It's official: Cardboard grandma now a saint.

kryonlight

Singapore Press: Elderly victim collect cardboard to keep neighbourhood clean

Photo-from-Facebook.jpg

In the recent accident where a taxi driver killed an elderly cardboard collector when he lost control of his vehicle while reversing, the Singapore press alleged that the elderly woman collected cardboard to keep the neighbourhood clean. Quoting an unidentified cleaner in the vicinity, Chinese media Lian He Wan Bao said that the 77 year old elderly collected cardboard not for the money but to keep the neighbourhood clean.

The incident happened on Wednesday (March 30), where a Comfort taxi suddenly reversed at high speed while parking and hit 77-year-old Poh Ah Gin who was looking for cardboard at the dirty alley behind a coffee shop at Bedok 123 along Bedok North St 2.

img_8587.jpg

According to another Singapore press, The New Paper, they interviewed the younger sister of the victim who claimed that her older sister “had money but stubbornly insisted on collecting cardboard”. However, the younger sister contradicted her statement saying that the victim regularly lives off food from her siblings.

In Singapore, the elderly poor collect cardboard to earn a living because the national retirement system CPF is insufficient and pays as low as next to nothing for elderly who did not make a regular contribution in their lifetime. Most housewives fall into this category.

The Singapore culture however is one that is sensitive to poverty, which is inferred as a “dirty word” in Singapore due to the government’s calls for self-reliant. Most poor do not seek help as it is perceived as shameful. The hardest hit is the elderly as they face both increasing cost of living when medical bills pile up, and lowly paid manual employment work like cleaners and security guards.

I will go to her death site and offer some prayers. Hopefully, she will give me some 4D numbers and bring good luck for my children's exams.

i will go to her death site and offer some prayers. Hopefully, she will give me some 4d numbers and bring good luck for my children's exams.

fuck you kan ni laubu jeebye!

Soon they enact a law that you need a license to pick cardboard or its illegal. One criteria - you must be physically fit so you can run away from reversing taxis.

i remember the old cardboard lady behind sheng shiong who keeps her stash by the curb. not sure if she's the same one. anyway, may her soul rest in peace.

In Singapore, the elderly poor collect cardboard to earn a living because the national retirement system CPF is insufficient and pays as low as next to nothing for elderly who did not make a regular contribution in their lifetime. Most housewives fall into this category.

If they don't make regular contributions you cannot blame the PAP for that. It's their own fault.

In order to make the CPF system work you need to put in the effort and make regular contributions during ones productive years. You cannot expect money to drop from the sky.

I had close to ONE MILLION bucks in my CPF account when I retired. This proves just how good the scheme is.

The Singapore culture however is one that is sensitive to poverty, which is inferred as a “dirty word” in Singapore due to the government’s calls for self-reliant.

Anyone whose source of money comes from their salary will face this same fate. Most sinkies overpay for their properties and will have little savings to retire on. This is common in developed cities, where property prices rise much faster than salaries.

My cpf account is fat and will give me a generous monthly payout because I did not clean it out during my younger days, and now after decades, the power of compound interest has ballooned my cpf acccount. Make good use of your Special Account as the interest rates there are much better than the OA.

Sinkies should learn to build multiple streams of income. There will come a time when many people will be retrenched or too ill or too tired to continue being an expensive, stressed out salary slave. Get some rental or dividend income.

Yes I fully agree with you. If everyone was like you and I the world would be a much better place.

Steps need to be taken immediately to rid the system of parasites and individuals who do not pull their weight when it comes to contributing to the good of society.

Yes I fully agree with you. If everyone was like you and I the world would be a much better place.

Steps need to be taken immediately to rid the system of parasites and individuals who do not pull their weight when it comes to contributing to the good of society.

That would means 3/4 of the jaik liao bee ministers have to go..... Give dog fark.

u anyhow said ah ?

how does "having close to one million" in Chee Pye F contribute to the good of the society ????

u anyhow said ah ?

how does "having close to one million" in Chee Pye F contribute to the good of the society ????

You obviously don't know how trickle down economies work.

I will be spending all this money over the next few years. The people who receive the money will benefit immensely.

On the other hand those who have no money in their CPF accounts create no wealth for anyone else. In fact they suck of resources because they need others to pay the bills for them.

Soon they enact a law that you need a license to pick cardboard or its illegal. One criteria - you must be physically fit so you can run away from reversing taxis.

But according to TCJ, people who pick cardboard are exercising to get physically fit, how can they already be physically fit? :confused:

On the other hand those who have no money in their CPF accounts create no wealth for anyone else. In fact they suck of resources because they need others to pay the bills for them.

That's why we make those bastards go pick cardboard boxes, clean tables and serve as security guards. Lazy bastards should not get free lunches!

I will be spending all this money over the next few years. The people who receive the money will benefit immensely.

Sure! the PAP created a lot of wealth for me...but they have so many hands 'fondling' my pockets...that all the wealth that is left in those pockets can be counted in 1 cent coins...

I have stuck out my tongue ( they have many) & waiting from the 'drop of wealth' from that trickle down economies.....still waiting...the mouth is parched & the tongue is very tired..sorry! I do not know how to 'lick'...:p

Sure! the PAP created a lot of wealth for me...but they have so many hands 'fondling' my pockets...that all the wealth that is left in those pockets can be counted in 1 cent coins...

I have stuck out my tongue ( they have many) & waiting from the 'drop of wealth' from that trickle down economies.....still waiting...the mouth is parched & the tongue is very tired..sorry! I do not know how to 'lick'...:p

PAP also fondling your balls to make sure you feel shiok and vote for them after cursing them for years.

That's why we make those bastards go pick cardboard boxes, clean tables and serve as security guards. Lazy bastards should not get free lunches!

Let me hear you say that when you are saddled w chronic Long term illness that require life Long medication or dialysis. All bcos during the younger days you slogged to earn a living. And eac month medication alone sapped whatever savings you have.

It's a case of you want to die but you can't. This is what faces many of these old folks.

PAP also fondling your balls to make sure you feel shiok and vote for them after cursing them for years.

They fondle your balls while you lick theirs? :D

Let me hear you say that when you are saddled w chronic Long term illness that require life Long medication or dialysis. All bcos during the younger days you slogged to earn a living. And eac month medication alone sapped whatever savings you have.

It's a case of you want to die but you can't. This is what faces many of these old folks.

I have insurance that will take care of all of that. All I have to pay up front for long term health care is $8.00.

They never got that far, for my 'family jewels' are well protected, not like the 70% who not only got their fondled but gave them away too... The only 'fondled' my pockets for money, in how many pockets I have...they manage to 'steal' some money...that is why only small change coins are left..mostly the 1 cent ones...