Is the PAP listening?????

Published: Tuesday August 27, 2013 MYT 12:00:00 AM
Updated: Tuesday August 27, 2013 MYT 9:05:25 AM

Majority want slower pace of life in Singapore

WHILE generally optimistic about the future, the majority of Singaporeans want a slower-paced life, a less competitive education system and fewer foreigners – and they are willing to trade off economic growth for that.

This was the picture that emerged from a survey of 4,000 citizens conducted in January as part of the Our Singapore Conversation (OSC) exercise.

The full findings, released last week, had 65% of respondents saying that they were optimistic about the future five years ahead, and 78% saying that the Government was managing Singapore well.

When asked to pick among competing national priorities, respondents showed more consensus than observers expected. That consensus pointed to a desire for an easing of Singapore’s pace of growth and development.

Asked to choose between career advancement and a comfortable pace of life, 59% chose the latter. This number swelled to 62% among those married with children.

NUS sociologist and former Nominated MP Paulin Straughan said Singaporeans want a “more balanced approach from the Govern*ment to ensure that in terms of quality of life, we are not always obsessing about saving for the future. They want everyday life to be rewarding too”.

But she noted that where they stood on these compromises were a reaction to what they felt was already “in place” now.

“Because all the hard factors like infrastructure, a high employment rate and a competitive education system are already in place, they are yearning for more,” she said.

“People can ask for more work-life balance only if you have work.” — The Straits Times / Asia News Network

Published: Tuesday August 27, 2013 MYT 12:00:00 AM
Updated: Tuesday August 27, 2013 MYT 9:05:25 AM

Majority want slower pace of life in Singapore

WHILE generally optimistic about the future, the majority of Singaporeans want a slower-paced life, a less competitive education system and fewer foreigners – and they are willing to trade off economic growth for that.

This was the picture that emerged from a survey of 4,000 citizens conducted in January as part of the Our Singapore Conversation (OSC) exercise.

The full findings, released last week, had 65% of respondents saying that they were optimistic about the future five years ahead, and 78% saying that the Government was managing Singapore well.

When asked to pick among competing national priorities, respondents showed more consensus than observers expected. That consensus pointed to a desire for an easing of Singapore’s pace of growth and development.

Asked to choose between career advancement and a comfortable pace of life, 59% chose the latter. This number swelled to 62% among those married with children.

NUS sociologist and former Nominated MP Paulin Straughan said Singaporeans want a “more balanced approach from the Govern*ment to ensure that in terms of quality of life, we are not always obsessing about saving for the future. They want everyday life to be rewarding too”.

But she noted that where they stood on these compromises were a reaction to what they felt was already “in place” now.

“Because all the hard factors like infrastructure, a high employment rate and a competitive education system are already in place, they are yearning for more,” she said.

“People can ask for more work-life balance only if you have work.” — The Straits Times / Asia News Network

PAP wants us to be "Better, betterer, betterest!!". They want us to work till we drop so no retirement. They open the floodgates to FTs and want us to compete with the "best of the world's" and they want us to go to their salary level even though we have house and families to support here where the FTs only need to rent a room (or share with 10 others in a room!!). They want us to work at cheap labor even though they earn 'world class' salaries and can pay $50k for French cooking lessons and take off for a few months leaving their subordinates to carry the fort.
In short, they want to enjoy paradise themselves but dont care if it is hell on earth for the rest of us!!

PAP heard you. Don't worry. Singapore will be changed! More FTs! More crimes! More expensive! See how you peasants DIE!

Listen is one thing,whether to take action is another thing:D

Slower pace of life and become like lazy slacking chow ang moh...drink and do fuck all whole day long...

That's better than being a cubicle wage slave and never seeing the sunlight when you knock off from work.

Singaporeans work too hard, there's nothing wrong with a bit of relaxing to do the things you like.

Life on a wheel chair is definitely..

SLOW! Muahahahahahaa

Listen is one thing,whether to take action is another thing:D
ya, man! ...

wen ur prc mei-mei says "不要吗! ... 不要吗! ...", u listen ... but den, u take wat action? ...

ya, man! ...

wen ur prc mei-mei says "不要吗! ... 不要吗! ...", u listen ... but den, u take wat action? ...

You still screw the hell out of her !

Singkie plea ... no no please no ! But PAP still do it worse, through Arse Hole !

Listening ? Are you joking ? :confused:

The whole CPF withdrawal issue is swept under the carpet !!:mad:

Yes they are listening but only to those that they want to hear.

Listening ? Are you joking ? :confused:

The whole CPF withdrawal issue is swept under the carpet !!:mad:

The gahment cannot afford for u to slow down and relax!! How can they sustain their million $ lifestyles if u do that!! No lah!, they need u to work, and they need more 'hungry and gullible' FTs to come here to work so that they can sustain themselves.

Unfortunately, PM's pay is tied to KPI's. That means growth rates.
So he does not care a shit about anyone as his target is to maintain growth at what ever cost.
unfortunately those who are not making it are finding it tough.
I suggest a portion of the land be earmarked for natives only, like the old malay reserves. Those who are struggling can stay in these "native reserve land" where utilities are subsidised and cannot be developed for commercial, so land price will be cheap.

yes the pap is listening provided that channel is FM 90.5FM GOLD - listen only to the good things. real bad things, they are totally deaf to it.

ya, man! ...

Wen did ur prc mei-mei say dat?
Wen u tried 2 give her money? :o

They want a slower pace of life with the same standard of living. Unfortunately, this is not possible.

These are all noise! They've already made public their view on anything else other than theirs! Oh Ya! And they are deaf too!