• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Jews are all broke 400K in Israel Protest cost of living, US NY Jews also joint

uncleyap

t1larg.tel.aviv.afp.gi.jpg

http://edition.cnn.com/2011/WORLD/meast/09/03/israel.protest/

Hundreds of thousands of Israelis protest cost of living

By Kevin Flower and Guy Azriel, CNN
September 4, 2011 -- Updated 0949 GMT (1749 HKT)
Hundreds of thousands in Tel Aviv turn out Saturday to protest rising housing prices and social inequalities.
STORY HIGHLIGHTS

People have camped out in tent cities for six weeks
Activists say they want social justice
Government has formed panel to draft ideas

Tel Aviv, Israel (CNN) -- In what organizers are proclaiming to be the largest social protest in Israel's history, hundreds of thousands of Israelis took to the streets of Tel Aviv and other cities to protest the high cost of living in the country and demand government action.

The rallies on Saturday night are the latest action in a six-week-long social protest movement that began with a small group of activists pitching tents in an exclusive Tel Aviv neighborhood to protest high rents. It has culminated in a nationwide movement made up of a wide cross-section of Israelis calling for social justice in the Jewish state.

Organizers billed the protests the "March of the Million" and hoped a high turnout would help reignite political momentum for a movement that had recently slipped from the center of public attention following a high-profile terrorist attack in southern Israel more than two weeks ago.

Eight Israelis were killed in the attack, which prompted an escalation in tensions between Gaza-based militant groups and the Israeli military. That resulted in the death of some two dozen Palestinians and one more Israeli.

Israeli police spokesman Micky Rosenfeld told CNN that authorities estimated a nationwide turnout of 300,000, while local media reported a higher turnout ranging from 400,000 to 450,000.
Israelis protest cost of living
RELATED TOPICS

Israel
Israeli Politics

The speed with which the protests grew took Israeli politicians by surprise. The day after more than a quarter of a million rallied in early August, Israeli Prime Minister Benjamin Netanyahu appointed a special panel of experts to draft a series of recommendations on how best to reduce the cost of living.

"In the recent weeks we have been witnessing a public protest that expresses a real distress," Netanyahu told his cabinet on August 7. "We cannot and we shouldn't ignore the voices coming out of the public. We want to give real solutions, and we will do so."

The panel is due to discuss the growing sense of disparity in Israel. Despite promising figures of growth and low unemployment rates, many Israeli feel the prosperity is not shared by all.

"The state has money that goes to the wrong places, there is no equality. The money doesn't come back to the people," Shmuel Lim, a protestor in Tel Aviv, told CNN.

The government panel, which is expected to look at ways to reduce taxes and improve access to social services, will make its list of recommendations public later this month. The government is not bound to follow them.

The tent cities in Tel Aviv and other cities have been a prominent and colorful feature of the movement but are expected to start dissipating, as the summer draws to a close. Many of the residents of the tent camps were students on summer break.

While some activists are concerned the protest movement might be losing steam, more optimistic participants predict this is just the beginning of a greater change. "It is like a tsunami wave, we are just in the middle of the tsunami in this protest, the wave is swiping us and we are in the middle of it," said Shai Sade of Tel Aviv.

"I really hope it is not the end. I really hope that we continue until we get what we demand," said Zachi Malka, a protestor in Tel Aviv. "Hopefully people will start thinking about social issues, not only about political ones. Social issues come first. I really hope we can see the change, I really hope we can see something different."

uncleyap

http://www.guardian.co.uk/world/2011/sep/04/israel-protests-social-justice

Israeli protests: 430,000 take to streets to demand social justice

Up to 300,000 take part in Tel Aviv, 50,000 in Jerusalem and 40,000 in Haifa in Israel's biggest ever demonstration

reddit this

Harriet Sherwood in Tel Aviv
guardian.co.uk, Sunday 4 September 2011 11.40 BST
Article history

Demonstrators in Tel Aviv
Demonstrators in Tel Aviv. Photograph: Uriel Sinai/Getty Images

Hundreds of thousands of Israelis took to the streets on Saturday night in Israel's biggest ever demonstration to demand social justice, a lower cost of living and a clear government response to the concerns of an increasingly squeezed middle class.

About 430,000 people took part in marches and rallies across the country, according to police. The biggest march was in Tel Aviv, where up to 300,000 took part. There was an unprecedented 50,000-strong protest in Jerusalem, and 40,000 marched in Haifa. There were smaller protests in dozens of other towns and cities.

It had been billed as the "march of the million" but organisers said a turnout matching the 300,000-strong demonstrations four weeks ago would be a triumph. Israel's population is 7.7 million.

Saturday's demonstrations followed 50 days of protests that have rattled political leaders and led commentators and analysts to ask whether a new social movement would transform Israeli domestic politics for the next generation.

The movement, which has the support of about 90% of the population according to opinion polls, began when a small group of activists erected tents in Tel Aviv's prosperous Rothschild Boulevard in protest at high rents and house prices.

Tent cities mushroomed across the country and protesters rallied behind the slogan: "The people demand social justice." Among the issues raised were the cost of housing, transport, childcare, food and fuel; the low salaries paid to many professionals, including doctors and teachers; tax reform; and welfare payments. The government established a committee led by the economics professor Manuel Trajtenberg to examine the protesters' demands, which is due to report later this month.

Demonstrators in Tel Aviv on Saturday night blew whistles and banged drums as they marched in a carnival atmosphere to a large square for a rally. Residents hung banners from balconies and cheered as they passed.

"We are the new Israelis," the student leader Itzik Shmuli told the rally. "And the new Israelis want only one simple thing: to live with dignity in this country."

He added: "Tonight we make history again. The people are supporting a protest started by the young people and, a week after the protest was proclaimed over, we are on the verge of breaking another record. From now on the government knows that at any given moment Israelis can return to the streets and must therefore deliver the goods."

Daphni Leef, one of the organisers of the original tent protest, said: "This summer is the great summer of the new Israeli hope born of despair, alienation and impossible gaps … The Israeli society has reached its red line, and has gotten up and said: 'No more.' This is the miracle of the summer of 2011."

Under a homemade banner saying "Walk like an Egyptian", Ruti Hertz, 34, a journalist, said that until this summer people had been privately ashamed of their inability to make ends meet. "Each person was lonely in their situation, thinking it's my own problem." That had changed with the protests.

She said that she and her teacher husband, Roi, were living on the same income as when they met 10 years ago. "We don't ask for much, just to be able to finish the month without taking from our parents."

Roi's monthly take-home pay of 5,500 shekels (£940) went on nursery fees for their two young daughters, she said.

Vered Cohen Nitsan, a primary school teacher from Netanya, said she had joined the march "to protest, to support the people of my country and [because] I wish my children will have an easier life in the future".

She added: "For years, you think you just have to work harder and struggle. And now people start to talk to one another and you see it's not your personal problem."

At a rally in Haifa, Shahin Nasser, an Israeli-Arab, said: "Today we are changing the rules of the game. No more coexistence based on hummus and fava beans. What is happening here is true coexistence, when Arabs and Jews march together shoulder to shoulder calling for social justice and peace. We've had it."

The protests have been criticised by some on the left for not paying more attention to the discrimination suffered by Israeli-Arabs, who make up 20% of Israel's population, or Israel's occupation of the Palestinian territories.

Weekly demonstrations, whose turnout had been steadily building, were suspended for two weeks after an attack by militants near the Egyptian-Israeli border in which eight Israelis were killed. Some commentators suggested that the movement had lost its momentum.

Protest organisers said the tent cities would be dismantled but the movement would continue with other actions. Many tent-dwellers had already left as the Israeli summer holidays ended.

Demonstrators-in-Tel-Aviv-007.jpg

uncleyap

http://www.haaretz.com/jewish-world...h-social-change-protesters-back-home-1.382492

Published 16:57 04.09.11
Latest update 16:57 04.09.11

Israelis in NYC rally in solidarity with social change protesters back home
As more than 450,000 people take to streets across Israel, New York-based Israelis venture out into the sunny afternoon in support of the cry for social change.
By Tracy Levy Tags: Israel protest Jewish World Diaspora Jews

Some 100 Israelis and supporters gathered in Washington Square Park in New York City on Saturday to hold a rally in solidarity with the hundreds of thousands demonstrating for social change across the pond in their native land.

As more than 450,000 people took to the streets across Israel on Saturday night, these New York-based Israelis ventured out into the sunny afternoon in support of the cry for social change.
Israeli protest New York

Israelis hold solidarity protest in New York, September 3, 2011.
Photo by: Tracy Levy

The New York demonstrators faced some stiff competition getting their message heard in the public park: as they chanted their slogans, a young man in baggy jeans went on beat boxing as a bagpipe player played his own riff across the way, and an enthusiastic piano player jammed under the park’s famous arch nearby.

The purpose of the gathering was to show support and solidarity for the ‘March of the Million’ across Israel, where mass protests have been ongoing for over a month in demand for affordable housing and social reforms.

This group of Israelis and their supporters in NewYork did what they could to show solidarity. Participants handed out flyers explaining what was going on Israel, while others held signs written mostly in Hebrew demanding social justice.

The crowd surrounding the nearby street performers did not seem drawn to the group of Israelis and their supporters, who seemed mostly to be chanting, singing and demonstrating to each other, with signs almost entirely in Hebrew.

A group of teens from the Labor Zionist youth movement Habonim Dror made up a good chunk of those gathered, and they energetically joined in when the group made a loop around the park.

“Why aren’t we chanting in English so people can understand?” one young American girl asked her friend, who was holding a sign reading ‘Fighting for our Homes’.

Israeli attendees gave mixed messages when asked about the role that U.S. Jews should have in relation to the ongoing protests in Israel. Ron Poole-Dayan, listed as one of the organizers on the Facebook invite for the event, sees a direct connection between the U.S. and the protests in Israel.

“The policies that brought Israel to this place are U.S. policies,” Poole-Dayan said, adding that he and other organizers of the rally were making themselves available to local synagogues to help facilitate discussions on what was going on Israel.

He called the gathering at the park a “gut reaction to being away [from Israel] and wanting to be a part of Israel.”

Others expressed the view that they were there strictly toshow support for their fellow Israelis. Ezer Vierba, an Israeli PhD student at Yale compared the gathering in the park to the rallies by Arabs held at embassies across the world in support for the Arab spring.

He questioned the idea that the gathering was intended to gain support from U.S. Jews, but said that the protesters in Israel could use all the support they could get.

As the chanting and sign waving died down, the rally turned into a social gathering for Israelis living in the city, with participants mingling under a nearby tree.

Most of these protesters, while based in New York, expressed the sentiment that Israel will always be home for them. And in the end, Vierba noted, “Israelis want to return to a country that can treat them right.”

uncleyap

http://tw.news.yahoo.com/article/url/d/a/110904/135/2y45s.html

12107358.jpg

40萬以色列人上街 抗議生活難
新頭殼 更新日期:"2011/09/04 14:02" NewTalk 新頭殼

新頭殼newtalk 2011.09.04 林禾寧/綜合外電

以色列全國再次爆發大規模遊行示威,3日晚間,超過40萬的以色列人走上街頭,抗議房價和物價飆漲,同時要求政府採取有效措施抑制通貨膨脹。

抗議遊行是以「遍地開花」的方式,在以色列多個主要城市進行。40萬人是以色列「第10新聞頻道」(News Channel10)估計在全國各地示威的人數,不過以色列警方拒絕估計這項示威人數。

以色列這一輪席捲全國的示威浪潮,從7月中旬開始,抗議群眾在這段期間舉行了多場全國性遊行,這次參與人數創新高,超過8月6日類似示威活動的30萬人。

示威民眾在一幅布條上寫著:「整個世代需要未來。」而參加示威的學生領袖史穆里(Itzik Shmuli)表示,這項示威人數顯示這項運動持續性的力量。

許多以色列人對於房屋、食物、教育與醫療等價格不斷飆升感到憤怒,也讓一波波以色列人串連上街抗議。以色列官方也組織了一個委員會討論民眾對改革的要求,不過以色列總理尼坦雅胡(Benjamin Netanyahu)曾說,他無法滿足示威者提出的所有要求。

尼坦雅胡7月底曾推動立法簡化新建住宅和土地審查手續、改革房屋管理機構,緊急興建小戶型公寓,並承諾給5歲以下兒童提供免費教育,以緩解社會危機。

不過,抗議民眾並不滿意政府的回應,要求政府對社會福利、稅收體制等進行更深入的改革。

房價高近年來已成為以色列社會焦點議題。2011年第一季特拉維夫一間四房公寓,平均售價達247萬謝克爾(約台幣1983萬元),年上漲12.3%。

根據以色列中央統計局今年3月所公布的數據顯示,以色列人平均每月工資為8996謝克爾(約台幣72195元)。很多年輕夫婦、退伍軍人、大學畢業生根本無力購屋。2010年6月至今年6月的消費者物價指數上漲4.2%,超過政府設定的3%警戒線。

uncleyap

Only Arabs & PRC are rich & may be Indians.

Arabs had collected @over US$100 per barrel for years, the oil that cost them next to nothing, just pump out and sell.

People tot Jews very Ho Kang 好康? But the fact is they are also starving!

Huat Ah!

methink

Why aren't you encouraging your Liar Nair friend to protest?

Please go get a regular job lah stuffychute the doggie. Why sell yourself so low?

Since you are encouraging ppl to protest, why dun you do it? Doggie knocking off soon can do so anytime today.

tun_dr_m

Tel Aviv will soon join the long list of bankrupt countries like Washington London etc. The whole pack of beggars!

Watchman

RussiaToday on Aug 7, 2011

On Saturday night, more than a quarter-of-a-million people took
to the streets in Israel in the latest show of discontent with the
government. That's after three weeks of protests over the soaring
cost of living with activists demanding the Prime Minister steps down.
Benyamin Netanyahu has responded with a promise of great changes
in Israel's economy. A special panel has been set up to deal with the crisis,
which has even led to calls for a revolution similar to that in Egypt,
with one Tel Aviv street labelled as 'Israeli Tahrir'.

<iframe width="420" height="345" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/H5dsNvcNY7Q" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Watchman

Understanding UN Bias Against Israel -- Invite to Durban 3 Protest, NYC, Sept 21

<iframe width="560" height="345" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/j7Mupoo1At8" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Watchman

Masses show up for biggest protest in Israel's history.
srael's tent protest marked a climax point Saturday as
more than 400,000 people took to the streets in demand
for social justice in what is being declared the biggest
protest in Israel's history.

<iframe width="420" height="345" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/Lz7MjNMdH2U" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

<iframe width="420" height="345" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/wpkuUTEVw2Q" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

<iframe width="420" height="345" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/fEXxbuBYvx0" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Devil Within

Problems started with US exporting inflation to the rest of the world with their fiat money. More US money printing with upcoming QE3.

their gov like singapore like to increase foreigners and give them free citizenship.

most of these people are beggars, just sit at home everyday and wait for gov money. like from where they are from, what do you expect from FT.

HongKanSeng

Netanyahu also Tak Boleh Tahan!

http://www.bloomberg.com/news/2011-09-04/netanyahu-pledges-to-ease-israeli-living-costs.html

Netanyahu Pledges to Ease Israeli Living Costs
Q
By Jonathan Ferziger - Sep 4, 2011 7:15 PM GMT+0800

inShare
More
Print:eek:
Email

Israeli Prime Minister Benjamin Netanyahu renewed his pledge to ease the cost of living after weekend protest rallies brought more than 400,000 people onto the streets.

Netanyahu said he will act on recommendations from a panel headed by Tel Aviv University economist Manuel Trajtenberg that are due by the end of September and aim to provide cheaper housing and bring down prices for food, daycare and transportation.

“The public debate and the Trajtenberg Committee discussions are an opportunity for real changes,” Netanyahu said in remarks broadcast on Israel Radio before his weekly Cabinet meeting in Jerusalem. “After receiving the committee’s recommendations, I will act quickly to bring about the correct balance between social concern and fiscal responsibility.”

A citizens protest movement that started in mid-July by planting tent camps in Tel Aviv’s fanciest neighborhoods organized rallies across the country last night that attracted as many as 450,000 people, according to estimates in Haaretz and other newspapers.

The protesters “will not give up,” said Itzik Shmuli, a leader of the movement and chairman of the National Student Union, addressing a crowd estimated at 300,000 in Tel Aviv. “They demand change and will not stop until real solutions come.”
Stocks Fall

Israeli stocks fell the most in a week in the first trading session after the rally and amid concerns that the U.S. economy may slip into recession. The benchmark TA-25 Index dropped 2.6 percent to 1,102.47 at 1:46 p.m. in Tel Aviv, the biggest intraday decline since Aug. 25.

Housing prices have increased about 40 percent in the last three years, in part the result of Israel’s slow planning and construction process, Bank of Israel Governor Stanley Fischer said on Aug. 1. They rose 13.7 percent in the 12 months through April-May, about triple the inflation rate, the Central Bureau of Statistics reported on July 15.

Israel ranked fourth in the Knight Frank Global House Price Index for the first quarter of 2011, trailing only Hong Kong, India and Taiwan. Rent prices increased a monthly 1.1 percent May.

To contact the reporters on this story: Jonathan Ferziger in Tel Aviv at [email protected]

To contact the editor responsible for this story: Andrew J. Barden at [email protected].

Re: Netanyahu also Tak Boleh Tahan!

VELLY VELLY GOOOOOOOOOOOD AH...........................!!!!!

any BAd news for JEWS.......................is GOOD news to me..................and the world !!!!

uncleyap

Re: Netanyahu also Tak Boleh Tahan!

Ask the Jews to get a million dollar cabinet to give themselves 1st world country lah, we export our unwanted LEEgime to them. :wink: 2nd hand lah cheap-cheap Leh-Loong!