• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Serious It's Official! Zikapore's Economy Has Upturned The Downturn! Oppies To Lose GE2020 Pants Down!

SINGAPORE: The country’s economic data may have perked up of late but the Monetary Authority of Singapore (MAS) is unlikely to make its next policy move – widely seen as a tightening – at the biannual review this week, said economists.

That is because the central bank remains wary of subdued inflationary pressures and softness in the local labour market. As such, most economists think the MAS will opt to keep its powder dry for now.

Rather than setting interest rates, the MAS manages the economy through the currency by allowing the exchange rate to float within an unspecified policy band and changes the slope, width and centre of that band when it wants to adjust the pace of appreciation or depreciation of the Sing dollar.

At its previous meeting in April, the central bank, which meets twice a year, said it would maintain a neutral policy stance for an “extended period”.

This comes despite a turnaround in Singapore’s growth numbers this year. Thanks to an improving global economy, the manufacturing sector has outperformed since the final quarter of 2016, benefiting some trade-related sectors and helping to lift overall growth.

However, this will unlikely be enough to nudge the MAS into tweaking its exchange-rate based policy this week, most economists said.

2.9 per cent in the previous quarter, with “another stellar performance” from the manufacturing sector on the cards.

On a quarter-on-quarter, seasonally adjusted annualised basis, the economy could expand 7.3 per cent during the July to September period, accelerating from 2.2 per cent in the second quarter.

While the pick-up in GDP shows that recovery is broadening out, DBS noted that third-quarter figures could be the strongest set of growth data this year.

“Growth could ease a tad in the coming quarters as the economy shifts from a recovery to a normalisation phase. Moreover, it is only logical to expect growth to moderate against the backdrop of a normalisation in global monetary policies," wrote DBS economists, who added that GDP growth is expected to come in at 2.8 per cent this year before softening to 2.5 per cent in 2018.

Read more at http://www.channelnewsasia.com/news...ngapore-economy-but-mas-in-no-rush-to-9296294

bobby

Do not have to rely on figures from gahmen...just take a look around you and you know.

Where got so much growth in the economy ????

Do not have to rely on figures from gahmen...just take a look around you and you know.

Where got so much growth in the economy ????

The Din Tai Feng (DTF) index is still high. Lots of sinkie customers eating at michelin starred Din Tai Feng.

The DTF index is by far the most accurate sampling test for our economy.

theblackhole

so many shops close
and empty
mainly now take over by Chinese landlords and owners
spa spa spa spa spa spa everywhere

so many shops close
and empty
mainly now take over by Chinese landlords and owners
spa spa spa spa spa spa everywhere

The 'Massage Parlour' Act is now being actively debated in Parliament. When the Act is passed, we can begin our Final Solution to all these illegal spas masquerading as brothels. I urge all samsters to report all illegal vice activities to your nearest police station or RC.

theblackhole

The 'Massage Parlour' Act is now being actively debated in Parliament. When the Act is passed, we can begin our Final Solution to all these illegal spas masquerading as brothels. I urge all samsters to report all illegal vice activities to your nearest police station or RC.

50 % of retail shops doing MP, TCM,Facial Salons,Foot Reflex, Spa,Barber shops,Wellness Shops,Herbal shops....will be closed and the economy will just collapse...you want to risk this????

Which 50% are doing these? Give me some shop names and addresses so that we can look into it. We need to keep Singapore morally clean and upright. No to illegal spas!

theblackhole

Which 50% are doing these? Give me some shop names and addresses so that we can look into it. We need to keep Singapore morally clean and upright. No to illegal spas!
close your eyes
just throw a coin
you get the 50% anyhow anywhere
even in shopping malls and heartlands

KuanTi01

If its true that the PAP has upturned the downturn, then we should be seeing Lim Swee Say and his gang on a stage singing and doing the dance moves all over again!

theblackhole

knn my friend's bird shop also close
all the ahpehs also no more money liao
just sit and watch
no business
anyone buying birds to sing

Leckmichamarsch

can win hands down.... no problem
Saddam n Kim of NK have been wining 100% why PAP only 69.888% after dumping in 248,000 new shitizen votes?
where the dirty blood came from LKY or Gecko or Hohoho???

bobby

The main cause of all these illegal sex shops...blame the wives.

If the wife take care hubby....no need to fuck outside.

theblackhole

The main cause of all these illegal sex shops...blame the wives.

If the wife take care hubby....no need to fuck outside.
the problem here is not so much the married men
many of these are young single studs
practicing their porn skills and av fantasy
some of these mps just give a handball for $40!!! no need to massage one

congo9

If not going for some service industry, who can afford to go pay such rental ?