• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Jap DRAM maker Elpida filed Bankruptcy case. Closed Shop!

uncleyap

http://www.kansascity.com/2012/02/27/3454699/japanese-chipmaker-elpida-files.html

[h=1]Japanese chipmaker Elpida files for bankruptcy[/h] [h=4]By YURI KAGEYAMA[/h][h=4]AP Business Writer[/h]

Shizuo Kambayashi
Japanese computer chipmaker Elpida Memory, Inc. President Yukio Sakamoto, left, bows during a press conference in Tokyo Monday, Feb. 27, 2012. Elpida filed for bankruptcy Monday after amassing debts from nose-diving prices, longtime competition from Samsung and the flooding in Thailand last year that stagnated demand.

[h=6]More News[/h]

TOKYO -- Computer chipmaker Elpida Memory Inc. filed for Japan's largest manufacturing bankruptcy Monday after amassing debts from nose-diving prices, competition from Samsung and flooding in Thailand last year that stifled demand.
Elpida, the only manufacturer in Japan to specialize in DRAM chips used in mobile phones and computers, reported debt of 448 billion yen ($5.5 billion) in filing for bankruptcy at Tokyo District Court on Monday.
That was the largest ever for a bankruptcy in Japan in the manufacturing field, according to Teikoku Databank, which compiles such information.
Elpida, set up in 1999 as a joint venture between Japanese electronics companies NEC Corp. and Hitachi Ltd., has been struggling for years to close the gap with rival Samsung Electronics Co. of South Korea.
The Tokyo-based company, which employs more than 3,000 people, said its business was hit when DRAM prices declined from about 2007, and got worse with the global downturn.
The surging yen also came as a blow as well as intense competition, it said.
Elpida said the flooding in Thailand last year battered DRAM demand, furthering hurting its operations. Global hard-drive production was disrupted by the floods as Thailand is a major production base for hard-drive makers.
"We have concluded that, if we continue the business by ourselves, we will face cash shortage soon," the company said.
In 2009, Elpida got government emergency aid totaling 30 billion yen ($375 million) in investments through the government-owned Development Bank of Japan. Other Japanese electronics makers have pulled out of the DRAM business.

Nihon-ji must come to syonan-to and learn from the 'whitie-desu', best buisnessmen on planet earth, nothing will ever go bangkrupt, only the citizens.

Are you reminding us of Micropolis HDD maker closed shop by Temasek Whore Jinx?:confused::rolleyes::*::eek:

Shhhh! you want to receive " law yaw" letters?? don't shout so loud lah!:D you are insulting the best on planet earth & the milky way.:o

i also say the same.

well at least ask tamasick to invest, end of the day lose money, file for bankrupcy also no problem.

at least i know 60.1% wont mind.

well at least ask tamasick to invest, end of the day lose money, file for bankrupcy also no problem.

In the early years Ho Ching only made small loses of less than a billion. She has moved on to bigger things, losing multi-billions.

Even an old dog can learn new tricks :rolleyes:

i also say the same.

Temasek will never become bankrupt, no matter how much money it loses.

All the fees, fares, fines and taxes paid by Sinkies will get channeled back to Ho Ching's gambling ang pow money.

If there's no enough, she can easily persuade her hubby, Premier Pinky Loong, to delay/restrict CPF withdrawal, hike tax rates etc.

Possibly the only job in the world where no matter how you've royally screwed up, you'll still keep your job.
And a well paying job too.