think over my problems and career options.

I thought about it for roughly 9 months, and now I am worried that no one would want to employ me again.

What do you think is my best course of option? I hope I can hear from you soon.

Yours Sincerely,

Sad Depressed NUS graduate

I thought engineering degree would be a good bet to migrate to NZ? Knn, I really regretted not to have studied engineering in school. No choice, lousy with mathematics...

how come got bond with government? he scholar or those foreigners who on scholarship here but have to work for singapore company for 1-2 years as part of the deal?

You didnt master the art of copying?

I thought engineering degree would be a good bet to migrate to NZ? Knn, I really regretted not to have studied engineering in school. No choice, lousy with mathematics...

... I graduated from NUS engineering, and back while in school, I thought that I would be highly employable with people rushing to give me job offers ...
typical sinkie mentality ... tink he engin grad big f**k! ...

most likely, he had carried tis mentality @ all his wok place ...

why everytime people write about how low their salary is they will never say how much it is? ...
he engin grad woh! ... big f**k, man! ... wat u xpek? ...

typical sinkie mentality ... tink he engin grad big f**k! ...

most likely, he had carried tis mentality @ all his wok place ...

he engin grad woh! ... big f**k, man! ... wat u xpek? ...
Hehehe. Don't like that say Engineering leh. Was my wish to get into a poly or even university to study engineering but somehow never had the chance to do it.

Sometimes, quite paiseh when people know I no degree but go used to it liaoz. At least family and close friends never look down on me can liaoz.

1. aiyoh!
2. some only "booksmart" sheep.
3. just cannot accept the hard truth.
4. honest, must ask this question to the loser: who did it last voted for ?
5. graduates betterer prepare themselves for the worst case scenario.
6. getting a degree or what is no instant passport to some high-flying positions & fat paycheque.
7. this is a typical sheep cum loser attitude!
8. now, where is tonny?

We don't need him here, let him migrate to China. They need lots of engineers there.

1.Man up
2.Buy a lawnmower/grass cutter and go and cut grass/maintain gardens around landed properties and Singapore.
3.Do the work yourself.
4. Alternatively start your own business in an industry which hardly any young singaporeans venture into.. lots out there..

P.S. Sorry bro streetsmart borrow your number bulleting for this comment :D

Many of the engineering grads whom I know are doing anything but 'engineering' jobs. They're working in pet shops, or as gym instructors, or in F&B.

Question: Has writing to Gilbert actually helped anyone substantively, in terms of getting a job? Or is Gilbert simply an online agony aunt? If it is the latter then I cannot see the point of it except to provide amusement to the online community.

story sounds like:

a) that Alex Ong fella that ended up pushing that old lady on the SBS bus; or
b) that NS boy that had his maid carry his backpack, maybe the boss won't let the maid carry his tool box this time.