Is the old Singapore better than the new Singapore.

In the 1970s, Orchard Road had an open-air hawker centre called Glutton's Square located in the open-air carpark next to Specialists' Shopping Centre. It was a bustling hub for street food in the evenings, with hawkers setting up stalls after the carpark closed for the day. I vaguely remember this place as I was in primary school.

The Orchard Road open-air hawker centre called Glutton's Square opposite the road from today's Centrepoint.
qw29pddvq5271.jpg

Would you rather be be in your prime years in Singapore during these years or now?
Velee difficult question leh

Visiting Singapore 50 years ago​

Would you rather be be in your prime years in Singapore during these years or now?
Velee difficult question leh
Visiting Singapore 50 years ago
If I could go back in time 50 years, I would bring the money I possess now, and purchase several landed residential and commercial properties to ensure my family's financial freedom today.

Beekok Millennials say they need $847,000 to feel ‘comfortable’ financially. Here’s how much Gen Z, Gen X and boomers want.​

Here’s how much money you need to have saved, according to your age, to achieve financial comfort​

By

Venessa Wong
Follow

Last Updated: July 10, 2025 at 10:29 a.m. ET
First Published: July 9, 2025 at 12:10 p.m. ET

Woman relaxing with head on a dollar bill pillow.
How do you know if you’re on the right track to being financially comfortable? A 45-year-old with a household income of $105,000 should aim to have about $315,000 to $430,000 invested, according to one benchmark.PHOTO: MARKETWATCH PHOTO ILLUSTRATION/ISTOCKPHOTO
Americans say they now need a net worth of $839,000 on average to be “financially comfortable” and $2.3 million to be “wealthy,” according to a new survey from Charles Schwab.

The perceived net worth required for financial comfort was $329,000 for Gen Z respondents, while millennials put it at $847,000, members of Gen X said $783,000 and baby boomers said $943,000.

singapore river was kopi O kosong then ... :whistling:
IT doesn't matter Singapore river was not clean, the most important thing is Singaporeans were happy, Singapore is clean and clean.
Singapore river is clean now, but people are not happy and united with so many hundreds thousands of CECA Indians, place is dirty and stinks

US$1.39 million: That’s the sum Singapore affluents say they need to retire comfortably​

This is above the global average of US$1.05 million, according to an HSBC survey

• Office workers at Raffles Place Park, 18 February 2025. Can be used for stories on PMET, employment, population, property, commercial, office, invest, budget, income, bank, finance, financial, CBD, financial centre
  • Despite heightened uncertainty and rising living costs, nearly two-thirds of affluent investors in Singapore remain confident about achieving their long-term financial goals. PHOTO: BT FILE

Bryan Cheong

Published Thu, Jul 10, 2025 · 10:53 AM

[SINGAPORE] Affluent investors based in Singapore said they will need US$1.39 million on average to retire comfortably – above the global average of US$1.05 million, according to HSBC’s Affluent Investor Snapshot 2025 report released on Wednesday (Jul 9).

That surpasses the retirement savings targets cited by investors in Hong Kong (US$1.11 million), Australia (US$1.23 million) and United Arab Emirates (US$1.17 million).

The study surveyed about 11,000 affluent investors across 12 markets globally, aged 21 to 69, each possessing investable assets ranging from US$100,000 to US$2 million.

A household SG canned food up lorry?

Del Monte Foods, owned by Singapore-listed Del Monte Pacific, files for bankruptcy in US​

Get ST's newsletters delivered to your inbox
Shares of parent company Del Monte Pacific in Singapore fell 6.25 per cent, or 0.4 cent, to six cents as at 4.19pm on July 2.

Shares of parent company Del Monte Pacific in Singapore closed at 6.1 cents, down 4.7 per cent, on July 2.

PHOTO: REUTERS

Follow topic:​

Singapore companies

Published Jul 02, 2025, 04:37 PM
Updated Jul 03, 2025, 05:25 PM

NEW YORK – Canned fruit company Del Monte Foods is pursuing a sale as it filed for bankruptcy in the US, less than a year after executing a controversial debt restructuring.

The firm – which is owned by Singapore-listed Del Monte Pacific – entered a restructuring support agreement with lenders and started voluntary Chapter 11 proceedings to implement its terms, it said on July 1.

The Singapore shares of Del Monte Pacific fell as much as 9.4 per cent to 5.8 cents, after a trading halt was lifted on July 2, before closing down 4.7 per cent at 6.1 cents.

Singapore one of the few major cities in Asia-Pacific region to offer “attainable” homes: leepok​

Isabelle Liew
Thu, 10 July 2025 at 2:00 PM SGT3-min read

HDB resale prices have been rising continuously on a quarterly basis since the second quarter of 2020.

The median price of an HDB flat in 2024 was US$439,348 (S$562,402), down from US$461,289 in 2023, the report said.

SINGAPORE - Singapore is one of the few major cities in the Asia-Pacific region to offer attainable homes for purchase, a new report from the Urban Land Institute (ULI) has found.

The ULI, a global non-profit research and education organisation, considers home ownership attainable when the ratio of median home prices to median annual household income is below 5.

The price-to-income ratio of Housing Board flats in 2024 was 4.3, down from 4.7 in 2023. In 2022, the price-to-income ratio of HDB flats was 3.7.

Of the 51 market segments studied in the report on home attainability across the Asia-Pacific region, published on July 9, only three major cities had homes with a price-to-income ratio of 5 and below in 2024.

These comprised HDB flats in Singapore, and apartments in Melbourne in Australia and Kuala Lumpur in Malaysia.

The median price of an HDB flat in Singapore was US$439,348 (S$561,900) in 2024, down from US$461,289 in 2023. The report did not specify if the price factored in HDB grants.

Across the cities tracked by the ULI, median annual household income was highest in Singapore at US$101,666 (cdc voucher counted?)

Wow…Sinki is really very Dua Kee de woh or Dua Tiao?

A household SG canned food up lorry?

Del Monte Foods, owned by Singapore-listed Del Monte Pacific, files for bankruptcy in US​

Get ST's newsletters delivered to your inbox
Shares of parent company Del Monte Pacific in Singapore fell 6.25 per cent, or 0.4 cent, to six cents as at 4.19pm on July 2.

Shares of parent company Del Monte Pacific in Singapore closed at 6.1 cents, down 4.7 per cent, on July 2.

PHOTO: REUTERS

Follow topic:​

Singapore companies

Published Jul 02, 2025, 04:37 PM
Updated Jul 03, 2025, 05:25 PM

NEW YORK – Canned fruit company Del Monte Foods is pursuing a sale as it filed for bankruptcy in the US, less than a year after executing a controversial debt restructuring.

The firm – which is owned by Singapore-listed Del Monte Pacific – entered a restructuring support agreement with lenders and started voluntary Chapter 11 proceedings to implement its terms, it said on July 1.

The Singapore shares of Del Monte Pacific fell as much as 9.4 per cent to 5.8 cents, after a trading halt was lifted on July 2, before closing down 4.7 per cent at 6.1 cents.
Used to be a leegular consumer of Del Monte canned food.
But on leeflection it is not healthy either too sweet or too salty.
Once a while is ok

If I could go back in time 50 years, I would bring the money I possess now, and purchase several landed residential and commercial properties to ensure my family's financial freedom today.

I don't need to bring the cash with me but only my knowledge and experience. I'm confident that I'll become a multi-millionaire in that era with all the untapped opportunities out there and when the Pappies was just an infant sucking on a pacifier.

What and how are you going to invest in those so-called opportunities if you are penniless?

Aiyah. My grandma just need to reinvest her sale proceeding from a 2 Gheyland shophouses, into those 20-30k SGD Private houses along Holland Road back in 1970 or she buy up Canada Maple leaves when it was first launch at UOB early 1980…things can be very different now ;)

Well, that’s life :)
Good things will be more treasured when u achieved it thru your own sweat n blood. No choice

Aiyah. My grandma just need to reinvest her sale proceeding from a 2 Gheyland shophouses, into those 20-30k SGD Private houses along Holland Road back in 1970 or she buy up Canada Maple leaves when it was first launch at UOB early 1980…things can be very different now ;)

Well, that’s life :)
Good things will be more treasured when u achieved it thru your own sweat n blood. No choice
I am shameless and would be just as happy if I received millions through an inheritance from my parents. LOL!

Singapore Dollar Has Shot at Climbing to Parity, Jefferies Says​

The central business district in Singapore. 

Photographer: Ore Huiying/Bloomberg
By Rthvika Suvarna and Marcus Wong
July 11, 2025 at 4:59 PM GMT+8
Save
Translate

There’s a chance the Singapore dollar will strengthen to parity against its US counterpart in the next five years, according to Jefferies Financial Group Inc.

The island’s currency has appreciated against virtually all its major peers since the Federal Reserve began raising interest rates in March 2022, confirming its role as the “Swiss franc of Asia,” strategist Christopher Wood wrote in the firm’s Greed & Fear newsletter.

Anyone had the opportunity to live in a Kampong.
Is there any kampong left in Singapore?

@marjorieng1206

4 months ago
Mr Salleh, Thank you for posting this out. I know a lot of hard work went into this. I was born in the 1960's and so, so appreciate this, to know my roots, the roots of Singaporean and all Singaporeans who have long gone. A special thanks to our Contributors and the beautiful music playing also. That's Reminscience for you.

@semarkkatsini5828

2 years ago
So sad. Thank you for all these valuable memories. Missed the kampung life where I used to visit my late grandparents during sch holidays.

I grew up in a Kampong and was amongst the last batches of Kampong dwellers to move to HDB in 1988.

Life was tough living in the Kampong. So hot during the day cant take PM naps. All sorts of animals, mosquitos and insects...

I dont regret moving out of Kampong though there were good memories there.