Serious JB wants to lower RM1mil threshold for foreign buyers. Good news for @ginfreely

Valium

Johor govt mulls lowering RM1mil threshold for property acquisition by foreigners
image: https://apicms.thestar.com.my/uploads/images/2019/09/20/282709.jpg
282709.jpg

JOHOR BAHRU, 2 Sept -- Pengerusi Jawatankuasa Perumahan, Komunikasi dan Multimedia negeri Dzulkefly Ahmad ketika sidang media berkaitan operasi bersepadu bagi memadam kebakaran 16 hektar hutan di Jalan Tanjung Kupang dekat Gelang Patah sejak 21 Ogos lepas dihentikan mulai hari ini. Keputusan itu diambil susulan daripada status pemadaman kebakaran oleh Jabatan Bomba dan Penyelamat (JBPM) negeri, yang kini sudah mencapai 99 peratus. --fotoBERNAMA (2019) HAK CIPTA TERPELIHARA
JOHOR BARU: The Johor government is looking at lowering the current RM1mil threshold for foreigners to buy property as an incentive to sell off 51,000 unsold properties in the state.
State Housing, Communication and Multimedia Committee chairman Dzulkefly Ahmad (pic) said that properties priced at RM600,000 and above make up between 60% and 70% of unsold properties here.

"Among the incentives that we are looking at is to review the RM1mil threshold of property prices for foreigners to buy property in Johor.
"The matter will be reviewed by the state Land and Mines Office as the matter comes under their jurisdiction," he said when met at a property fair held at a shopping mall here on Friday (Sept 20).

The Kota Iskandar assemblyman however assured that the lowering of the minimum threshold would not increase property prices for locals.
The measure was introduced by the previous administration to stabilise domestic prices from excessive speculation to enable local interests to acquire quality properties valued less than RM1mil per unit, especially residential units.

Read more at https://www.thestar.com.my/news/nat...acquisition-by-foreigners#WYFDFYFxOxii226m.99

Its bad news for Gin. Buyers will go for below 1m NEW PROPERTY, pushing her resale property floor price of 1m even lower. Lol :D

But my advice is think twice before purchasing JB properties. Esp with the new govt....all new inexperience ministers. They can flip flop their policies any time...
JB properties are never to be considered for investment. If any one wishes to buy, buy by all means to live, enjoy a different lifestyle, and be happy there.

Don't be a clown like greedy Gin who buy hoping to reap financial returns. Her starting point was erroneous, and now blaming and KPKB at everyone but herself for a wrong decision she made.

Why buy property in mudland if the foreign buyers can't get residency?
No citizenship for foreign home buyers under Malaysia My Second Home programme: Wan Azizah
Malaysian Deputy Prime Minister Wan Azizah Wan Ismail. (File photo: Bernama)
20 Sep 2019 04:37PM
(Updated: 20 Sep 2019 11:01PM)
Share this content
Bookmark
KUALA LUMPUR: Malaysia is not offering citizenship to foreigners who buy luxury homes in the country through the Malaysia My Second Home (MM2H) programme, Deputy Prime Minister Wan Azizah Wan Ismail said on Friday (Sep 20).
These buyers will only get a 10-year visa, she added.
“There is no granting of MyKad (Malaysian identification card) or permanent resident document, just a 10-year visa,” she said, adding that this would be discussed at the Cabinet.
The issue of granting citizenship to foreign home buyers cropped up recently when Housing and Local Government Minister Zuraida Kamaruddin proposed to market unsold luxury units to buyers from China and Hong Kong under the MM2H programme, in a bid to resolve oversupply.
Her proposal has drawn flak from politicians who said that it would result in the country being owned by foreigners.
Introduced in 2002, MM2H aims at attracting foreigners to make Malaysia their second home or holiday home.
Open to all foreigners, successful participants are given a social visit pass with multiple-entry visa that is valid for 10 years.
Stressing that the home ownership campaign is not limited to people from China and Hong Kong, Dr Wan Azizah said on Friday that interested foreigners must have liquid assets in order to contribute to the country.
The requirements for MM2H stated that applicants aged below 50 years old have to show proof of liquid assets worth at least RM500,000 and open a fixed deposit account of RM300,000 in Malaysia; or liquid assets worth RM350,000 and fixed deposit of RM150,000 for those above 50.
They are allowed to withdraw part of the fixed deposit from the second year onwards for house and car purchase, education for children in Malaysia and medical treatment.
Currently, foreigners are only allowed to buy properties worth RM1 million (US$240,000) and above in Malaysia.
In August last year, Prime Minister Mahathir Mohamad said foreigners would not be allowed to buy residential units at Johor’s mammoth Forest City project, but later clarified that he meant such a purchase would not guarantee them citizenships.
Source: CNA/Bernama/tx(hs)

JB properties are never to be considered for investment. If any one wishes to buy, buy by all means to live, enjoy a different lifestyle, and be happy there.

Don't be a clown like greedy Gin who buy hoping to reap financial returns. Her starting point was erroneous, and now blaming and KPKB at everyone but herself for a wrong decision she made.

We can still buy for investment. But invest it with due diligence, imo. Johore is big. So location very important. I have couple of friends. In paper they are making profits. Not tat much but still profit. For me its more for retirement. So doesnt affect me much.

Any way for those who intend to buy below 1 mil threshold ought to thing twice. U enter now. Tom they may raise the threshold again to 1mil or more. Then ur property is stuck. Can only sell to jiuhukia.

We can still buy for investment. But invest it with due diligence, imo. Johore is big. So location very important. I have couple of friends. In paper they are making profits. Not tat much but still profit. For me its more for retirement. So doesnt affect me much.

Any way for those who intend to buy below 1 mil threshold ought to thing twice. U enter now. Tom they may raise the threshold again to 1mil or more. Then ur property is stuck. Can only sell to jiuhukia.
As long as your starting point is correct, then nothing to worry. IMO, greed is the catalyst of siaotingtongness. :D

You need to have a car in Malaysia to make it easier to travel to places. Public transport is unreliable. But oil is cheap.

Jiuhukia will always gang up on foreigners...if they see u are a singkie they will just push the price down.. if u buy..invest in the lifestyle ..not for financial gain. Basically the money spent is gone. There are many who invested in the lifestyle. They enjoy the property, makan etc...n their family visits them on weekends n holidays..so no issues. Still cheaper n betterer than staying in singkieland. Mind u..they stay real gated community with full amenities..not those open estates

Yep.

The property for foreign buyers was capped at minimum rm500k for as long as 8 can remember. Under badawi, he tried to turn jb into a shenxzen with open borders with singapore. At one time. No need to fill up entry card. I think in 1998 malaysia became the most visited country on the planet thanks to repeat visitors from sinkie. And those unsold condos you see empty currently, was built for sinkies in mind.
Then came najib, he doubled minimum purchase price for foreigners to rm1 mil killing the developer's target market, imposed hefty causeway tolls, and surrendered ktm land to pap, thus making a mrt or high speed rail between jiu hu and sinkie very difficult to construct cheaply.