• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

It is tough to be an old person in Singapore.

During my dad time all retired at 55. If those holding senior post dont berambus how to promote those juniors? How to create vacancies for fresh workers. Just look at useless woody...ah kow. They also want to "work"? :cautious:
After they retire these jobs always seem to go to someone younger... And foreign. :unsure:

That's because people born before the 90s have never heard of retirement planning....or savings....
Even if wages were only $500 a mth back then in the late 80s and early 90s,and people lived hand to mouth.....I don't believe they couldn't save even a token sum say $1 a day.......bank interests were sky high in the 80s,stocks and gold were dirt cheap,and properties dirt cheap..... unfortunately the clueless idiots did not possess the slightest clue.....that if they took a tiny percentage of their paychecks just 10 percent,no one dies from spending 10 percent less.....and put it into savings accounts and stocks and gold and property and what not.....ten twenty years later they would have a tiny fortune......

But coolies being coolies,all have bad money management and spending habits.....work their entire lives and have nothing to show for it except a stupid pigeon hole.
That's why we have CPF. Now u know pap good to u anot? :cool:

It's hard growing old anywhere as growing old is a sin. Better to just Soylent Green

CPF is optional what. When to return, how to return, to govt all optional. :cool:

CPF is not optional. Forced to be locked up for good. Unable to reinvest all my CPF savings elsewhere tat could offer me better returns.

I sold my stupid pigeon hole & made a profit of 300k. My uncle a baby boomer was a worker all his life withdrew his CPF at year 2000 till now 2020 he is self sufficient staying in his stupid pigeon hole.

Millennials still can depend on their parents money to buy private properties but there is no pride in doing so :thumbsdown:

That why I said it is very stupid to slog for a private property if one cannot afford it :frown:

To those conceited managers who are earning $7,000 to $8,000 a month, you may earn well today but there is no guarantee tomorrow :poop:

I know of many retirees living in landed properties. Children already grown up with their own families yet these retirees simply cant let go of their landed properties. why? Because they wanna leave it for their children. I think it is so silly to hold on to such traditional values. Retirees with landed houses should downgrade to small apartment, so much easier to take care of. The excess cash can be put in an income generating instrument and enjoy life like never before. Whatever is left when they leave this world will be inherited by the children anyway.

I know 1 old uncle stay at Opera Estate landed and work in a coffeeshop in Joo Chiat.

I also know an old single lady (not ginfreely) my ex-colleague stay in Geylang landed inherited from her parents now 55 years old still holding on to her finance manager job almost everyday slog until midnight.

I know of many retirees living in landed properties. Children already grown up with their own families yet these retirees simply cant let go of their landed properties. why? Because they wanna leave it for their children
I also know an old single lady (not ginfreely) my ex-colleague stay in Geylang landed inherited from her parents now 55 years old still holding on to her finance manager job almost everyday slog until midnight.
KNN my uncle's auntie aka my yi po with 2 married sons at 68yo also hold tightly to her landed properties and continue to fight with the young for her job that pays about $6k KNN my uncle asked her why you want to make your life so difficult she say the house is her objective (probably she refering to social status) in life and same time she doesn't feel good to leetire and start spending on her savings while she can spend freely using her salary KNN

There's always something to do outside of work. Sinkies have been programmed to be stupid.

Everything is expensive nowadays. How to blame them? But if they worked cos dont know what to do at home thats pure stupidity!

Sinkies need to be smarter with their money when young, and not be so reliant on the government or on being an employee.

So why aren't they relaxing and enjoying life and working at a job they like or tolerate?

Because most sinkies are broke,ain't got no options and

There's always something to do outside of work. Sinkies have been programmed to be stupid.

From primary school to secondary school to JC then NS, the brain and mind of an individual was being controlled and it does not allow to be streetwise.

I seldom see sinkie students invent something useful for the society (be it school or work) :redface: